1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II Final Nomenclature and Launch-Schedule Revealed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Looks like they changed that god-awful 5-digit numbering scheme, just like I had hoped. :D
  2. Fragman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark EU
    Must have a Phenom II X4 940 BE now i cant wait i need it :p
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I bet I build a lot of these....seeing 99% of all my computers I build and sell are AMD Machines.

    All my quads are normally sold running at 3Ghz.

    4ghz would be sweet!


    AMD motherboards/DDR2 = cheaper with the CPU

    Than

    Intel motherboards/DDR3 = more $ with the CPU
  4. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    4+ GHz with water cooling shouldn't be hard -- the current record on Phenoms is something like 3.8GHz. With a new cooler 45nm process it should be easier to do 4GHz.
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Four-word post...


    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!
  6. lepra24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Romenia
    yes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Go AMD GO:D
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Wish AMD released these during upcoming holiday season where they might have seen more sales, but oh well as such the economy here is so poor it doesn't matter what time you release these.
  8. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    They'd be making the same mistake as last time: rushing an incomplete product.
  9. toastem2004

    toastem2004

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Texas
    good riddance to that atrocious 5-digit naming scheme. Will the AM3 package chips still work in AM2+ boards? I noticed in one of the slides that AM3 procs support DDR3-1333/DDR2-1066, so perhaps BIOS flash would be all thats required.

    Its interesting at how AMD is going to be able to make use of "defective" cores in the X4 900/800 space as well as the X3 space; all without making an overly complicated naming scheme.
  10. Pixelated

    Pixelated New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I really hope AMD isn't yanking our chain again. Didn't they say something similar to this prior to the Phenom launch? I really hope it's true. Even if their new Quad Core chips don't beat a similarly matched 45nm Intel@4.0Ghz they can win some market share at price\performance. If the AMD 9xx x4 Black Edition is say (Hypothetically Speaking) 20% slower than Penryn\Core i7 (Hopefully no more than 20%-%30 slower than i7 at worst) yet $600-$700 cheaper than Intel's EE CPU's, well that would be something.

    I would skip i7 until the die shrink and pick up an AMD 45nm for my next build. Here's to hoping AMD catches Intel off guard and knocks them into a price dropping tailspin like they did to Nvidia. :toast:
  11. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Looks promising to the guys and girls that actually know about CPU's but AMD need to advertise to the masses and to retailers that make the pre built computers! They are all core2duo in the shops. AMD need to get the product out there and make it noticed to to the average joe who wants to pay as little as possible for the best thing!
  12. krisna159

    krisna159 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    indonesia
    AMD forever,forever AMD

    this is good news,:D
    i can wait to upgrade my rig,
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I told my friends about i7 today and they had no idea what I was talking about lol they do know about Phenom because I keep telling them about it.. I think Intel needs to advertise too! I haven't seen any i7 ads at all.
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    So you already decided which one to get? your machine specs says it:D
  15. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Haha, it seems like there is a little AMD fanboy somewhere deep inside most of us! He is rather active right now, kicking me in the ribs.
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    the 45nm part is true. But the 65nm Anthlon X2 that i have is a good clocker but i want to get a 45nm X2.if it could hit 4ghz and have a better architecture :eek: I would be happy
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. christof139 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Detroit, Motown, Michigan.
    I see a lot of B2 X3's in stores at CHEAP prices now, and other AMD's and Intels so these older systems may drop a bit more in price and the average Joe will have a choice of decent systems even CHEAPER yet.

    If the AMD plan for the sans L3 CPU's comes about, then these decent performing CHEAPOS will be more than enough for the average Joe if they perform as intended. Same for the lower end and hopefully CHEAP new CPU's with L3 cache.

    With the i7's and all these new AMD CPU's some interesting and perhaps slightly confusing for some times are just ahead. :)

    Groovey!!! :rockout::respect::laugh:

    Chris
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  18. Millenia

    Millenia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Turenki, Finland
    Might get the top model if it's not too expensive.
  19. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    So, who is going to give intel design ideas (if AMD fails) :laugh:
  20. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    hey easy AMD is the company that keeps Intel up at night.:roll:
  21. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Joe Average is rather popular guy these days :D I'd rather call it John Doe in expecting Jane that never came.:toast:
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    This thread is lacking Dragon!!!!+2

    [​IMG]
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    What makes a dragon platform?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    So a Phenom II x3 and 2 4830s would be a dragon?
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page