1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 965

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by boomstik360, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
  2. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i will pass on that
    i don't think that's a Black Edition CPU
    the 975 will be the BE
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    AT this point, with a 17x multi, I don't think it will matter much. The chip will reach it's limits long before a decent clocking board does. Hell, a board that can only do 250HT will net you 4250Mhz.
     
  4. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    +1 on that
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    shooting an email out now to see if i can get myself one
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    How will it compare to the people who have friends that work at walmart or bestbuy? (129$ i7s) xD

    Another chip that resemble's the 940... the 955 was still ok because it's still a bit new with the ddr3... but the 965? idk... they better price it at the price that 955 is atm...

    btw, I'm no intel fanboy xD
     
  7. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    You make no sense n-ster
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    perhaps... I am currently having an extremely annoying allergy attack lol... sneezing like crazy, migraine, throat hurts/ itches...

    What I meant I think is that buying the 940 if you have a am2+ board if much smarter than to go 955 or 965... I mean, the performance you gain from 955 is not much over the 940..... I'm guessing the same for 965... If you have AM3, then 720BE :rockout: even if you have am2+ actually...

    EDIT: ACHOOOOOOOOO
     
  9. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    ......
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    All I know is I want one lol If they don't announce any X6 stuff soon I'm just gonna blow my savings on which ever is the highest end CPU when the HD 5800's get launched!
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    No point in x6, most games only use 2 cores, with a few using 4, I wonder if 6 would be another wall?
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    More cores = More cache :D
     
  13. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Looks like a nice CPU. I'll stick with my 720be for a long time though not much need for anything else.
     
  14. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    wait what?
    what does a 940 have to do with this?
     
  15. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    834 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    I like the fact that model numbers are the same as on Core I7 xD Brain blowing!
    Anyway, i hope this would even more tilt market share towards AMD/ATI.
     
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    This is going to be interesting, i wonder if this will sell well? like i mean back in the days of the P4 every body thought "high clock speeds meant it was a faster CPU", i wonder if this will be the same thing, but now its AMD's turn to do what intel did back in the P4 days lol Seemed to work for them?
     
  17. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Its a little bit different. The P4s and the Pentium Ds were blatantly slower than the Athlon and Athlon X2s so Intel were forced to raise the clock. Whereas with the Phenom II X2, X3s and X4s tjey are already competing with the Core 2/Quad for performance so AMD clocking up the CPUs is slightly different from Intel's scenario.

    Now if AMD are still upping the clocks on their new 6-core CPU (whenever that is released) to keep up with the i7, then I'll agree they are doing "what Intel did back in the p4 days" but until then its a different situation.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  18. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea i agree with you there Darren, i should of said stated the i7 more so. I sorta meant for the average Joe, every man and his dog wouldn't have a clue that this CPU is the same performance as this CPU they just see it that...O that CPU has a faster clock speed it must be faster? Thats all they see it as. For the average Joe they would see a i7 @2.66GHz and this other computer that has a Phenom @3.2GHz there just going to think since its a bigger number it must be faster? It still even happens today as i found out a few months ago lol

    But for people that know about CPU's like us on this forum well we know better ;) lol
     
    Darren says thanks.
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I think what I was trying to point out that IMO, upgrading with an am2+ board, the best quad to buy would be a 940... because the performance gain is small between 955 and 940, so it will probably be the same situation with the 965! If you have an am3 board, chances are you don't need to upgrade

    btw, I have a quick question... is the PII architecture better than the Core 2 Quads'?
     
  20. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    How real is that, i want to go AMD for a while, and was looking hard at the 965..... so i need to keep one eye open...

    if not i;m getting me one of them, looks like a good start for a AMD system.

    :rockout:
     
  21. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    a friend of mine stated that his athlon 64 4400+ was better than my old e2180 since it had an higher number :roll:
     
  22. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    For the quads its very hard to find an fair test with both the AMD and Intel clocked at the same level with same memory, video card etc, but I'd say they are about the same. I can remember in January when one of the Deneb's first reviews got released they had a Q6600 and Phenom 920 or 940 overclocked to the same clock speed and the Q6600 lost the majority. Not sure how credible the review was though.

    With the dual cores, the Phenom II X2 550 and E8400 both run at about 3 GHz and are dual cores about perform about the same across the board. i.e. performance stays within a few frames or seconds apart depending on the benchmark. A few review sites favour the 550 overall and a few review sites favour the E8400.

    Edit:


    Was it X2? they'll probably be around the same speed.

    Edit 2:


    Indeed, but overclocking is a different can of worms and the X2s could reach 3 GHz too. Although I must admit the E2180 would be able to achieve the overclock with less effort.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  23. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    yep, X2, but apart from the fact that i run the 2180 at 3GHz, the point is that people really thinks higher number is better, even if its AMD vs Intel
     
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    :laugh: See it still happens. I had to convince this guy at work that my FX-57 is faster then his 3.0GHz P4 but before that i had to tell him that a X2 5200 would kill a 3.0GHz P4, this took a few days lol
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    What about people that do things other than gaming?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page