1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pentium M cpu not running at full speed @ full load

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by panchoman, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    alright, i have some guests over, they want me to fix up the comp, etc. etc. and the problem is, the 90nm S479 (2.0 stock) pentium M dothan core runs at ~798 mhz and its usually always at full load due to its SLOW speed. the multiplier is 6x and the bus speed is 133, the rated fsb being 532. it has a stupid dell bios which has NO OCING OPTIONS WHATSOEVER. like the most i can do is disable speedstep, which is disabled btw. i'll have another look at the bios, is there any like hidden key combo to unlock the options or anything? clockgen wont let me do anything..
  2. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    panchoman says thanks.
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    okay, imma enable it so then i should be able to clockgen it? man, this thing runs shitter then my p2 with 256m of memory, idk why so many comps do that lol
  4. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    this sounds like you have the power settings set to battery mode, just switch it to home office desktop and it should start utilising the full cpu spped
    panchoman says thanks.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    OH HO! got 2.0 now by fixing the power scheme, thanks a lot for that, now one more thing, how do i oc it? clockgen still doesn't work.. and the bios is GAYYYYYY
  6. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    only thing i can suggest is to update the bios as they may have unlocked some features within an update.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page