1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9950 overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chicken Patty, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]


    not a 9950 but how does that look?
     
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    sweet clocks though Mez.... thats a killer mobo and cpu you got there.... shit if i were you id dump your 9950 and get the 940BE.... who knows...mabey that mobo is as close to one of a kind and will clock the crap outta a PII:twitch:
     
  3. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    [​IMG]
    This was how it looked like yesterday. The cold air rushes in to the warmer air in my room. And there is a computer right next to the vent with its side panel removed. Plus there was a cardboard pieces to direct the airflow to inside the case.

    I really would like to know the limits with DICE...

    Or what about 940 + LN2... I kinda like this AM2+ overclocking thing. The GBT certainly has a really simple BIOS... in some point I missed all the things other have in their DFI's and Asus'es... but the results. Well, I think it may not need all those little voltage thingies and ram settings.
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    thats cool Mez.... im thinking... what if i lengthened the tubing to my rad and just tossed it out the window with the fan on 100%..... having -20c air hitting it mite give some wicked low temps..... But does the coolant have a freeze point like regular car anti-freeze?
     
  5. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    I think there is not much anti freezing features in normal coolant... I would most likely use 50/50 glycol/distilled water. Since I can get the glycol (automotive coolant) with different colors... I've seen red, blue and green. So I would not going to use any dye. And therefore I would probably end up using aluminium rads... (edit: because of the non-corrosive features the coolant has)
     
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    if that's the case Mez.... don't change your bios....:respect:
     
  7. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    look on the other set of voltages were it says VIN1 thats the cpu volts :nutkick:
     
  9. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    F4a ftw (for now...). Maybe they did do something after I contacted GBT and asked for a bios that's optimized fot agena and overclocking :D
     
  10. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    OMG :eek: Under water or something? Mine doesn't like anything above 1.6V... I really don't want to know what the temps would be on full load on that one! :cool:
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    have you tried Black box Mez?
    It shows independent core temps

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    BTW, does anyone have a clue where my name comes from...?
    Here's a hint.
    http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj94/DjAnalog/Meizu2.jpg

    @full, never seen that one... *must-try-immediately* [robot talk]

    Damn.. 14-15C on idle now and I just have the vent open... and my intake fans are on low speed. Now I am too tempted to try again.. this time 3.8 validated... hell, I'll give it a try.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    nah i'm on the stock cooler this is one of the advantages of balls of steel and a 95w chip i'm @1.74v now
     
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    lol CD should i put my 9850 back in and bump my voltage up and up lol.... but this time you'll not back out hey?:roll:
     
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    i was getting low temps like that with my ol thermaltake V1 cooler with the side off and window open.... go..go.go and good luck Mez
    :rockout:
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    looks good CDAWALL, not bad for a 9750 :toast:

    Still factory cooler?
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    go for it i won the max clock last time but you had higher volts this chip doesn't seem to care so i'm game :D

    stock copper cooler like the one that comes with the X4 940. mine however has a 120mm 130CFM zip tied to it.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    hey full do i win?

    [​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    You would be lol :roll:
    You have nothin to loose since you have a new bad boy being delivered tomorrow :nutkick:
    but i like the 940's performance and i think i had better not push this whistlen mobo.... she might be on her last leg
     
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    :respect::respect::respect: Yes you win CD lol
    Thats nuts man.... 2v to the core!!!:rockout:
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    And 92c on the cores! :eek: my 9850 hit 100c or so when the water pump failed, the system just shut down. this time a hooked the rotation wire to the cpu fan plug on the mobo so it wont happen again
     
  22. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    Meizuman says thanks.
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,137
    what is the TMPIN0 temp sensor reading CD?
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    is 2v to much? :nutkick:

    it was running @104C lol

    cpu temp
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page