1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Performance boost for X800 GT cards with R480 GPU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ShadowFlare, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. locoty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks sphere, you help me very much...hope shadowflare will be in

    oh yeah shadowflare in case you need my bios
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've finally found some answers regarding what this type of mod from R423 to R480 in the bios does on a card with an R423. Take a look here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=6081

    I posted a link there to a topic where someone tried it. They found that there is no change in performance between having it ID'ed as an R423 or R480 on their Connect3d X800 GTO.

    This could actually be a way of finding out whether a card has an R423/R430 or R480 without taking the heatsink off. :) If there is no performance change from changing the ID between an R423 and R480, then it is not R480. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2005
  3. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    Did shadow help you? :)
     
  4. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nope, not yet. ;) I haven't had a chance to look at the bios files yet.
     
  5. Vetal_WEB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Beside me Pwer Color X800GT 256Mb (Samsung 2.0) give You its BIOS for analysis, for modification as far as possible

    Memory Timings (EVEREST v2.00.335)
    CAS Latency (CL) 7T
    RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 7T
    RAS Precharge (tRP) 6T
    RAS Active Time (tRAS) 14T
    Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 27T
    RAS To RAS Delay (tRRD) 5T
    Write Recovery Time (tWR) 7T
     

    Attached Files:

  6. locoty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok last night i finally decided to remove the coller and find out what core my card use. and it's R480, mem is samsung 2.0ns...hope this will be useful for you shadowflare

    HIS X800GT IceQ Turbo
     
  7. DewiL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if you try flash your card please post the details (which bios, work/not work, etc.)
    thx

    i think my card is same as your (r480)
     
  8. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I have followed this post for a couple days now and was wanting to wait and see more peoples results before I did the flash, but I figured oh well might as well do it. So there's good news and bad news. I have a Powercolor x800 GT with 1.6ns mem and r480. Results:

    3Dmark2k1 (609mhz core/600mhz mem):
    before- 23269
    after- 24546

    Obviously that is a huge boost in performance but, I was unable to run 2k3 or 2k5. 2k3 gives me an error reading: "Hardware does not support compressed textures (DXT1 and DXT3). 3DMark03 will not run properly." No test are supported in 2k3. 2k5 gives me an error report reading: "Your hardware does not support the features required to run 3DMark05. Pixel Shader 2.0 (or higher) is on of these. 3DMark05 is thereby not a suitable benchmarking tool for your system. Please use 3DMark 03 for benchmarking Pixel Shader 1.x hardware or 3DMark2001 SE for DX7 class hardware." No tests are supported in 2k5 either.

    I have not reinstalled drivers and I believe I have catalyst 5.9's. I will try the latest and see if that fixes the problem, but if not then I guess I will have to flash back :( although I would really like to see what this would do to my 03 and 05 scores. If you have any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    BTW, I use the Powercolor.X800GT_16P.256.Samsung16_050823.bin bios, no additional pipes were unlocked, and ATITool does now correctly identify my card as r480.
     
  9. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, I'll get the 16 pipeline R480 bios on here soon.
     
  10. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, reinstalling drivers fixed it right up!

    3dMark03 (609/600)
    Before: 10548
    After: 11105

    3dMark05
    Before: 5253 (636/615)
    After: 5267 (610/610)

    I start artifacting in GT4 of 03 where as before flash I did not, and in 05 it lowered my max overclock, but even at lower clocks it scored higher :rockout:. I think the lowered clock capabilities are related to heat though, I modified an old socket A cooler to go on my card, and at 609/600 before flash i was idle39/load~46-48 after flash I am idle39/load~57-58 :eek: . Donno what could be causing so much extra heat, but I am very impressed by the results and would recommend this mod to anyone with a r480 seeing as we are kinda screwed on the whole pipe unlocking :mad: .
     
  11. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi can i use ur bios :rockout:
    i have the R480 x800 gt powercolor
    and how did u get so much better result with the x800 gt ich habe to flash ist some time with other bios and so but i have only on 3dmark2001 20,000 points and 03 9000 05 4500 hmm can u tell us your system THX
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2005
  12. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    DFI LP NF4 Ultra-D
    AMD 64 3000+ Venice (E3) 267x9=2403 @1.39V
    Powercolor x800 GT (609/600 for 24/7) with vmem volt mod, no gpu yet
    OCZ 520W modstream
    Hitachi Desktar 7k80 80 GB sata2 hdd
    OCZ EL PC3200 2x256mb ram

    I used the Powercolor.X800GT_16P.256.Samsung16_050823.bin bios on the first page of this thread. Your scores dont sound too far off, when I first got the card thats about what I was getting on an everything stock system.
     
  13. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hmm my system is like ur i have it to 3000+ venice 2404 mhz
    the bios i try it already my system crahs at runnig bench when i do core 550 mhz 550 mem mhz
    can u explain me how to do the vmem mod ?
    best regard :ohwell:
    so u have stock cooling or other ??
     
  14. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    frisK: Try using the bios that I labeled above it as being from a Powercolor X800 GT and see how that changes your scores or overclocks, if at all. The one I'm talking about is the one saying Samsung20 in the name.


    locoty: I posted a modded bios on the first page for your HIS X800 GT that is based off of the one from your card.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  15. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    shadow: I will try the Samsung 2.0 bios as soon as i get a chance and report how it goes.

    t-800: vmem, vgpu, and igpu mods are all explained here http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/voltmods/112 . I just did the pencil mod because I was only getting around 500/550 stable on stock cooling but i knew that my memory was rated for 600 mhz so i wanted to at least get that out of it. So i pencil modded the voltage from 1.81 to about 2.05 and I got 600 easily. After that my card was running a little hotter around 48c idle. So i took an old cpu cooler I had and modified it to fit the radeon card, after that I was super cool and I was able to push my core all the way to around 615-620 stable. Before the bios flash with all the same settings, I was able to get a little over 5000 in 3DMark05 with clock speeds at 550/600.
     
  16. SMJ-G New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Unlocking Pipes on Sapphire X800GT 256MB

    Hi guys, I am new to this forum but I need help on unlocking from 8 pipes to may be 12, 16 pipes on my Sapphire X800GT 256mb card. Is this possible? The Australian version of the Sapphire X800GT 256mb comes with the R423 & Samsung 2.0ns mem. Has anyone moded this particular cad? Your help would be appreciated. I am enclosing the ATITool setting diagram for your information.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    WooHoo! Success!!! I flashed my vid card successfully so it now recognizes an R480 core! It crashes though because the card gets real hot now though... Not OC'd... Maybe i flashed with the wrong BIOS though.. It is recognized as an X800GTO in desktop properties and an X850 Pro!!! Sweet!



    I may be consider getting an Arctic Cooling HSF though...
     
  18. locoty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    shadowflare, my card has 2.0ns memory but the title of the bios is 1.6ns. is it ok for the card to flash 2.0ns mem with the 1.6ns mem. or it is just your mistake making the title for the bios. i think it's your mistake..sorry:)

    but i will try the bios and report the result
    thanks for your help shadowflare...
     
  19. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh, I just put that since I assumed that they are supposed to have 1.6 ns memory (and some do have it, I think). That is just the modified version of your bios.

    Try the mod of the actual Powercolor X800 GT bios and see if that get the temps back down.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  20. DewiL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    can i use the modified bios ? it will work ?

    and whats the different between these files ?
    File Type: zip HIS.X800GT_R480_16P.256.Samsung16_050823.zip (34.0 KB, 3 views)
    File Type: zip HIS.X800GT_R480_16P.256.Samsung16_050628.zip (33.9 KB, 3 views)
     
  21. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just barely renamed the files again to emphasize the difference between them.


    DewiL: You have an HIS X800 GT with the IceQ cooler, right? According to what has been found in another thread, you shouldn't have any problems with having your chip IDed as an R480 even if it is only an R423. Also, flash with the modified flashrom so you can see if it will also give you 12 pipes. As mentioned previously, I've also modded all these bioses to 16 pipelines so they will unlock any that are unlockable with a bios flash. If it does mod to 12 pipelines, besides showing up as an X800 GTO, it will run as fast as one, too. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  22. DewiL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thank You :respect:
    i will try soon...
     
  23. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually, according to a post here http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=45337#post45337 there is a chance that changing the ID could possibly cause it to not work right. That was on an X800 Pro. You may not want to try the bios that is modded to R480 unless you have a spare PCI video card in case something goes wrong.
     
  24. DewiL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanxx again for your support
     
  25. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried the Powercolor bios with Samsung 2.0ns mem and it didn't really change anything from the old bios, except maybe running a degree or two cooler, but that could be due to my ambient temp being lower right now. My 3dmark scores were so close together with the 1.6ns and 2.0ns bios that it is more than likely to be within margin of error.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page