1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 at 6.30 GHz, Runs 3DMark-Stable

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    AMD finally seems to have put a realistic assessment of its processors, with its claims of the Phenom II X4 having "massive headroom" with its overclocking potential being validated once again, this time by Team Finland, at a CES overclocking event. Team Finland was able to overclock a Phenom II X4 940 processor at its highest stable clock speed of 6.30 GHz using extreme cooling. Earlier attempts to overclock the chip beyond the 6 GHz mark only yielded in test-beds that were able to POST, boot and display the clock speed using CPU-Z. This attempt however, was a benchmark-stable overclocking feat.

    The bench consisted of a Phenom II X4 engineering sample, DFI LANParty Dark 790FXB-M2RS, OCZ DDR2-1066 memory, two Radeon HD 4870 X2 graphics cards in CrossfireX and Windows XP. The CPU cooling employed was liquid helium, which dropped the temperature to -242 degrees Celsius. To achieve a clock speed of 6.30 GHz, the processor's vCore was set at 1.84V, its bus speed at 280 MHz and a multiplier of 22.5 was set. The HyperTransport frequency multiplier was set at 8. The Radeon HD 4870 X2 accelerators were set at 800 MHz (core) and 950 MHz (memory). The machine was put through 3DMark05, where it ended with a world-record score of 45,474.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Plaza.fl
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
    Evo85, Ahhzz, xfire and 7 others say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    The CPU clock speed as read by 3DMark and CPU-Z are at disparity, count the CPU-Z reading.
  3. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Yep... Yay for AMD! woot!!

    thats unbelievable ... AMD has finally made some good CPU's. I wonder how much bigger improvements when the PII are on DDR3

    1.84vcore aswell... Thats pretty good, werent the i7's around ~1.8v at only 6? <3<3<3<3<3

    *edit* erm 5.1ghz around 1.7v for the i7's
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2009
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Very nice, can't wait too get my Phenom II.
  5. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    go AMD :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout: :rockout:
  6. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    erm... what AMD used was 3DMark05... and the i7's OC users used Vantage for their 40k...

    correct me if im wrong but isnt vantage score higher than mark05?
  7. faky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    impressive!
    wtf why didnt they take vantage :banghead:
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    This feat isn't related to the Core i7 feat. It is to show that Phenom II X4 is bench-stable at 6.30 GHz, though I would've liked to see more benchmarks being run.
  9. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Word

    Ive been an AMD fan for years, when AMD had their *downhill* performance on their cpu's past couple years, i was disappointment :shadedshu but I am very happy to see that now AMD can push their CPU's up that far...

    AMD FTW! :rockout:

    And yes, more tests we gotta see! I am looking forward what will be next
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nice impressive score. Lets go to 05 and Vantage now. And kudos for using Liquid Helium :D
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Why didn't they push the 4870's a bit further.
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    INSANE!, Awesome!!!
  13. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i assume to put less stress on the system. the power draw from 2 HD 4870X2 cards is quite big and its prolly even bigger when overclocked. I would think that they would've attained slightly better results with a single low end card. It actually be nice to see two different tests: the one they did with 2 HD 4870X2s going for the world record and one with a lets say an HD 4670 which would possinly allow them to lessen the power draw and push the Phenom further.
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    get a nvidia mobo and run with GTX295's :D

    crosshair II formula or foxconn destroyer would be good
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Neither support ACC required by AM2+ Denebs to reach those speeds.
    Jakl says thanks.
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Interesting, i thought they did have ACC just like ATI chipset boards. Hopefully nvidia will fix this in the next revision.
  17. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Did not know that... Interesting... Hopefully nVidia will fix that later on
  18. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    they didn't test the CPU or what? ..... if they didn't then it's a big joke.... they didn't stress the CPU!!!:eek:!!! .... :laugh: and why 3dmark2005

    [​IMG]

    stable :roll:stable :roll:

    Attached Files:

  19. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    could if be possible that mark05 doesnt know the new AMD PII due to it hasnt been updated?
  20. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    ya and the resolution they used, 1024x768 :twitch:
  21. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
  22. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    what did they select??? the CPU test??? see this
    [​IMG]

    only two tests they had selected...

    Attached Files:

  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,321
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yep definatly but I suppose it somewhat depends really which "better" you mean, I think it's pretty much general knowledge already that the P2 across the board cannot match an i7 or even a high end Yorkfield but in some things it can match the competition, with at least decent overclocking options with this chip, what you actually have is a decent performing AMD platform that can at least compete in some area's, the platform price for this will be good seeing as some decent supporting motherboards whether it be AM2+ or shortly AM3 will be as little as half the price of top end x58 boards.....all in all AMD is at least back in the real "bang for buck" game and thats a start many of us have been waiting for.
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2009
    Nick89 says thanks.
  24. moto666 Guest

    With the right price and so much overclocking headroom it will bee a definitely HUGE MARKET HIT!!! :rockout:
    Same as the HD4000 Series!
  25. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    i really want to 3dmark 06 and vantage benches of PII and i7 compared

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page