1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Perfected Doom 3 low GPU usage

Discussion in 'Games' started by hellrazor, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    So I use the Perfected Doom 3 mod, and I get low GPU usage (along with sub-60 fps). I've disabled vsync and that helped a little bit, but I still get to areas where I'll get ~20 fps and like 11% GPU usage.

    My system specs are to the right, so what do you think is the problem?

    Here's a link if you want to try it.
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    What resolution are you playing? What IQ settings are you using?
     
  3. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    1280x1024; 16x AF, Double buffer (triple kills me with lag), Texture quality is "Quality" (couldn't think of another way to say that), Trilinear optimization is on, negative LoD bias is allowed. In-game everything is on and Ultra settings (No AA, though).

    And I don't have this problem with unmodded Doom 3.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    then the mod is to blame. go talk to whoever made it.
     
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    can you adjust how low the "low gpu usage" is?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  6. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Maybe. I just looked in the autoexec and saw a comment next to r_vertexBufferMegs that said that it needs to be raised with the resolution, so I've doubled it from 128 to 256. I'll see what happens.

    EDIT: Didn't do much, moving it back.

    Huh?

    Are you thinking along the lines of raising settings would keep about the same FPS but raise the GPU usage?
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page