1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 970 BE 3.50 GHz

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Omega, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    meh....but why AMD :shadedshu

    but good review :toast:
     
  3. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    good that it displaces old models from their pricepoints, but 3.6ghz would have been better to see.
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if they really wanted something nice then 4ghz, from 3.4 to 3.5 is just M-E-H
     
  5. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    bleh .. should have been 975 @ 125. Do you guys have a 95w 955 yet?? i was looking forward to that too and i think it would have been great too bad its like... 4 months late tho. I hope u review that good review tho thanx

    yeah should have started out at 3.8 or so, but its a good treat for those JUST buying or those who always buy at the end of a GEN and i know ppl like that. I dont see much more from this, but obviously not worth the upgrade. This should have been like to OEM only or vendors only i duno. oddball chip
     
  6. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    What I'd like to see is a bump in Northbridge speed, as it's been reported that it increases performance in many cases, especially in applications that are not optimized for many cores.
    Had this CPU been 3.5 GHz CPU freq / 2.2 GHz Northbridge freq, it would've been an ever better CPU performance-wise and it would've been more competitive with Intel's offerings.

    This way, I'll have to agree with "meh"
     
  7. MrMilli

    MrMilli

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    216 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Comparing to the i5 750 seems a bit useless to me since that CPU has been replaced by the i5 760.
     
  8. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Good review :toast: ....

    (I can hold on to my C2Q system a liitle longer I guess ;) )
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Looks like the 6-core 1055t is lagging behind... wtf?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    IMO this CPU isnt worth it. A 6-core would be around the same price range with better OCing ability. This release of this older CPU was kinda a waist and should have focused more of bulldozer
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,740
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Not bad, but i would spend the extra cash and get a 1055T... I want bulldozer now please!... hehehe

    Edit: Or get a 1075T Black and Great Review!
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Don't have the i5 760 at hand, sorry :)
     
  13. Major_A

    Major_A

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Have you looked at LAMEXP? It's GUI audio encoder that is core aware. If you have 2 cores it will use 2 cores. If you have 12 threads it will use 12 threads. You can also specify to use only one core/thread if you want to test CPUs.

    http://mulder.dummwiedeutsch.de/home/?page=projects#lamexp
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Good review, and the 760's performance isn't that much different than the 750, so it isn't a big deal that it isn't included.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. demonkevy666 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    970 BE can't be 258 mm², because it's a thuban chip with disabled cores
    it should be 346 mm²
    aslo should have included Nb overclock as E0 do better on NB then C2 & C3 chips.
     
  16. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    What? :confused:
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I guess you didn't read the review...cpu-z shows this is a C3 chip. Makes your request of NB clocking un-necessary.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Why read when there are all those fancy colored pictures about.:laugh:

    Wait, the pictures tell you this information too...:banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Nice review Omega...

    Actually a nice chip too..just seems a little late to be out
     
  20. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Great review, pretty much slots right in where you would expect it to.

    Too bad they didn't stick with their old numbering scheme (ends in 0 = AM2+ no DDR3 e.g. 920, 940, ends in 5 = AM3 DDR3 e.g. 945, 965) but I guess they already broke it with the 1090T anyway.
     
  21. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    glad to see my 965 was a great investment
     
  22. xtremesv

    xtremesv

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    115 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Then I have a Phenom X4 975 BE (undervolt a little bit btw) :roll:

    I'm very happy with it
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Awesome review and a nice speed bump for AMD to offer. I cant wait to see more Hexacores come out personally.
     
  24. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    1.47 volts for a 3.9ghz wth
     
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    yea that last jump always takes volt 3.8 - 1.425 4ghz = 1.525 volt jump is crazy on PII when it comes to eeking out that last bit of performance
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page