1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 Overclocks to 6.00 GHz on LN2

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Is that a pun? XD

    I'm excited.
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Looks like the sales of big copper tubes will be going up :)
     
  3. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    They show an LN2 OCing potential but say it should clock well in air , is that always the case when a chip does decently on LN2?
     
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    ya, they showed 4Ghz on air
     
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It's all about the life of an enthusiast. Overclocking potential is king. :D
     
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i think intel is going to get a beating in the midrange ....
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Best time to buy a ton of it:toast:
     
  8. wolf2009 Guest

    absoly i agree
     
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    All these ghz clocks are meaningless w/o architecture efficiency, which we have no indication of as of yet. :( 6ghz on the same phenom clock for clock speed still isn't that good compared to i7. We had some indication of how nehalem would do clock for clock this long before launch, I wish they would show us the same here, cause raw ghz is meaningless these days unless comparing the exact same architecture to itself.
     
    Roph says thanks.
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Very good point. I'm not expecting the new phenom to beat i7 in architecture efficiency, but even if it were reasonably competitive would be great. Especially when "high end" AMD chips often fall in the price range of mid range Intel cpus. I can't wait to see the numbers. If it's even close to i7, I'll be moving to AMD.
     
  11. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    6GHz... architecture equality

    wonder what my SuperPi score would be if I could clock my Athlon XP2600+ up to that without setting fire to the house - wife would KILL me...

    and as for the ZX81...
     
  12. wolf2009 Guest

    you are forgetting that 9950 was almost equal to Q6600. and quad core penryns are not much faster.

    So if P-II is a little bit faster than P-I, then it is equal to Intel quad core penryns. Maybe it will even beat them, thats what AMD needs to do.
    Thats the mainstream, that is where money is.

    Core i7 is not going to have a market share of 1-2% until Q3 2009 until Intel starts shipping P55/Lynnfield
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I hope the Athlon X3-X4 line OC just as good if not better. They have half the cache so they might need a lot less volts.
     
  14. Pixelated

    Pixelated New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    6.3Ghz under LN2 at 1.9v!

    1.9v! :toast:
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,185 (10.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,847
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If Propus and Rana indeed lack L3 caches instead of them merely being disabled, there is scope for a good OC potential (reduced transistor count, vCore).
     
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Not really, it was still a bit behind. And penryn is actually considerably faster than kentsfield. Penryn will also be able to be priced extremely competitively since at this point it's old tech. If all PII does is match penryn's performance, there still isn't much of a compelling reason to go that route, except perhaps novelty and amd dedication.

    However, we do seem to be coming into a time where many enthusiasts don't need the power that the entire i7 line brings (gamers). So if AMD can beat penryn a bit and make the price super compelling, then many, including myself, will have a very good reason to go over. But I personally couldn't care less if it does 6ghz or 4ghz on air (my 2 year old 6750 does 4ghz on air no problem).
     
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    But if that 4ghz on air translates into performance, and the price is right...I'll go for it. I've got an old soft spot for AMD. :laugh:
     
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Oh absolutely, my point was just that 4ghz alone means nothing w/o even knowing what 3ghz does. I almost don't like AMD b/c of the constant fanboyism they receive :laugh:, but if they do this right I'll probably have a phenom II next year.
     
  19. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    True... but with this awful slump, almost ALL stocks have been going down. :ohwell:
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    i'm just looking for the same kind of fun I had with my 939 DFI LP boards and AMD chips. There was enough of a challenge to overclock them to keep it fun. Intel has been way too easy. Though I hear the i7 is a bit more challenging.
     
  21. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yes, i also agree with this, high clocks dont mean a hell of a lot without the architecture to back it up. We already seen this in the P4 days when Intel had insane clocks and AMD had the superior architecture.

    But we dont know what kind of revisions AMD made to k10, if it was vastly improved then it will be challenger to C2Q/C2D and may be even Corei7. The bottom line is that AMD still made a very impressive move, 6Ghz on LN2 for AMD is a huge leap forward, remember with Phenom 1, the limit was 4GHz, so all in all i'm very pleased to see this happen.
     
  22. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    That is so sad and so true :(
     
  23. Zyrocenus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada....outside toronto
    According to Neowin

    According to Neowin the computer only booted at 6GHz on LN2. It was stable at 5GHz. Impressive none the less but where does the inaccuracy lie? Here or Neowin.... I'm lookin into it

    Zyro
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,185 (10.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,847
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sources point at the same thing. They achieved a 5+ GHz clock, and finished their session with a successful 6+ GHz boot.
     
  25. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well done AMD, have a beer or 2 :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page