1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9850 2.5 temp increased after bios update

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by WojtasRed, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I`ve Phenom 9850 2.5
    I`ve updated my bios and, wierd thing, my processor temp now is higher (36C) in idle (29 before bios update). Single cores temp is the same (32C). Could someone explain me that?

    I test temps via Everest.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  2. Boyfriend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    If temp is same as before in Coretemp (0.99.4), then it isn't a problem. BIOS usually don't read exact temp. Rely on Coretemp, Realtemp, Speedfan for more accurate temp readings.
     
  3. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Toronto
    well, rely on temps of the cores themselves that is (regarding the speedfan mention)

    dont mind my first post, i come from driverheaven & rage3d
     
  4. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So there`s no need to worry about anything?
     
  5. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Toronto
    no need to worry, it's fine

    unless.. an auto voltage is giving more than it used to, or if you used to be set on manual & the bios update put it on auto

    not that it's a bad temp, load is what really matters right?
     
  6. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Anyone knows, why this temp was increased. I`ve updated my bios from F4 to F6.
     
  7. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    First I had a thought that if the new bios enabled CPU Tweak, but since only the "CPU temperature" has increased and not the real core temps, that can't be the case. Or awhat temps are you preferring? If the single CPU temp has raised but not the four individual readings, then it's a glitch in the bios, but if your individual temps have been rised for 7C, you definately have CPU Tweak enabled. I think some bioses have it enabled at default. Check it. It is probably hided in bios and you need to press ctrl+f1 in order to find it.

    It seems to be the case that all AMD chipset mobos from gigabyte have the CPU temp off quite a lot. The real core temperature is about 5-10 degrees lower depending on temp. I have had the same core temps with every program I tried (AOD, Speedfan, CoreTemp, HW monitor).

    Cheers

    (Edit: But if you are not going to do overclocking, I suggest you leave the CPU Tweak on, it boosts performance a little. And it doesn't raise the load temps much, only idle)
     
    WojtasRed says thanks.
  8. wdst20

    wdst20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Have you enabled more things in the Bios? Or is your fan sick?
     
  9. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thank you, Meizuman :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page