1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Permantly disable 5xx series throttling?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I know W1zzard has a hack in GPU-Z that will disable the throttling on the 5xx series cards, but is there a way to permanantly disable it? A quick BIOS edit with NiBiTor maybe?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Guess not?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    I am interested on this as well
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    maybe edit bios and remove all clocks except 3D?
  5. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    The power throttling, not the clock throttling. The thing that kicks in whenever furmark, kombustor, oc scanner etc is being ran.. Its a pain to run gpuz first prior to stress testing for OC stability.. sometimes I even forget it (1 hour in, no artifacts, yey!.. ah crap, forgot to turn the throttling off :( )
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    make a shortcut to gpu-z in your startup folder in the start menu?
  7. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Dont want to exit the app everytime I boot though..
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nobody has an answer?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    athlonX2 had your answer...
  10. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    I haven't seen or heard of a permanent fix....and I've been looking. :( :banghead:
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    That can be automated as well.

    Code:
    START /MIN C:\gpuz.exe /GTX580OCP
    Ping 127.0.0.1 -n 10
    Taskkill /F /IM "gpuz.exe"
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    What if you want to overclock it though? Would it throttle back to stock clocks if it was overstressed?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Doesn't it throttle back only when using stress testing programs like Furmark?
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Yeah, but I think the idea is that if you are stress testing to test stability, and a reboot happens in the middle, then you start stress testing again, it is a pain to have to keep re-running GPU-z.

    Think of it like this, you set an overclock and start stress testing overnight. You come back to the machine in the morning and it has rebooted or is frozen due to a GPU crash. So you reboot the machine, lower the clocks 5MHz and start testing again. 4 hours later you come back, and all seems good. Then you remember that you forgot to disable the throttling, so the clocks kept lowering... 4 hours of testing wasted...:cry:
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Exactly...

    So is removing all but the 3D clocks in the BIOS a viable solution to stop throttling, even if you push further with a tool like EVGA Precision? What about leaving 2D clocks in there to reduce idle power consumption?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Didn't even know the 5xxx series had throttling. Again I really think we need a new kind of stress testing program, like crysis without the massive install.
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I read somewhere that the throttling is just something in the drivers that detects OCCT and Furmark and that's all. The throttling doesn't exist in video games, so we should be able to just use the hack when running Furmark or OCCT and leave it alone after that.

    Is this throttling for the GTX580 ONLY, or for the whole 5xx series?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Seems to be the entire 5XX series.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. load81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Not if you know what you are doing. Of course there are several people in that thread that had it pop with the saftey feature ON, so disabling it isn't really to blame here.

    In fact, of the 4 users in the thread that had cards die, actually 5 users if you count our very one W1zzard, 3 had the saftey feature still enabled.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. load81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sigh...You just made me read that whole thread again. Wizzard had a card die with it on. Faulty card maybe? The other guy that had it die with it on was running it at 1.2+volts. I kept up with the thread and can't find the 3rd person that had a card fail with the power limiter on. Don't see how you can call that several lol Check out the 570 overclocking thread in those forums. Some people have them clocked at ridiculous speeds and have no problems. I'm sure you know some cards are just faulty.
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page