1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 940 Tested at Stock Speeds

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,260 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    BreakTheLimt.net, a Malaysian hardware portal tested the Phenom II X4 940 at its stock speed of 3.00 GHz, and posted a sting of benchmark results of the said chip. It was tested on a platform consisting of a MSI DKA790GX Platinum motherboard, with 2 GB of DDR2 1066 MHz memory and a ASUS Radeon HD 4870 TOP graphics card. All components were set to run at stock speeds. The chip was put through Super Pi 1M and 32M, Cinebench R10, PiFast Multithreaded, WPrime 1.5, Aquamark and 3DMark06.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: BreakTheLimit.net
    Emanuel1788, Urbklr, xfire and 6 others say thanks.
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,489
    I'm feeling this Phenom II. Welcome back AMD! Some of us never lost the faith!
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,260 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to cdawall for sending this in.
  4. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    wooooooooooooooo
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,246 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Oh crumbs, those results are poor. My Q6600 in my DDR1 AGP system pulls better scores at 2.7GHz. At least AMD is offereing a competitive "second tier" CPU. Let's hope pricing and power/heat make this things very competitive. But ULTIMATE machines need to be built on Intel.

    Sadly, with Nehalem, and i7, AMD are in big big trouble.
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    alot better than what ive seen in the past with amd..now if these chips clock..watch out core i7 theres a new sherriff in town
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    :roll::roll::roll::roll:
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Fixed. :D
  9. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well, at least they managed to equal Conroe's performance(on Super PI)...
  10. trabanom New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont get it. If you go to http://www.yougamers.com/hardware/stats/3dmark06/7days/ you will see Q6600 have done 8161. Phenom II X4 did 15457, 47% more with only 20% more clock. Something is not right with you score.
  11. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Yeah and if you look better you'll see that the Q9550 which is suposed to be faster than the Q6600 does 3040!!

    :roll:

    You realize that those charts are representing the number of participants that have that specific model right??
  12. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Nice. They was pretty cool that they tested it with the same board i just purchased. :rockout:

    This just made my stupid day better. :)
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    My E6750 does a better job of SuperPi @ 3GHz than this does...thats shocking. :nutkick:
    Binge says thanks.
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Meh, AMD processors never have really been able to calculate out to 1,000,000 digits of pi very quickly, I presume they over there just don't deem that important. :wtf: I know people say that test is optimized for intel, but I would like specifics on which instruction set intel is using that allows them to calculate that so well, cause I don't buy it.

    At any rate, these come in around $200 and that's win. Much higher and it's just more of the same (amd coming several months late to the party and offering no compelling reason to choose them over intel).
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    these are set to cost more than $200ish
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I know, but you never know, things can change, and hopefully AMD won't simply attempt to operate under the assumption that people will buy it b/c it's AMD (although that would be partially correct) and if these are accurate numbers they will price it accordingly (not just to match intel, but to beat them, badly).
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,653 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    since gaming is a better result group than sp1m here is a Q6600@3.22ghz

    [​IMG]

    score is w/i a couple 100pts of the phenom running 220mhz slower with shit as far as the ram goes


    [​IMG]

    here is one @ 3ghz notice how it scores less
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    ^^ The cpu score on said bench is roughly the same at the same speeds (within 100 points). Note that the q6600 is now less than $200 and 2 years old. So, if this is a worthwhile bench, then I guess perhaps the 940 should be much less than $200, I'm not so sure gaming is that good of a bench for cpu's these days though. We need some new stuff.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,653 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    i figured that would make more sense bench wise than SP which AMD has always done poorly on.


    best would be cinebench haven't found the benchies i want for that though
  20. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah it is a bit better, I'm just curious as to why AMD always does poorly on that test. Truly test bias, or truly slower architecture? Perhaps a combination of both. Cine is good, somebody did winrar in another thread I think which I though would be a real good "real-world" bench. Sandra was among the first i7 benches and a very effective bench that doesn't seem to be used very often for some reason despite it's power and validity.
  21. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Why they are running SuperPi on a multicore system!?!? Last I knew, SuperPi was not multithreaded... so the extra cores do very little to lower the time. To lower the time in the SuperPi test, you need to raise the speed of the CPU. There is one test you can do with SuperPi to show off the benefit of 4 cores... kick off 4 SuperPi's at the same time and do the same on a single or dual core system. The quad system should finish all 4 tests far sooner then the single or dual core systems.

    Oh... and just as I question running SuperPi on this system, what is up with Aquamark? That is one OLD test and I doubt it is multi-threaded???
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,653 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    its not multithreaded either but does show a true similarity between the P2 and C2Q
  23. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Not bad but 1.352v for 3ghz.:eek:
  24. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Wow I didn't even realize that. What's going on here, can we get some 9950 comparisons? Did they just up the voltage and clock speed a bit, create more headroom and slap a new sticker on it? How is this even that much better than Phenom I?
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    How about we just wait for some real world benchmarks, perhaps? TRT740, myself and ascstinger will all have 945 BE ES chips within the week, and then we'll see.

    You can keep that vision, it just needs to be against the penryn and not i7. i7 is on another level, performance wise and PRICE wise.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
    Rebo&Zooty, Evo85 and Cold Storm say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page