1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Performance boost for X800 GT cards with R480 GPU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ShadowFlare, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ill try the first one! WooHoo! Im glad to see that this worked for me though!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi yes thats normal i buy the Zalman VF 700 CU for my card
    use the mod bios top of the post :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Powercolor.X800GT_R480_16P.256.Samsung20_050726.zip

    This is the correct BIOS to flash with right (because its the one i JUST reflashed with) Hopefully my temps will go down now!

    What does everyone think of the Arctic Cooling ATi Silencer for the X800 series? I hear their pretty good. and for only $30.00.... it doesnt seem like a bad price to me!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi first thx 4 ur replay
    thats was what i want to now u right i have about 535/540 max core with normal cooling
    by doing bench system crash in the middle i geht articats the card going too hot.
    now i have buy new cooling Zalman VF 700 CU i hope i get it soon than i have to think how can i cool the mem hmm but later
    now about the vmod i look allready the vmod post but i cant find the point todo the pancil
    witch PCB layout should i use for the mod and can u tell me easyley where is the points on my Powercolor x800 Gt
    Big THX :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the Mod bios should better my card working good
    i have also thinking about new artic cooling but i have read that they some poeple have problem fitting i dont really now about fiitig on x800 Gt cards
    thats whay i buy the Zalman VF 700 CU :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interesting... Well... time for me to get a new HSF for my GPU.. when i get the extra money:ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you see if your max overclock went back to normal or not? BTW, what date is shown for your original bios if you open it in RaBiT 1.7? If it is 07/15/05, use RaBiT to set the IDs in that bios to the ones I used then try that bios.

    Maybe it won't really change at all, though. It could be that what causes the performance boost makes the gpu actually get utilized more than before and that could be the sole cause of the temp. increase. That could actually kind of coincide with that your max overclock went down to a point where the performance was roughly equivalent.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    BTW, I used to actually have a Powercolor X800 GT. It had the 1.6 ns memory and with stock cooling it could overclock to 560/526 with no artifacts. It could even get all the way to 576/555 without ever crashing and with only minimal artifacts such that they couldn't be detected visually, only by using something like ATITool. With a different cooler, it probably could have reached clock speeds beyond even that. At those clock speeds, I got a 3dmark05 score of 4750, which was long before I found out about the speed difference with it used as an R480.

    After I got my GTO2, I sold that card, though, since it could never match the performance that my GTO2 could get, even though the gpu on mine couldn't clock nearly as well as that GT I had. ;) My max is 520 on the gpu and crashes beyond that without ever showing any artifacts before crashing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    T-800: look at the attached pic to see which resistor needs to be traced for the volt mod. make sure to have a multi meter to check to drop in resistance.

    Shadow: My max overclock was still lowered but the scores were close to identical. I think the new bios does in fact make full utilization of the cpu because my temps are a lot further from idle-> load than before. I dont have my original bios with me but when i get home i'll look at it.
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    BTW, do you have cooling for your memory? If you have ever touched the memory chips while it is at load, you would notice that the memory chips get hot to the touch.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. frisK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ya I do actually :p, thats not my card in the pic (I'm assuming thats why you asked) and I kinda forgot to cite my resources. That pic is from xtreme resources review of the powercolor x800gt.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hrm... I wonder if my card is supposed to have no bracket on the back for the screws....? Because it doesnt...

    Oh well... Once i get some extra cash i will buy some new cooling for it (i think my RAM was crashing my system...)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. T-800 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Frisk
    THX i will test it than i tell you
    what volt do u have now with vmod ?
    ;)

    Kuhl now i made it VDD ~1,49 and GPU 2,35 V ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    frisK: Do you have a copy of your original bios? If so, then what date is shown for it if you open it in RaBiT 1.7? If it is 07/15/05, use RaBiT to set the IDs in that bios to the ones I used then try that bios.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. PastryLikeDood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2nd success!

    Using ShadowFlare's modified X800GT bios.. i successfully flashed my card to the R480 core...

    Heres the rundown.. Sure, the card runs a tad warmer... but get THIS!

    Before flash i got 3489 in 3DMark05... with this setup
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.3GHz
    1GB Corsair RAM DDR400
    PowerColor X800GT 475 core/ 490 mem (not overclocked)

    After flash i got 4152 in 3Dmark05 with this setup
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0GHz
    512MB Corsair RAM DDR400
    PowerColor X800GT(identified as GTO with R480 now) 475 core/ 490 mem (not OC'd)

    Hrm... was taking 5 minutes to flash the bios and gain a tad under 700 points more worth it?

    YES IF I DO SAY SO MYSELF

    NOTE : I had to use flashrom to do the flash... atiflash kept messing up... it got a write fail at 4/10000 bytes...so i tryed flashrom and it worked like a charm.

    Also, note that where i circled it reads "X800GTO" before it read as X800GT (or maybe SE i cant remember)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      87.3 KB
      Views:
      865
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. arch4 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi,
    I've got a PowerColor X800GT with Samsung 1.6ns Chips
    i want use this bios "R480_16P.256.Samsung16_050823_VendorID_Powercolor.bin" but when i open the bios with Radit1.7, in logging section, the description of connectors isn't exact, the powercolor have 2 dvi connectors + 1 tv.

    modified bios :
    > Connectors Layout table offs: 0xB7C9
    Port = 1, Conn0 type = VGA
    Port = 0, Conn2 type = STV
    Port = 2, Conn4 type = DVI-I

    powercolor bios :
    > Connectors Layout table offs: 0xB703
    Port = 1, Conn0 type = DVI-I
    Port = 0, Conn2 type = STV
    Port = 2, Conn4 type = DVI-I

    i have modified bios in test for replace value at 0xB7C9 with DVD-I value and save.
    when i want open the new bios file, radit1.7 said " bios is corrupt .... ".
    i use hexadecimal editor for the test.

    ShadowFlare or orther people could you help me ? or i want use wrong bios for my card ?

    thanks and sorry for my english,
    bye
    Arch4
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As far as I know, that shouldn't really matter. You could of course not use that bios and just use the modded Powercolor X800 GT bios. If you are planning on overclocking, you could even try both and see which works best for you.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. arch4 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Hi, ShadowFlare,
    i have question : if i send to you my original bios (samsung 1.6ns), could you modif this with your settings what you have apply in your bios " powercolor X800GT_R480_16P.256.Samsung20_050726 " or said me the way i take for modif by me (eg. transform bios R423 -> R480 and 16P).

    thanks for your reponse,
    bye,
    Arch4
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Compare the date of the original bios on your card (shown in RaBiT when the bios is opened, or you can see it in Catalyst control Center). If it is the same date (07/26/2005), then just use that bios you just mentioned; you could still use it even if it isn't the same date. BTW, there are only two bioses I've seen for that card, the one with the date I mentioned and one that was from around 07/14/2005 or 07/15/2005 (I don't remember exactly which date).

    Heh, I used to think those ones of that card with 1.6 ns memory chips were pretty rare, but since then I've heard of several people having them. Part of that was probably because no reviewer ever got one with the 1.6 ns chips, only 2.0 ns.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. arch4 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Re,
    my bios date is 07/15/2005
    some informations of my card:
    -- ROM BIOS info --
    Desc: R430 X800GT A47401 256M VBIOS
    Info: 112-070719-GT, 47719CDA.SEH, 07/15/05,14:15:06
    Radeon family: Radeon X800 series


    Is there any chance that the bios for 1.6ns chips and 2.0ns chips are the same one ?
    i see in site what the 07/26/2005 is a beta bios from Tul, your bios is this ?
    http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=827
    could you help me for modif ?

    thanks,
    Arch4
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 30, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. vibescu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Gecube x800gt

    Hello!

    i buy a Gecube x800gt pci-e 256mb
    it comes with the r480 and infiniteon memory 1.6
    is possible to mod the original bios??

    thanks a lot!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So is that one with R480 that is identified as R423? I'll do the mod for you and if you are sure it is an R480, then you could flash the modded bios to your card to get the performance boost mentioned in this thread.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, that looks like the older of the two bioses I've seen for it.

    That's right, there's no difference. The Powercolor X800 GT's don't have any different bios that is specifically for either particular speed of memory chip. I've heard of cards with the older bios and ones with the newer bios with either of those memory configurations.

    That bios looks like it could be the same one that I did a mod on; it has the same date and time and other stuff looks the same. There are some minor differences, like certain text in the file, but that seems to be all there is, though. They probably just made the beta bios into a release version bios. The one I modded was one that was preinstalled on one of those cards. The modded bios will give a performance boost beyond any already existing performance boost from that bios.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. kristov18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my x800gt 256 samsung 1.6

    Hi, ShadowFlare
    do u think my card can be unlocked?
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've posted a mod of that bios in the first post.

    I don't think you will be able to unlock any pipelines. You can still get the performance boost that this thread is about. Use the Powercolor.X800GT_R480_16P.256.Samsung20_050726 bios from the first post, it is a mod of the bios that your card has.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)