1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9850 95w CPU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by suraswami, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Typo??? There is no 95W 9850 phenom.
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wow AMD is really improving there game now can't wait to see the 45nm. I haven't seen them anyplace maybe give them more time?
     
  5. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Even if it is 95W, it's still Agena I think. I'd rather wait a bit longer and get my hands on the 45nm Deneb/Propus.
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Deneb for sure, but if Biostar doesn't give a bios update then I have to hunt for this 95w cpu.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    nope thats a 65nm 95w
     
  8. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    I think the 9850 95w is OEM only for HP or DELL and whatever other company wanted one.
     
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I know its 65nm, what I meant is I want for sure Deneb, but if my board doesn't support I atleast need this cpu:D
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    ahh ok
     
  11. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    suraswami says thanks.
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  13. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I run the 140watt 9950 on a few diff mobos and never had a prob. They actually dont pull that much power (OCing can get them to get pretty hungry though)
     
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Yeah the chipsets and heatpipe do get bit toasty. I put 2 dinky fans on the Mosfet HS and chipset heatsink, so I guess it might be too much with the 140W, may be thats why Biostar didn't post the support for the cpu.

    yup I will be OCing as much as possible.

    But you know, when you OC a 125W cpu by raising the voltage then it might be working at 140W+ under load, so I guess the mobo can handle it.
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Few of the reviewers on egg have used the cpu on the same board that i have, so should i risk?

    never mind its gone.
     
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,487 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    894
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    If you must have a phenom, get the 125w 9950, it's even in stock on ncix.com.
    Ok, I lied, they were in stock earlier today, but get one.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    egg has it, but waiting for the prices to go down even more or get the 95w 9850.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page