1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Peoples thoughts on new build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Ojee83, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    What is with the absurd recommendation for high wattage PSU?

    I run a 430W with SSD,1 TB Velociraptor, i5 3570k, Radeon 7850, DVD drive, 8 GB DDR3, and H60 water cooling kit along with 3 case fans. It's been working for 6 months with no problems. If my PSU was that stressed, it would've burned out already. My temps are always good playing any game.

    FYI 77W for CPU, SSD only use about 5W at load, Velociraptor 1 TB consumes 4-7W max, Graphics card is about 100W max for 7850. His 660 GTX is just a little more. Everything else like RAM, DVD drive, motherboard shouldn't burn more than 60W unless he's running 8 fans.

    At worst, I estimate his system going a little over 300W if he likes LEDs and lots of fans. So even a 500W system running at only 80+ bronze efficiency will suffice. You are all just going nuts with the spec chart.

    If you plan to run SLI then yes go for 750W to be safe. But I honestly don't think you'll even need that unless you SLI and overclock. The 660gtx and i5 3570k is pretty power efficient at stock speed.
     
  2. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Your better off with a corsair tx650 than a lesser 750 if your really concerned about longevity and efficency.
     
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The 600 watt PSU is more than enough. Hoe many more persons can tell you this without getting mad?
     
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922

    Only 8GBs of RAM? Not that you'd need more currently but 16GB is less than £70 these days, RAM is at it's cheapest so why not prepare yoursself now? Like if this is your first build in 10 years the more future proofing the better!

    Corsair Vengeance Performance Memory Modules 16GB.... (free super saver delivery)

    Actually found a simialr 1866Mhz variation for the same price.

    Crucial 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866Mhz Ballistix Elite....
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  5. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    No need,he can always buy another 2x4 kit down the road,and by the time he will need more then 16gb,it will likely be time to make a full upgrade any way(or atleast it has been my experience in my past builds).
     
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    But he is spending almost a grand, what is another £35?

    DDR3 RAM hasn't been this cheap ever, if he waits another 3-4 years the chances are the prices would double. (The moment DDR4 or DDR3s successor is released, DDR3 prices will skyrocket due to it's rarity).
     
  7. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Yes it is very cheap,but at the same time pointless,the most stressful thing that his build will encounter is gaming,and even today 4GB ram is all you need for gaming so again i doubt he will need more then 8gb up untill the point he needs a whole new build.
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I didn't say that. I'm just saying that TDP is not consumption. This machine could even run with less than 600-watts with a quality power supply. You misinterpreted my statement, sir.
     
  9. Ojee83

    Ojee83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    hey guys, sorry about the delay in replying... just thought i should let u know i wont be building this for another couple of months but when i do i will let u k now how it goes, and post some pictures displaying my inevitably terrible cable management...
    well, we'll see.
    i will just stick to the 8gig of ram as I've heard that u don't really need much more for gaming these days.
    After all of the con-flab over this power dilemma i will go for the 750 watt just to be sure, its only an extra £20 after all.
    i will be going for the gigabyte ATI and the gigabyte mobo as well.
    Thanks for the heads up on all of this stuff guys, It has been a massive eye opener.
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Unless you're ever going to go with a dual GPU setup 750w is overkill, the corsair 600w you posted is plenty enough to OC the snot out of both the CPU and GPU with room left over.
     
  11. Ojee83

    Ojee83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, scratch that. I will go for a higher quality 600 watt. Thanks for clearing that up for me guys.
     
  12. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    I spent a few minutes browsing Overclockers (which I do think is a tad overpriced as someone pointed out) and I don't particularly trust that PSU. Channel Well is the OEM and the one review for it said it had bad regulation and used rather cheap Chinese capcitors. Here are some alternatives that aren't super far outside the original price range:

    NZXT HALE82 650W
    OCZ ZS 650W
    Corsair TX650V2 650W

    I reccomend the Hale82, it got phenomenal reviews across the board, and having a fully modular power supply is very beneficial, but it's a little cost prohibitive.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  14. Ojee83

    Ojee83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Wow, I can't believe how uninformed I actually was, I compiled this build after about 2 weeks research and u guys have blown me out of the water with how much u all know. I honestly can't thank u enough for taking such good care of my money.
     
  15. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    The NZXT HALE82 is made by Seasonic, I believe it might be the exact same one just the NZXT is cheaper :p

    For a lot of people on these forums customizing builds is fun, so when someone gives a theoretical budget, it becomes something like a game to see who can develop the best build when it comes to quality and cost. Or at least that's how I see it...
     
  16. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    maybe get a better gpu, 670 or 7950
     
  17. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I think ram is not at cheapest

    i think ram is not at cheapest now, it was at cheapest from sep-Nov 2012, but price have been up by 1.5 or 1.8 times since Jan 2013. According to dram exchange.com
     
  18. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    There's a 8GB of DDR3 1866 on eggbusters right now.
     
  19. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    not sure about 4gb kits

    not sure about 4gb kits, but i bought 3 box of 8 gb kits(16gb a box), brand Team, 1600mhz, cost 65usd each. now selling at 100usd each.
     
  20. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I bought my 8GB 2x4 kit for $25 rated at 1866 but I only run 1600. I will not upgrade my comp past 16GB so I don't see the appeal in buying 8GB sticks. When I need 8GB more then i just buy another 2x4 kit.

    It doesn't make economic sense to run so much RAM if all you're doing is general computing, gaming and some light workstation stuff. By the time a regular gaming comp needs more than 16GB then you probably needed to upgrade your entire platform at least a year prior. By that time, 3-4 more generations of graphics and cpu cycles have passed.

    It comes down to what you want. I just want my comp to run every game/app I need it to without any lag or problems. Others wants their own super computer. I want to be economically responsible with my finances and others can afford to have big epeens. That is my POV.


    PS when I say 2x4 I mean 2 sticks of 4GB
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Memory is one of the cheapest components in a rig. While a lot of people can't justify 8Gb DIMMs, there are plenty of people who can because they run VMs, do graphics, cad, or some other memory intensive application. Not everyone plays games with their computer. I know that I don't.

    RAM is one of the last things I would consider if I was building a machine for the "E-Peen" factor tbh.

    Stop double posting, please. Memory is still cheap even if it wasn't cheaper than it used to be.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  22. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    overall looks pretty solid. Should be a nice rig.
     
  23. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    i use ram for machine learning


    I use the 48gb for machine learning, while my gaming system has only 16gb
     
  24. m4ci3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    hyper evo 212+ with that cpu and your set.
     
  25. m4ci3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ive got the seasonic bronze 620 watt, and its awesome. They make quality psu's.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page