1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom FX in the Works, AMD to take Another shot at...Kentsfield

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,844
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I want to beleive this..........I hope it's true.......I fear it isnt............... When Intel reduced their fabrication process to 45nm from 65nm on their quads, the TDP went from 95W .......to ........... 95W!!

    Then again, what do I know? I just wont hold me breath.....cause I dont like turning purple! :rockout:
     
  2. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    intel sucks at shrinking the TDP didnt change from the northwood to the cedar mill
     
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,844
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well that was a while ago, and it's just like saying AMD/ATi were the first to go 55nm on their GPU's, dont mean a lot if they give out more heat than the 65nm opposition :p
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    intel has also publicly said AMD has a better process so much so that intel never could have done something as complex as phenom on 65nm.

    also look at AMD's die shrinks now 130nm 2ghz=90w 90nm 2.8ghz=90w 65nm 2.8ghz DC=65w 2.5ghz QC=125w

    so it is possible for a huge TDP drop to happen
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,844
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I agree, my point is tho, recent history would suggest that with that TDP drop doesent come the lower thermal benefits which kind of defeats the object, if they can really produce a 45nm chip that stocks at 4.4gig on air then I am buying one! but TBH.....I have my reservations......we will see.
     
  6. garagetinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yehaaa

    TDP of Intel may have something to do with the huge quantities of L2 chache that we see nowadays. AMD has about HALF the size of cache on its processors(Deneb 8MB in total or so with the largest size of cache) when comparing to a Yorkfield quad with about 14 MB of cache.

    check the link i found... preview for a deneb early engineering samples(could be fake... don't stone me to death yet)

    http://nl.babelfish.yahoo.com/trans...doc/hard/79405.htm&lp=zt_en&btnTrUrl=Vertalen

    i think it will be better if someone can translate all the jibberish in english from the native page on the hardspell.com
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,844
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Denebs 8MB to Yorkfields 12MB, but as the title of this thread says "Another shot at Kensfield" (hopefully not as they are a generation old) Kentsfield was 8MB L2 cache.......TDP rating is fairly closely linked with stock speeds and Vid which is why you would expect a HUGE TDP for a stock of 4.4gig so if AMD really have pulled this off it truly is amazing!.............. all credit to them.
     
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    I did glean this from that link-

    Our test already proved that 45nm Phenom may save near 40W under the full-load conditions compared to 65nm Phenom the power loss, scope close half, this result is very satisfying.

    Sorry if the english is bad,its from the translated link,last page.
     
  9. bigtye New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    212 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some of the results Kei (and others) are posting here at TPU in the underclocking/volting 9850 thread indicates that phenom is capable of some wierd stuff.

    His overclocked results with undervolted cpu suggest the phenom is capable of more than mainstream setups have been getting out of it. Granted his top cpu speed isn't extraordinary, but the voltage he achieves these results at is far far better than stock.

    Tye
     
  10. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    Link: http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/di...Set_to_Arrive_on_the_8th_of_January_2009.html

    no 4 and 4.4GHz :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  11. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Actually this board is the only one for 45nm http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-254-AS&groupid=701&catid=5&subcat=808&name=Asus%20M3A32-MVP%20Deluxe%20AMD%20790FX%20(Socket%20AM2)%20PCI-Express%20DDR2%20Motherboard has to do with the 8+2 power phase ...

    Also add the M3A78-T and the Sept-Oct release of the M3A79-T (above board with SB750)
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  12. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    you guys are forgetting that this is not about the regular denebs....its the fx...presumably the top of the line... ie..qx6700 is not q6700...please read the title again phenom(deneb) fx...not phenom(deneb) x4
     
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    So what was the difference between the X64 and FX ??? other then a high price and oh wait unlocked Multiply... was the same as the Black Editions......at a lower price and those are what we are talking about.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,288 (10.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,931
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Nothing, they're just Denebs with unlocked multipliers, possibly binned.
     
  15. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    i never really said there were architectural differences, im just saying they are different...not saying that you cant get a deneb that can act as a fx...meaning remember the days of the a64 venice cores...i had a 3000+ clocked that bastard to 2.8 easily on the intel side the e6300... basically like the specially binned 4870s ....so are the fx's
     
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    My E6300 was special :D see sig.

    I guess we will have to wait and see if there will be an fx phenom.
     
  17. BvB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Im sure there will be one, im not waiting so much on that, im waiting to see if they can deliver the claimed clocks and performance.
     
  19. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    it's about time AMd get the ball rolling again!

    we've been waiting for this for a while now.....
     
  20. OCQuadNick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    All i have to say is, GO AMD W0000T

    (Wonder if it will work on my Kna2plat):ohwell:
     
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    soy is bad for you
     
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,288 (10.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,931
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Where does it say "Phenom FX" ? Where did I say Phenom FX comes out in September?
     
  23. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Looks like I'll finally go AMD next year.
     
  24. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Phenom 9950 + Foxconn's A79-S motheboard and powered by OCZ's 1000W PSU. = 4,050MHz

    these are the OEM that will be 3.2 ghz but the mighty FX will be at least 1ghz higher, no doubt about it (4ghz)

    the only doubt is the power it needs (1.168v or 1.475v) or maybe in between these figures.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=17850&stc=1&d=1219952415

    if you look at the revision, its old news and at least 5/6 months old, the recent is b1/c1/?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  25. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    the oem are supposed to come November (same as Intel i7) but the FX will be Jan/2009 unless AMD decide to do it the other way round (they will do same as the GPU, Deffo). There is no doubt gonna be a war this time round as amd lost the last ones and loosing this one could spell disaster for them and they would need to succeed 100% next time (2009/2010) or we will be stuck with Intel only and maybe a cut down version of amd to please the critics of a monopoly.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page