1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom FX in the Works, AMD to take Another shot at...Kentsfield

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    Deneb 4 GHz is FAKE

    hi all

    regarding the original thread , it is an old screen shot of an oc'd deneb
    and the real voltage is 1.475 not 1.168 as cpu-z did't read it correctly .

    here is the original screen shot which the reviewage site faked shamefully :

    [​IMG]

    and for more info refer to this topic in amd forums:
    http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=318&threadid=99307&enterthread=y

    so , please btarunr state this facts on the first post , because this hurts AMD greatly
    as over hyping their product will only means that it has a very little chance to meet the expectations .

    and let's play the wait and see game

    no more deneb rumors and over hyping fake news please .
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
    blueskynis says thanks.
  2. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Your just posting the same thing thats been hashed and rehashed in this thread. I think that screenshot or dirations of it have been posted at least 3 times in this thread already.
  3. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    if it has been posted earlier then i apologies for the redundancy

    and that's why I asked btarunr to state this in the first post , as this thread is 11 pages so far and this post will be buried in two days .
  4. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    And do you have solid proof that its a fake?
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  6. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    658 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    barley 4ghz on ln2 is not 4ghz stock on air, by far
  7. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    that shot isn't from reviewage, so stop lying please.

    I already posted that shot saying no one really knows what is what (voltage and for some reason the stepping is not shown) please read from the start and you will see that this shot is from the site below. look at the STEPPING (right now its over c1/2) deneb processor is based on C0 stepping . It is assumed that C0/? stepping will replace present B3 stepping , which are based on 65 nm processors phenom.

    this is the site that posted that picture, good try though :p
    http://www.expreview.com/news/hard/2008-08-01/1217578981d9645.html

    this url shows the OEM/standard (not FX) cpu the deneb will most likely come as 3+ghz and even they will overclock to over 4ghz which we all know (@ 4ghz not even you will be disappointed matey)
    http://www.expreview.com/news/hard/2008-07-12/1215832034d9447.html
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  8. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6

    Attached Files:

  9. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    by fake I meant that this piece of news from the reviewage site is not real , they based their conclusions on an over-clocked phenom , and putting their badge on it , and trying to convenience us that phenom fx will be 4 GHz on 1.167v WITHOUT ANY LIABLE SOURCES .

    and this is what I called over hyping the deneb , and this hurts AMD more than benefiting them .

    I'm an AMD fan , and I wish they regain the performance crown as much as the next guy , but
    spreading fake ... umm , spreading not so reliable news from an unknown and dishonest site is not a good thing for AMD , as I said before .

    anyway , I really want to believe that it is true , but not through reviewage .

    btw, thanks X1REME for the original review site , I took the screen shot from the AMD forum thread I posted its link in the previous post .
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  10. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    Let's wait and see, but my oponion is :
    This is fake.

    Unless Phenom FX architecture is 100% different from Phenom Deneb and Phenom Agena. Can AMD comes up with a new architecture this fast?
    Phenom FX over 4GHz and this is stock speed at extreme low voltage. This is like 2-3 years in the future.

    Everyone know that Intel Core 2 Duo can clock really high at low voltage, but why Intel didn't clock it higher? If I remember right, the researchers intended to make a CPU that can run at least 10 years without problems.

    So, a Phenom FX 45nm over 4GHz at extreme low voltage, suprassed all current techs, and this can last lat least 10 years without problems. I think this is really hard to believe.
    Abu Assar says thanks.
  11. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    hi, i know what you mean by over hyping. every response i make is more than double checked for its source and verify with others sites as they are samples most likely but will most defiantly over clock over 4ghz as even the phenom gets there with some help (ln2) . and even amd people say it will be 3+ghz (OEM not FX).

    currently i have an Intel set-up with ATi gpu but will go all amd very soon (spider platform), just like before the c2d, why? because the i7 will cost you an arm and a leg to adopt and personally i think people like not so informed should be aware that there is going to be an alternative from AMD which will hopefully cost half the price and be up to par performance.

    You have to understand AMD is not as rich as Intel and fan boys like you (No offence) actually advertise for it from forums etc. (just like the gpu)

    Also dont forget that AMD constantly lives with the fear that it is out-resourced and out-spent compared to Intel. If it reveals too much about its future strategy and Intel likes that strategy there is a theoretical chance that Intel could take this idea and deliver a product way before AMD. This was probably a key reason for the company to switch its entire communications strategy and remains completely quiet (e.g GPU) about a new product until it exactly knows its specs/place and capabilities, and is convinced that Nvidia/Intel can’t beat it to market anymore.
  12. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Its not 100% different but 50% different (K10 to K10.5 then 2?% to K10.5 Rev D) and this is the same architecture as K8-K9-K10 but ironed out bugs as the erratum problems with phenom. as you can see the AMD X4 Phenom (Agena) is already hitting 4.050ghz which was impossible before.

    as you can see Intel is ahead of AMD (6 to 12 Months) and the only way to catch up was to miss a few on the road map (I have already listed and showed the road map in the previous post)

    sorry mate but having a CPU in this age and day for 10 years is ridiculess, not saying AMD will go down that path (Nvidia Anyone)
  13. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    The 10 years CPU isn't because people going to use it for 10 years, It prove the reliable for the CPU. And this is IMPORTANCE for servers.

    Many retailers have life-time warranty for their products, but that not what they wanted to tell customers, they wanted to tell them that "our products can work perfectly fine in years that we confident enough to give you a life-time warranty".

    AMD miss few on the road map?

    AMD Athlon 90nm -> Brisbane 65nm -> Phenom.

    The performance inreassed through new generation is not big. They pushed out Phenom in hurry to have a quad-core. Why don't they just skip Brisbane and go straight to Phenom/Kuma? What the hell were they doing? And now, you're telling me AMD gonna have a Phenom FX clock at 4GHz at extreme low voltage?

    I can't see your points. If they say it can be Overclock to 4GHz, I can believe this, but a Phenom default speed at 4GHz will need a hardproof.

    I don't want to argure with you over something not released, i'm telling you my points, it depends on you and the way you understand it.
  14. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Lets not forget the sreeny of the add of that one mobo. Had the Phenom FX logo in it.

    Either way, like i said who cares?
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yes, but that was a current 9950BE. 65nm.
  16. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It doesn't look right anyway. The size of the text is inconsistent.

    Unless it really looks like that...
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  18. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,614 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    /shakes head

    pipe dreams are not real
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India

    The reliable source is commonsense. Assuming the screenshot at least is real, why would AMD provide a FSB multiplier value which at some point or another, not be implemented into a product (or if the core isn't capable for reliable operation at that FSB x Mul setting)? FX-62 used a 14.0x multiplier, but the max that Windsor could offer was 16.0x, hence it was implemented as X2 6400+, Taken, if 25.0x by Deneb isn't real, 20.0x is right in the screenshot, it's available for the Deneb core, meaning it looks realistic that AMD makes a product out of that value, and look at the VCore to further assert it. It's not like they plugged the chip into the mains either. Follow the link in the first para of the news post, follow its source, read the review where the Chinese team found the 2.30 GHz Deneb peak at ~55W IIRC.
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  20. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The deneb is not a server part but a desktop part. the server part is called shanghai and I agree the servers need to be mostly bug free (which is why x3 phenom never made it to the servers/workstations)

    The road map in 2009 is going to be drastically different to the one shown (8-12 cores, bulldozer, fusion etc will come earlier or overly changed).

    If the OEM DENEB Is 3.2/3.4 and Even 3.6, do you think the Deneb FX will be anything but faster. (Just look at the history of AMD FX) :toast:
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    My point was neither are better for gaming. Games are so gpu limited, that just about any quad core is completely unnecessary, regardless of who built it. In that light, neither can really use it to their marketing advantage against their competitor anyway. The point is completely moot for gaming.

    And when did I say AMD couldn't use HT? I said the current HT is already faster than what we need. We will see no benefits from increasing it's speed. Only multi-socketed servers will see the benefits.

    And the AMD designers did have a great design with K8, AT THE TIME. This is the point you are missing. K10/10.5 are just updates to K8. the architecture itself is aging. AMD needs either a completely new architecture to compete with Intel, or at least some major, MAJOR revisions to K10. The die shrink is not major enough.

    You guys can continue to believe this news item, if you wish, but I think you are just setting yourselves up for another disappointment. yes, AMD is making some good tweaks and changes, but you are all failing to realize that Intel is as well. Until AMD releases a new arch, they are gonna stay behind Intel. The Core 2 arch is flat out more efficient than K8/10/10.5.

    Furthermore, I seriously doubt we'll even see 3.6GHz deneb released. And if they do, Intel will just answer back with their own high-clocked parts. Besides, didn't AMD hint to 3GHz Phenoms before they even released? We see how that turned out, don't we?

    We all know Intel is sandbagging the clock speeds anyway, otherwise we wouldn't be seeing such high overclocks. My quad does 4Ghz on less than 1.4V as it is, let alone the newer 45nm steppings.

    AMD is just not gonna win this round. I still hold my hopes up for the next arch tho.
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  22. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    lolz I already said k8-k9-k10-k10.5-k10.5 Rev D is the same architecture and where you getting the next architecture from? there isn't any lolz. its all going to be the same with enhancements, which you say don't make a squat of difference (45nm = more transistors = less power usage = more power output = higher clocks = DENEB FX). even the fusion, bulldozer, shanghai, hydra etc will be the same but later 2009/2010 with a name change of K11 which brings us to many cores (Magny-Cours 12-Core CPU in 2010) but same K10 :ohwell: :rockout: :respect:
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Where are you getting me saying they don't make a squat of difference? I never said that. I said they aren't a big enough difference. They are differences Intel can easily counter at this point.

    Releasing more cores in a single package can and will help, but Intel can do that as well, so that point is moot too.

    If AMD is sticking with the K10 arch, I fear their only hope is that Intel hits a wall with their Core 2 arch, like they did with P4.

    Keep in mind, I'm speaking of this purely from a performance perspective. I've not brought price into this, which is where AMD can make up the difference. (which they finally have with the current round of Phenom price cuts)
  24. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    To be honest this is the first time I have my hopes high, although its still K10 (K10.5 actually). I was one maybe in every few who never had his hopes high with the phenom (Agena) after I saw the C2D specifications and cache anyWayZ lolz.

    oh and don't forget AMD can pack more transistors than Intel with newer tech, so imagine what AMD is gonna do with the 45nm shrink (lots more transistors/cache)
  25. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    They have hit there wall, why do you think they have the next GEN CPU the same architecture as a AMD CPU? OBMC

    Only hope AMD have if that the NEXT gen CPU from intel doesn't do as good as everyone says it will.

    Food for thought.

    AMD AM2 X2 6400 3.2GHz 65nm
    AMD AM3 X2 6400 1.9GHz 45nm

    Can anyone see it?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page