1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II 955 temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pbmaster, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Just curious to see if mine are decent. Room temp is ~26*C, idle the CPU sits at 39 to 40*C and full 100% load under Prime 95 is sits at 49*C. "Gaming load" it sits at 45*C. Stock CPU settings. Using the Cooler Master V8 with Arctic Silver Ceramique. I was using AS5 but I was curious to see how well it spread, so I took a peek, saw it was good and replaced it with Ceramique just to see if it made a difference.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    Are you reading the core temp or the CPU (socket) temp?
     
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Sorry, should have mentioned that. I'm using Overdrive and Coretemp. Both report the same.
     
  4. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    If you can add more pressure to the cpu,it might saves a couple degrees.

    And also,a very thin layer of TIM is all the cpu needs.me myself using a synthetic motor oil :D

    btw,that temps is ok though.just a little bit on the hotzone,considering your cooler
     
  5. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    your temps is the nearly same as mine.:D

    the temps is ok for me.. never hit 50c even load in gaming
     
  6. Wartz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    About the same as my 940 (if that helps), but I am at 3.6ghz.
     
  7. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I thought it was kind of warm too. I'm going to reapply today using good old AS5 instead of Ceramique. I hope I get it right this time, this thing is a pain to keep removing.
    @WSP: Motor oil? That doesn't seem like a very good TIM at all..
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well anything liquid that dosnt evaporate will work nicely really : ] ( or corrode the metal and plastics)
     
  9. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    believe me...I've went through many kinds of TIM. be it AS5, AS ceramique (still had 2), MX-1, MX-2, NT-H1, Chill Factor..etc and the best TIM is the motor oil :D

    I'm using a synthetic one, Shell Advance VSX. just a drop of it is enough.

    the basics of me using motor oil is:
    * it sticks to the heat
    * it doesn't conduct electrolit (mineral or synthetic oil)
    * doesn't evaporate quickly (more boiling points than water i believe)
    * very2 cheap (just dont using the used one, use a fresh one instead)
    * easy to clean
    * also act as a cooler beside hsf (motor oil is widely used to cool engine without water cooling)

    try it, and you might surprise yourself ;)

    the downside? It cant be used in sub-zero conditions. get freeze instantly!
     
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    screen or it didnt happen^^ i wanna see temperatures!:D
     
  11. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    here's the viewing pleasure ^_^

    up and running crunching for 7 hours and still go on.....

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    how much better is it than mx-2?;)
     
  13. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    :laugh: I thought im one of the few who experimented heat transfer process:roll:
    on my experiment too im using a blue marine grease, it beats any thermal paste on the market on my experiment:laugh:, if you want sub-zero try lithium grease(white), its used to lubricate evaporator fans on a freezer:rockout:
     
    WSP says thanks.
  14. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    about 5-7°C cooler in my case. compare with AS ceramique, it is 3-5°C cooler ;)

    I also experimented using synthetic grease, but it gets sticks to the IHS, almost like glued to it. harder to remove hsf, and perform worse than motor oil (about 5-7°C hotter)

    I never tried lithium grease, but I will soon if I got one and honestly I never seen one lol

    what is hte lithium grease you mentioned in this link?

    http://www.nextag.com/lithium-grease/shop-html

    currently using AS Ceramique when doing sub-zero (DICE)
     
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    arctic ceramic ist 5 degrees hotter than ceramique ;-)
     
  16. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Fixed my temps. Remounted with some Cooler Master Thermal Fusion 400. The Ceramique had spread nicely, but there was barely any suction with it. Temps are sitting at 36*C idle and 47*C 100% load.
     
  17. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Too bad these temps are pretty much meaningless as the one single temp sensor in Phenom II (Deneb/Heka) is quite useless as it is located in the coolest possible place on the die and is around 10ºC off anyways.
     
  18. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    So you're saying right now, sitting here, my CPU is idling at 48*C? I find that hard to believe.

    "However, at the same time we have some very good news for overclocking fans. The thermal sensors integrated directly into the CPU cores of the new Phenom II X4 965 processors have finally been calibrated correctly. It means that during work in nominal mode and during overclocking you can finally use not only the readings off the thermal diode beneath the CPU socket, but also the readings off the CPU itself, which are more precise and have considerably lower lag effect."
    "....Unfortunately, it took AMD over 6 months to fix this issue, but we hope that we will now see correctly calibrated thermal diodes not only in the top Phenom II X4 processors, but also in other 45 nm CPUs." http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/phenom-ii-x4-965_5.html

    If my understanding is correct, the Phenom I had that problem. According to this the 45 nm CPUs should be fixed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2009
  19. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Here's a little test I did back in march, soon after I got my P-II X3 720BE:
    [​IMG]

    The probe bead was tucked inside Scythe Ninja baseplate, between the heatpipes. CoreTemp version 0.99.5.
     
  20. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    BIOS up to date? I'm not trying to be a dick to you, but mine isn't like that. I just find it extremely hard to believe my CPU is sitting here at 46*C doing nothing but me typing. Coretemp .99.5 and Overdrive tell me it's at 36*C.
     
  21. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    You actually misunderstood the quote, the Phenom II X4 965, the processor that just came out has fixed the issue. It wasn't done months ago when the CPU first came out. I know my x3 runs stupid low and the explanation given by largon gives insight as to why.
     
  22. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    "not only in the top Phenom II X4 processors, but also in other 45 nm CPUs."

    That's what I'm going off of. I still REALLY doubt my CPU has hit 70*C.
     
  23. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    pbmaster,
    What are your idle clocks/vcore? Do you use Cool'n'Quiet or 3rd party apps that underclock/volt the CPU while idling?

    About the xbitlabs quote; I wouldn't put much weight to their ramblings as they even refer to some silly "thermal diode beneath the CPU socket" while such things haven't existed since Socket-A.
     
  24. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    No Cool and Quiet, no undervolting, no underclocking. Stock speed: 3.2 GHz. Stock volts: 1.35v. CPU cooler is the Cooler Master V8. Sitting right now at 36*C according to CoreTemp and AMD Overdrive.
     
  25. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Admittedly 46ºC @ idle would seem less likely.
    Could be sensors in early dies like mine (0851) were off and got fixed in later models...

    PS. is that a typo in your system specs as it says "Phemon II"?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page