1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 940 Tested at Stock Speeds

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,552 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Umm i think so, i just did the other day a movie that was a AVI file and transcoded to all VOB files, and it was using all four cores for this, and i was surprised it could utilize all four cores been such a old program. Shame i don't have a Q6600 to test along side the 9950 BE that i have at the moment. All i can say is that it did the movie a good 35% faster then my FX-57 and was only using 30% of all the CPU's

    SO yea that's what we need same set up and a program that utilizes all four cores and at the same clock speed, i agree with you there ;)
  2. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Voltage is voltage. The only difference between intel and amd is in how its used and which architecture is using it more efficiently, and efficiency is what I'm looking at. So if it takes more voltage to operate at 3ghz then it's not more efficent than a processor running at the same speed with less voltage. Temp means nothing when it comes to this as architecture plays a big part. Good example more transistors more resistance= more heat.
  3. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    The test can be done, with regards to i7, with and without HT.

    As long as the speed is the same and the encoding settings are as well, it should give us a more accurate picture of how good / bad a P II is VS i7.
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    ACC blah blah.... i had the 600sb mobo and went up to the 750sb mobo... ACC is so mis-understood... i can only get this cpu to run the same clocks as the 600sb system with ACC off... if i wana bump the cpu volt to 1.62v and set ACC to +4 than yeah it works but not very stable.... all i know is i should have saved my money rather than buying this new mobo and went for the I7 setup..:shadedshu
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    well if someone wants to post a link to download a video to convert id be glad to run it against the I7 @ 3.01GHz just to see how quick the I7 is.... thats a true test imo cpu against cpu

    This might settle some ppl down lol
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    about $ 95 dollars to much :roll:
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I don't think that's right tho. My guess is it will be 250$ at the most. I don't think AMD could afford to have it at 300$...
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    do this x264 HD benchmark

    http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=520
  10. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    295$ is a bit too much for my taste... i could live with 250$ (and thats if i succeed in selling my 9950 for at least 170-190$ since its still under warranty)... but 295$, hmmmm

    920 is supposed to have locked multi?

    +1 :toast:
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yes, and about right. The lower prices you guys are seeing is for quantity orders. 940 retail prices will be $275-$300 at launch. Which considering that performance is most likely sandwiched in between the Q9550 and Q9650, it's a good value, as I believe newegg still has the Q9550 at $319.
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    I agree with ya there SF.... since its pre order it's likely a deposit that they'll give back as credit when the price has been finalized
  13. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    ^ Let us just hope youre right...

    P.S. just tested my stock 9950, and its 20-ish % slower in 32M SP in relation to 940 from #1 post...
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You really have to consider the performance to price point. Please read my post above. I don't want to rain on anyone's parade here, but please remember that the 9950 was close to $270 at launch, wasn't it?
    miloshs says thanks.
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,552 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    gezzz that's a good price :p cost me $314 for a 9950 BE just a week or so ago :shadedshu

    I hate to think how much it will be here then =/
  17. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    true plus since is not in everyones hands wait until that happens
  18. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    I get what youre saying, no problem with that... im just claiming that its too much for me to buy it right as it starts selling :D...

    The problem is if i see a CPU that retails at 300$ in the US... i have great odds that it will be close to 300 euro here... so thats a bit too much :twitch:
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    so i got it to run but what exactly do i click on to run the test?
    miloshs says thanks.
  20. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I just got it to run had to extract the files to a separate folder then open the folder and click on the benchmark link. Dos box will open asking you to type in a name for that run. do so then click enter. It will make 4 runs with 2 passes each then it will ask you if you want to run the newer version I pressed Y for yes and it ran it again, after it finishes just hit enter then it will open up a page with your results.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  21. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    LOL, ownage :nutkick:

    Dont give up mate :rockout:
  22. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Oh no, my scores are right. My old AGP system puts this new Phenom2 to shame:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=57401

    My Q6600 at 2.7 is faster than Phenom2 at 3.0 in SuperPI and in CínebenchR10.

    The Q6600 at 2.7 is a bit slower in 3Dmark06 CPU score, BUT clock4clock it is marginally faster.

    I was really expecting more from AMD. This thing is going to have to be priced cheap, or be extremely low power consumption, otherwise, there is no reason to go with it.
  23. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,552 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    This test has never been AMD's strong point, never ever has, its like putting a intel up against AMD in the memory test, AMD will always win, so i cant see this benchmark much to go on.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's not how it works. Besides, these haven't been out nearly long enough to determin what kind of voltages they can handle reliably. Generally, when you are on the same basic architecture, die shrinks reduce a chips ability to take voltage.

    But you are forgetting that this includes an IMC, whereas the normal Core 2's don't. If you want to compqare voltage differences, you have to compare it to i7.
  25. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    question?

    Does super pi prove speed differences?

    if yes then I dont like where they are headed.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page