1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X2 550-unlocking 4th core and overclocking??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by subhendu, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I have asus M3A78 EM mobo with 780G/SB700 chipset...is it possible in my mothreboard to unlock the 4th core of P II x2 550....?
    I would also like to oc it to 3.4ghz...is it possible????

    :respect:
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    3.4Ghz should be a walk in the park for the 550 but what HSF are you using?

    When it comes to unlocking the 3rd and 4th core I see your board uses the 700 southbridge which doesn't have ACC, so no you cannot. You need a board using either 710 or 750 southbridge for ACC and not all 710's even support ACC.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    thanks ....so i have to waste too much money for a quad...:eek:
    i like ur avatar ...nice :p ..
  4. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yeah I wanted to say something than saw the avatar and thought slip my mind :roll:
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    What do you plain on doing with a Quad that your Dual core can't do? If your gaming and other basic crap you don't need a quad, maybe for 2-3 games and still not a great advantage. Now if your going to be doing some video editing then I can see why you NEED to have a quad. What batch # is your 550?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    i dun have a p II x2 550...i have a x2 6000+ @3.02ghz...
    just want to know about the 550 ...cause one of my friend is ready to buy my x2 :)
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Well if your not looking to upgrade your board but want a 550 I have one for sale if interested. Mine however will not unlock cores even with a SB750 equipped board but a nice OC'r.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    not from your place frnd ...I am from India...:laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page