1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9950 overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chicken Patty, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    This is the 2000th reply to this thread and it is an ass-kicking reply. I made new personal records to 3Dmark06, Pi Fast, Super Pi and CPU-Z!

    You can guess which is what, here are the results

    3.72
    22.25
    15434
    33.18

    This was probably the last cold air attempt with this CPU. I am freezing right now because I opened the window vent to put some "fresh" air to my system... And yes, something showed -2 and cores are at 0C now on idle...

    I'll upload some pics so you can enjoy them.

    I must say... I'm loving the new bios! F4a ftw :D

    BTW, first time I managed to ran 3dmark with cores 1 and 2 @ 3.5GHz... 3 and 4 were @ 3.3Gigs
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    congrats meizuman :toast: This thread has came a long way, proud of that :rockout:
  3. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    3.72:eek::eek: CPUZ
    22.25- Super Pi
    15434-3d06
    33.18- Pi Fast

    How did you manage 3.72GHZ, you mustve been out in that Arctic weather. Admirable Scores:respect:
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats what I was just thinking to myself :laugh:


    You deserve it, putting yourself through these torturous conditions, just for an overclock. Bravo bravo!! :toast: :roll: :rockout: :respect:
    Meizuman says thanks.
  5. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    :roll: I just imagined what you said, that takes alot of BALLZ.

    That is a massive overclock for that chip:respect:
    Meizuman says thanks.
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I could imagine what he could have done if he had my old 9850. Im in Miami where it was anything but cold and I did stable 3.55 Ghz and validated at 3.6 Ghz. I guess due to lack of good cooling, I killed the CPU. It was on water, but water has its limits. I think he could have done a bit higher than 3.72 Ghz with that CPU.
  7. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    You've hitted the score!

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=534497
    3dsage and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  8. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I did 3718MHz on all cores and I have a screenshot of it....OOPS, just checked the screenshot and my weakest core is 3744 on AOD in that pic... I'll upload the pics to photobucket asap..
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats great, what were your ambient temps and your idle temps?
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    I still have a 9850 special for sale CP ;)
  11. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I have no idea, mate! :D I had my front intake fans warming up my HDD's and that worked out really great, I didn't exactly thought about it but then I checked HWmonitor and they were sitting at 20ish. System temp (ITE chip) were about 3-6C and GPU core was also under 10C. I did the 3Dmark run with Boost on, don't know the highest temps, but it was 20ish on idle. I used 1.56-1.58 Vcore. ACC was +4 +4 +6 +8...

    3DMark06:
    [​IMG]

    PiFast
    [​IMG]

    SuperPi
    [​IMG]

    It was pretty cold... Normal 24/7 overclock in this pic[​IMG]

    EDIT: Oh, I forgot the 3.7... I had to update my CPU-Z and try again to get an official score to hwbot...
    [​IMG]
  12. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Whats the core voltage?And why doesnt it show in cpu-z?

    Edit I posted same time you did.
  13. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Its the voltage on CPU-Z
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    what kind of cpu cooler you using?.... and how cold is the ambient temp? :cool:
  15. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Amd how you getting your graphics card down to 3c?lol
  16. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Well the outside temp was -17C when I just checked it... It could have been somewhere between -15 and -17C.
  17. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Lapped Phenom Boxed Heat Pipe Cooler aka LPBHPC :nutkick:
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    when you validate cpu-z it hides the voltage mate..... i guess its a secret they dont like to show....
  19. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Nice man, I never thought off clocking individual cores to finish a 3D06 run, good thinking. How did you find the weaker cores?

    Also those are some low volts for those high clocks, I could barely hover at 3.45 @ 1.65V for longer than a minute or 2 on my 9950.

    Great Chip+ Arctic Weather= High ass clocks.
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    speak english bro.... what the hell is aka LPBHPC.... got a picture :slap:
  21. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    :laugh:

    Im guessing, Lapped Phenom Boxed Heat Pipe Cooler
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    i figured that much but the boxed cooler has me scratching my head :toast:
  23. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    It is the boxed cooler that came with my 9950! :p
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  24. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I have found them after... could I say sufficient amount of priming and benching.. :D

    And it is true that Phenoms like cold more than volts. I would definately like to know what is the cold bug temp in agena. I've read it could be somewhere around -20C... I found that It was more stable with lower Vcore... 1.6 was too much. The sweet spot could be somewhere between 1.5-1.6V... I think my previous CPU-Z score was done with 1.5V or a few 0.0X higher
    3dsage says thanks.
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,873
    why im asking is, im in the land of extreme cold and with my H2o cooled down to abient temp of 10c..... my processor is at 12c only for less than a min after boot.... till she starts to warm up.... even though it lowers the cpu temp nicely at 10c room temp... i highly doubt Mez is really running 0c.... i call bs on bad thermal sensors or glitched out temp reading program

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page