1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9950 overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chicken Patty, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    lol cool...:toast:
    your making me wanna try the boxed cooler i got with the PII :rolleyes:
     
  2. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    What was your test process like, you clocked each core indiviadually then test the max it will prime?

    Yup the majority have cold bug issues, Its either -20 or -40 I forget.

    yes I agree anything above 1.6v is futile...
     
  3. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    You should see the joke of a cooler that came with my 720, I'd be better of putting a crushed red bull can and blowing on it :laugh:
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    Lol.... will do show man!!!! id love to see it :laugh:
     
  5. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Literally!

    [​IMG]

    Imagine bumping the Voltage up to 1.5V on a Quad/Tri and then looking at that POS:roll:
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    hey 0c at high clocks? Hmmm.... My room temp is 22c rite now.... cpu is at 35c.... i have a can of compressed air to blow the dust off things...... i flipped it upside down and sprayed the top side of the water block..... WOW 3c!!! lol..... dam the can gets cold doing that :laugh:
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    Here's the one that came with the PII 940

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
  9. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I never seen a 3c cpu temp with the best water cooler,never mind a lapped stock cooler.And that phenom 940 cooler is same one that comes with 9950.
     
  10. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Honestly, except it only has 1 clip instead of the 3, for even less cooling performance:laugh:

    BTW the one that came with the 940, looks like the on for the 9950, Not bad at all:cool:
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    my point exactly..... thats why i sprayed the top of the water block..... i guesss if ya spray the stock cooler's base it will give enough ya time to do a print screenie lol
    its all good though lol
     
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    it is the same cooler except one tiny add on..... it has a small spring under the clip and thats all
     
  13. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago

    Spray it with Freon :confused:
     
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    What ever the hell is in a can to dust off (blow) your computer key board and such....
    just take any aresol can and flip it upside down and spray it.... its colder than hell :roll:
     
  15. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    As I said, I don't know what the temps were at load. I am sure they were above zero. Before 3Dmark run I engaged Fusion and boost and idle temps rised to slightly above 20C. I have no thermometer or probe to stick it close to cpu.

    As a reminder, I have lapped both the HS and the cooler. I had the side panel removed and it was sitting right next to the air vent. I put a few cardboard pieces to direct the airflow in the case.
     
  16. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    THIS was my highest. No way to get this validated!
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    That's a little bit different looking. The fan and fan mount is different. The fan in my heatsink makes a creeping "ticking" sound. I lapped it, it was really something else than flat.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Im getting mine today :D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
     
  19. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    9950 BE?
     
  20. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Didn't notice that question till now... lapped OCZ Vendetta 2 is my weapon. It is in my system specs.
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    winter is indeed your friend meizuman :toast:
     
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    I still call BS on 0c temps
     
  23. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Its winter here and plenty cold in this house and my cpu temps never go lower than 28c.
     
  24. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I don't claim that It was really 0C. Its what the monitoring programs are saying. The air temp outside was around -15 to -17C, cpu fan was at max speed. The air was coming straight from outside. And the idle temp was higher when I pushed the voltage. The 0C was with 1.408V Vcore and 3.2GHz. I had no time to check my temps when I hitted that 3.7GHz... I didn't want to risk my validation.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    i hear what your saying but still.... it gets down to -40c here and never had temps that low... i think id try a different temp program....:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page