1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 940 Tested at Stock Speeds

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Now I know why all those other bench marks floating around here on TPU had a black bar going across the voltage on CPU-z.
    I'm not going to BS anyone I've always been an intel fan but was actually considering the possibility of making a jump to AMD. Still may if prices are really good.
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ah yes that's what we need some TPU benching. Can I put in an early request for some Sandra tests?

    I've been getting excited by the hype wanting prices to come down in a nice CPU war, but these look incredibly lackluster. Barely matching a 2 year old proc at a projected $275 while using more voltage? No thanks. We shall see though, there is still hope.
  3. insider Guest

    That is very poor and embarassing for AMD, my Q6600 @3GHz could manage 12K+ in cinebench with ease.
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    without a doubt. I just hate all of the fanboy slamming even before release. Just drives me nuts.
  5. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Looking forward to a proper review.:toast:
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Sorry I'm not trying to make it fanboyish if your referring to my comments, this just seems quite disappointing, I have visions of competition dancing in my head.....
  7. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I wasn't trying to slam anything, if thats what you were referring to.:shadedshu
  8. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I second that!! :toast:
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Guys, these take voltage better than Intel chips. 1.3v is like 1.2v on an Intel CPU.
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    No, not you specifically. :).
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I can handle penryn like performance, so long as it beats penryn prices (by a healthy margin preferably). I can't get excited about something that does what someone else already did several months ago, a year ago, 2 years ago, for the same price. If these are projected to come in at $270 or so and like these benches say only perform on par w/ a q6600, that's just disappointing. But, I will hold out until you guys get your hands on them and we get some more in depth reviews, perhaps a surprise awaits. Not like I'm buying anything this month anyway. :laugh:
  12. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    [​IMG]

    They both don't look so good when put against this E8400 of mine on this shitty DFI board that likes to die.
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    What do you expect from Phenom II I don`t know. Q6600 was beating Phenom I all day long now we have Phenom II that has no design improvements only larger L3 cache and we all know how much AMD processors benefit from larger cache ZERO.
    Intel could do nothing after Q6600 and still be in front of AMD. They could just make 45nm Q6600 and that is what it take to master Phenom II.
    That is just pitifull.
    I don`t know what AMD are thinking.
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,755 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,528 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    508
    Location:
    Australia
    Just proves to show that Quad cores are not any good for this test!!

    We need something that is multi threaded that can utilize all four cores, then we might see how a quad core is meant to run.
  16. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Votage leak is nominal on the CPU, so all the voltage is actually going to work rather than keeping the current high enough in the core to do the work. So higher voltage is not what it used to be with this CPU.


    One last thought, remember the 48XX cards and how they were setup before the launch? It is very possible all extrenal engineering samples are not what the final product will be.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  17. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,208 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    You're like comparing apple juice to lemon juice in terms of acidity: P II voltage is very different the Intel / previous AMD procs.

    I'm thinking less, even. IIRC, there were reported load temps of less then 50º with 1.5+ Vcore.

    Did the reviewers make temps screenies?

    This is why temps on P II are better then Intel / older AMD procs.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    AMD has always run @ higher volts than intel? :confused:
  19. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,208 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Encode a movie: aren't encoding progs multi threaded?

    Using the same settings, encode any movie with both procs @ same speed and check the result.
  20. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    retail?

    Seriously if ths chip is going to sell at a 200$ mark then its a winner in any case, but on the real world side... i doubt it will be that cheap, FGS the 9950's are selling at 200$ price point...


    Im expecting low 250$...

    And a suggestion for Pauleig... when you get the chip, you can also do a OC test on a 790FX/SB600 board just to see how it fares compared to 790GX/SB750 boards...
    Would be nice to see if we people of the SB600 group really need to change to GX's or not...
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,528 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    508
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't know what you are thinking, but far as i know AMD did a list of improvements on this new Phenom apart from just cashe sizes, i remember looking back in some old threads and seeing a list of about 10 different improvements, i cant remember what but there was a fare few. And to get over 6GHz is Phenomenal, so i think they have done a bit more improvements then the previous Phenom some how, which never really got past 3.4Ghz.
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    If someone loans me one, I'd be happy to. From what I hear about SB600 is that it can work. There is a guy at [H] with a chip like I'm getting, and I believe it posts about half the time.
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The Phenom II's have ACC built in. The reason SB600 sucked at OC'ing is because it was missing ACC and a few other features than are built into the PII's.
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,755 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    I use Any video converter to encode my movies... there you can select 0-8 cores for encoding... if its selected 0-8 before the encode is started say 4 for AMD its wicked fast... id love to see it in action with the I7 and set the encode cores to 8 :toast:
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,755 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page