1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II 940 black box edition BIOS

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by burgie1, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Hey there....

    Just want to know if you have to do bios update and if so how and where...
    Never done one before and someone said I should. Just got this cpu with ASUS M4A79 Deluxe and still new at this stuff...but it seems to hang sometimes and crash when I play high end games..BF2142 and left4dead. Not all the time but sometimes...also when i do multiply applications at one time. Just thought it would be faster and better than my last pc. Have a pny9600gt and 3x1gb corsair ram

    anyway...thanks for the help...
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Please fill in system specs so we know everything that's in this system. To me it sounds like your Power Supply is crap.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    9600GT isn't that powerful at higher resolutions. What resolution are you playing on? I'm having to use an 8800GTS G80 right now which is very similar to a 9600GT and it's not that great at anything higher than 1680x1050. Lags a lot in L4D and Stalker.
     
  4. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    AMD phenom II x4 940 processor
    ASUS M4A79 Delux motherboard
    3 x 1Gb corsair ddr2 Ram
    1x Geforce 9600gt (PNY)
    SB X-Fi Audio[BCOO]
    650w Antec earthwatts
    Windows xp pro 32bit service pack 3
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Antec is a pretty trustworthy brand. I would go and grab UBCD, http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/, burn the iso to cd, and boot off of it. Run a HD test like Seatools and run a few passes of Memtest.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    thanks...will take a look....
    appreciate the help...will take a look when I get home tonight. hopefully things work out
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page