1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 at 6.30 GHz, Runs 3DMark-Stable

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    considering i have used a 7750BE, 6400BE, 5000BE, e1200, e4300 and several other chips the e1200 easily ran as good as the AX2's in everything. of course my fav chip to use this far was a phenom 9500+ and there was no comparing that to any dual core
     
  2. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    yo fellas, stay on topic...
     
  3. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    While the i7 is faster, this doesn't prove it though.

    They are using very different gpus and 3dmark05 would be massively cpu limited hitting the overall 3dmark score. What would have been a proper indication is the cpu score on 3dmark05 vs a 3dmark05 i7 cpu score.
     
  4. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    i7 is better just because of the QPI. The Phenom has nearly 1/2 the bandwidth (1800-2000MHz HT FSB) if these processors were put on full load. If AMD upgraded the HyperTransport with the future 3.1, which is what many enthusiasts are right now yelling in AMD's ear for, AMD should be fairly close to the performance of the i7 on full load clock-for-clock.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
    AsphyxiA says thanks.
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,597 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    You dont have to put tri channel in an i7, it is quite happy taking dual channel.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    that 1800-2000 is double pumped for 3.6-4gb/s


    and even at full load you will not max out the QPI or HT on these chips this was easily proven several times when it was turned down and caused NO EFFECT
     
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I really hope we don't go back into the i7 is just better conversation, or I may just stick a red hot poker in my eye. This is well established. i7 is just faster, and a whole bunch more expensive (when comparing good boards to good boards). Let's really try hard to stay on topic here.
     
  8. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Paulieg, the IFB's and ppl who dont care about price will alwase be "i7 is the best, c2q is 2nd best, amd sucks" thats what u see over at Hard for example.
     
  9. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    AMD sucks? You should stop over-exaggerating your replies more often.

    True that AMD can no longer compete with Intel's arsenal right now, but AMD doesn't really care about the word "competition" anymore, they just care about what the consumers need most, not enthusiasts. Sure, AMD kinda over-hyped us a bit when Phenom came out with nil overclocking, but so did Intel who decides to force people to upgrade their way to CPUs, mobo by mobo, which is insanely inconvenient for new builders who don't wanna keep on building. Sure, Intel rocks most of the time now that they've set the gap, but AMD is still good enough for gaming and multi-tasking as well as not screwing us over with incompatibility issues and overpriced processors with unlocked multipliers :laugh:.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,371 (10.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,703
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did you read what Paulie just said? Back to topic.
     
    PCpraiser100 says thanks.
  11. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Sure thing, anyway I am pretty excited that Phenom now has insane overclocking capabilities. Especially if it can run 3DMark pretty stable. However if this 125W Phenom can hit that high, does anyone think it can crack 7GHz?

    That's a lucky number!
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,398 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,409
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It really shouldn't be considered a 125w model. Considering it only takes 93 watts at 100% load, where as a 9850 takes 135w.

    I am just impressed though that they benchmarked over 6Ghz. People can always boot and get a CPU-Z higher than stable benching. And with AMD Overdrive I could easily see 7Ghz CPU-Z verify real quick then tone it back down. My bet is it will happen.
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,190 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice score but it must good benches there like super pi
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,597 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I would personally prefer to see some benches from say PC Mark, AMD has always been strong on floating point calculations and PC Mark is a more "rounded" bench, I actually think the P2 may do well in it. Being a retired overclocker now, i really do wish that all CPU's and motherboards were locked so none of them could overclock, it can get a bit tiresome when people compare stock speed performance and then go off on a "but this one overclocks better than that one blah blah" As I said earlier, from a total platform cost the p2 would simply be excellent performance for the $ from what I have seen and we should all be grateful it;s here, if only to squeeze Intel just a little!
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,199 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    if it was possible, id take one of their opterons (Am2+/AM3) and unlock it to become a BE/FX and see how far i can push it vs the Desktop parts
     
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Totally missed this news here.. Go Finland! :) Hope you all checked the source link, there are some funky helium mist filled pictures.

    http://plaza.fi/muropaketti/3dmark05n-maailmanennatys-suomeen
    I'll translate the picture texts just in case if you are interested:

    • Copper CPU bowl was first cooled by liquid nitrogen to -190C
    • After this the liquid nitrogen was removed and replaced with input hose from liquid helium container
    • Bottom of the bowl reached -242 degrees with liquid helium
    • Phenom II X4 -processor was working @ 6.3GHz in the tests
    • Team Finland from left to right: Sami ”macci” Mäkinen, Petri ”SF3D” Korhonen, Sampsa Kurri
     
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    heheheh, yeah must be super duper stable, they know all this without running the cpu test hahahaah.
     
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    seems like a bit of a farce to me, im still not convinced that PII will beat i7 :ohwell:
     
  19. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    very nice! glad to see this :toast:
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Ughhh. Of course it won't. Please read my post above. :banghead::banghead:
     
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    The WPrime benchmark is the way of the future. ;) Super-Pi is so... "single-core centric." :laugh:
     
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,371 (10.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,703
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Then use Hyper-Pi (multi-threaded SuperPi).
     
  23. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Either that or WPrime, aye. :D
     
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,597 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    For total system performance which focuses on CPU speed, memory read and write latence plus HDD access times, the good old Sceincemark is still hard to beat, the downside is that it only uses 2 cores max I think.
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,041 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    burn it with fire. :laugh:
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page