1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 965 on AM3+ mobo: upgrade?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Horrux, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Slight delay on the benching, m8s wanted to game sorry, after xmas ;)
     
  2. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    No Problem. Happy Gaming, and Merry Christmas :)
     
  3. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Looking forward to your results, happy holidays! :)
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/announcement.php?f=6

    Read under posting in a thread

    basically im saying having multiple posts in a row like was done earlier, just change it using the multi quote, or combine them into 1 post (3 posted in a row).


    :toast:
     
  5. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    I say grab an 8320. The thing is a steal at that price point. Piledriver is the first time in years when customizing PC's for any of my friends I've recommended AMD. I won't point fingers, but there are many userson TPU who swear that 5+ year old CPU's won't bottleneck even most modern GPU's, but in my experience they do a lot more than people are willing to admit. Going from an HD4870 to an HD5850 when I had my Q6600 yielded almost no benefit in terms of performance, but going from a Q6600 to a i5-2500k was a massive improvement. In some games I was getting essentially double the frame rates...
     
  6. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Interesting, because I get the feeling that the 965 is creating more hiccups than there should be in games... Hm...
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    In defense, I did say that he should test this before upgrading. If you don't know that the CPU is your main bottleneck then you should confirm that it is before replacing your CPU. Also reviews have been done that clearly show that at higher resolution the speed of the CPU is less and less important. Not to say that it runs so lean you don't need to upgrade, but it is worth considering if games are running pretty good.

    I would do some CPU/GPU logging to see if your CPU is really getting maxed out or not, but you know it might not be that clear cut. I upgraded my Phenom II 940 not because the cores were too slow, but rather the memory bandwidth was too low and that my CPU was being starved. Granted that was also using DDR2-800.
     
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey guys, im starting to get some results for you to see what difference a 8350 over a 965 would be in gaming and so far the 8350 is giving me increases. Only problem is im having issues with the CPU so results might be not clear cut yet and will be delayed even longer.

    Anyway ill give you a very short insite from what i have found so far.

    AVP benchamrk gave me no increase in perforamnce it was the same result of an Average of 140FPS

    Lost Planet 2 gave me an increase of about 15FPS on average

    and Metro 2033 gave me the biggest increase from a average of 37FPS average with the 965 at 1080P up to 63.33FPS with the 8350 at the same settings.

    Metro 2033 at 1366*768 965 average was 54.33FPS and the 8350 was 77.33FPS

    So far if i was you id go with the 8350, more proper results will follow once i get this issues sorted

    cheers
     
  9. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Impressive, big imporvements. Hopefully it puts all the Piledriver bashing to bed.
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep over all the games so far there is an increase, and a 8-9k increase in Vantage.

    Resident Evil 5 an increase of 60FPS on Average :O
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  11. JTCPingas09

    JTCPingas09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    I upgraded from an AMD Phenom II X4 970 to an FX-8350, and I have no regrets. :)
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    ok FYI AMD FX1 (BullDozer) Didnt offer enough of a performance difference from Phenom II (PHII wound up faster) That has changed since FX2 (Piledriver) However the Architecture for PD requires higher clocks (How P3 vs P4 was in the day), More users are satisfied with the performance of the Piledriver.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page