1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition Tested

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,532 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,642
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    In the weeks to come, AMD will introduce its triple-core processors based on the 45 nm Heka core, starting off with the Phenom II X3 700 series. One of the first SKUs in the series would be the overclocker-friendly Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition. Based on the Heka core, it holds three x86 processing cores, 512 KB of L2 cache per core and a shared 6 MB L3 cache. The chip is specified to run at 2.80 GHz (200 MHz x 14.0), and features an unlocked bus frequency multiplier. It comes with a rated TDP of 95W. Turkish website Donanim Haber put an engineering sample carrying its specs to test on both DDR3 and DDR2 platforms based on Gigabyte's GA-MA790FXT-UD5 and MA790FX-DQ6, to find out its mettle.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The new Phenom II X3-based test-beds were put through a series of synthetic and real-world performance tests that include Cinebench x64, PCMark Vantage, Fritz Chess 9, Everest, Hexus Pifast, and Far Cry 2. In its findings, it is seen that the overall jump in performance between the DDR2-1066 and DDR3-1600 platform is almost insignificant. The performance scales at pi-crunching scales fairly well with the chip overclocked. The overclocking potential of this chip, being a Black Edition variant, doesn't disappoint. The 2.8 GHz chip overclocked seamlessly to 3.70 GHz with Sunbeamtech Core Contact Freezer employed to cool it. The Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition is expected to release later in this quarter at an expected price point of 140€ in Europe.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The complete review by Donanim Haber, Google-translated to English can be read here.

    Source: Donanim Haber
     
    Kei says thanks.
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm buying one when I get a job :D
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    So no performance difference with DDR3...well that makes my next motherboard choice easy enough (which ever I can afford at the time).

    Looks like a phenomenal chip though, runs cool, reaches 3.7Ghz. Me likely :D
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea DDR2 FTW. Even if I had a lot of money for DDR3 I would just get a better processor or video card.
     
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    4 core cpu with one core disabled. = X3
     
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    There's some pretty decent DDR3 kits for £100 now, so if I could afford a board and RAM I'd definitely go for it.
     
  7. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Yeah im in no rush to use ddr3. Maybe I'm crazy though..
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,158 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  9. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Nice to see black edition X3s. Though I'm assuming a Phenom X3 is an X3 because it failed some quality testing and didn't satisfy X4 standards? In which case overclocking performance might be hurt. Or am I wrong?
     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Usually not. It's usually just one weak or faulty core, which is disabled.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    hmm i'm tempted to order one
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Very nice, I would like to see Intel counter this with some unlocked Core 2 Duo's, not that unlocking them would really help overclocking drastically on the Core 2's. Hopefully, this at leasts leads to some price drops.

    Not really, usually the part that would hurt overclocking is also the part that is disabled.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Damn! Got it to 3.7GHz with a 1.47 voltage! Hot damn!
     
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    1.47 :p
     
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Technically there is more overclocking headroom with DDR3 with less voltage, but moderate OCs like 4.0-4.5ghz would do more than fine sticking with DDR2.
     
  16. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Thats a great overclock! I can't to see what the quads can do!
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,388 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    aint that the truth, you buy higher clocked ram so you're not technically overclocking it, just the CPU.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  18. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Always low end with you :laugh:

    Get the 940, it's cheap. I could buy 3 of them.
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,388 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    well depending on certain stuff the BE/FX is my choice.
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,175 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    great overclock , and there is not too much difference with phenom2 x4
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,388 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    well to say this not everyone can afford the CPU you have in your sig let alone a Q9770, Intels ive noticed tend to stay higher in price.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page