1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 Overclocks to 6.00 GHz on LN2

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    During an event by AMD held at its facility in Austin, Texas, the engineers took an engineering sample of the unreleased Deneb core based Phenom II X4, installed a copper-pot for liquid nitrogen cooling, and dropped the operational temperature to -185 °C. They then jacked up the vCore to 1.90V, to facilitate a clock speed of over 6.00 GHz!

    At this point the exact frequency isn't known. Cameras weren't allowed at the event, and so no clear pictures were taken. Earlier the company had released slides to its channel contacts, telling that Phenom II would overclock very well, and 24x7 overclocks beyond 3.60 GHz on air didn't sound unreal. At the same event, AMD showcased Deneb chips doing 4.00 GHz with air-cooling (with vCore set at 1.6V).

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Sources: NordicHardware, Legit Reviews
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2008
  2. wolf2009 Guest

    awesome news, lets see how fast they are than intel quad cores .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 21, 2008
  3. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I wonder what it will do at low power, say 1.25V, then i can run it on solar lol
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Isn't this the record for multi cores? I know this isn't really official as there is no validation but if there was wouldn't it be?
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the thing is though, core i7 can clock around there too, and it can beat a phenom clock to clock. but this is a huge step for amd!
     
  6. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,244 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I just wanted to put the other discussion here: no point in saying the same thing in 2 different threads, no?

    Besides, it's much easier to search in "News" section then in "Overclocking & Cooling".

    EDIT

    Are you referring to Phenom II? Where did you see benches of this?
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  7. wolf2009 Guest

    amd doesn't need to be faster than Core i7

    Core i7 is not going to have a market share of more than 2% until Q3 2009 when Intel starts shipping p55/Lynnfield.

    AMD P-II only needs to be faster than Intel Quad Penryns . Thats where the mainstream lies and that is where most money will be made from OEM's.

    I suggest reading this



    Nehalem Part 3: The Cache Debate, LGA-1156 and the 32nm Future
     
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    wow.
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    IF AMD released a dual cpu board with DDR 3. I think it would out run a i7 machine.

    8 real cores, and memory controller on the cpu.....
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That was long-term plan. To resurrect the FX line using DSDC, and give out something similar to dual Athlon64 FX 74. Dual Windsors scaled terribly over DSDC, with even a Phenom 9500 walking all over it, so it remains to be seen if a dual Deneb matches an i7.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  11. Para_Franck

    Para_Franck

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    But why is the overclocking potential so important? just release a 4.0Ghz stock clock already, even if does not overclock much over stock....
    (Should I be asking this knowing that my X2 5600+ runs at 3.3Ghz)
     
  12. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    935
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah but then they Could charge you more for it and if not that, they would be losing money if they were to sell a 4.0Ghz CPU at the price of what they will soon sell to be 3.0Ghz one.
     
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    For the fun.

    It's hobby for a lot of people. Most people that do this as a hobby can't afford to go that extreme, but would if it was cheaper.:toast:

    ----

    Miss read your post. It's because Intel knows that AMD can not do it. They can sell all their chips at 3.0ghz now. If AMD released a chip that was clocked at 4.0Ghz, Intel would release one the very next day.

    It's all about the money.
     
  14. Noggrin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Nice, mb now amd will finally beat the old Q6600..:laugh:

    If its close to the 45nm intel quad-cores would be cool.. :toast:
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Thats called bragging rights just like all the camp jumpers do.

    But 6ghz :respect::rockout:

    Go AMD Go :rockout:
     
  16. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    Actually Intel can't do that either within reasonable power envelops.
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They(Intel) are fixing to release a dual cpu skulltrail x58 board;)

    That works with ddr3:toast:

    ____

    I'm losing it....be ___ the power usage. Intel could release a 4Ghz QX9650 today if they wanted to.

    Not everyone cares about being green:) Some only care about what can it do.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  18. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    well, a i7+mb+mem combo is around $1000, phenomII+mb+mem combo is around $480
    so i dont think amd aims to be the fastest, they are just doing HD 4870 again, if you cant beat them, be cheaper and have awesome performace for price
     
  19. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    That's nuts! Can't wait to see actual validation etc so that it's an official fastest clock, yes?
     
  20. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    It's a market thing...

    Veeeeeeeeeeeery nice!!! I pretty much understand this move..... Well we, enthusiasts, are not a big part of the computer market share..... Most of guys here disgrace a64 x2 and phenom because it got a poor overclock potential compared to Core 2 and we do that even knowing that on price/performance ratio AMD cpus (most of them), are neck to neck on most cases to Core 2.........
    So, to the normal computer user that won't overclock (more than 90% for sure) AMD or Intel are both as good as (When Intel was losing with NETbrust it choose investing in propaganda while AMD against Core 2 choose price/performance ratio to keep competitive). So which company I love most ? AMD! Which one I'm using ATM ? Intel...... You see, we can be 10% or less, but all these sites around are made by enthusiasts guys that says the same: AMD don't overclock: BAD..... intel overclocks: Good......... and people read it..... sum it up to we guys telling to our friends and paratens that don't understand about acomputers to buy Intel, almost only based on overclock potential.... I lost count on how much people already asked me to build a computer for them or that bought a computer/notebook based on my oppinion....... so I'm a overclocker and I'm not just one costumer, I'm much more than this because people buy their computer based on my oppinion of which one is the best now...... then my friend tells to a friend that tells to his friends and things keeps going...........................
    Get the point ? Overclockers, enthusiasts are a key consumer to AMD or Intel.....
     
    KBD says thanks.
  21. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Overclocked AM3 - errr, how?

    Ok, I so want to believe this - that AMD are back in the game with a competitive by performance and price product. Of course there is an issue with the motherboards - www.custompc.co.uk tested a load recently and the AM2 boards tended to blow up!

    And my socket 939 stuff is getting so old now...
     
  22. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Looks like Fusion is showing its fab.
     
  23. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    has anyone noticed AMD's performance on the stock markets?
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's going down.
     
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah so this looks pretty good, but thats what they said about the last Phenoms. They were far from Phenomenal.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page