1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 1055T - 89.99

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by Zebeon, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. Zebeon

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    BUCK NASTY, Norton and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    That is a lot of power for a low price
     
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I'n debating between upgrading the 2 Athlon II X2's in my house to these or doing an overall to some 1155 Celeron chips which use less power and have a higher IPC, but a third of the cores.
     
  4. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    just wondering if this CPU is unlocked, can it overclock?
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It is not unlocked but has been oced quite well. Mine would do 3.6ghz on a crappy board.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I have this board and this cooler

    MSI 760gm-p21(FX) AM3+

    Xigmatek hdt-s1283

    will it oc?



    I think it's time to upgrade my CPU
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly, I wouldn't I have a lower end 785G that has blown twice due to OCing and its based on that same design. I would not OC any CPU on that motherboard.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    What do you recommend me to upgrade my motherboard, what chipset? I'm in a budget.
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Staying AMD?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    yeah
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    Sounds like your board will do fine, I wouldn't overclock with it though. Get a newer board if you want, but I don't see the point yet.
     
  12. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok
     
  13. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,077 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    I'm guessing this is leftover stock.

    The x6 are great cpu's.
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok going off cam's PM's people that are looking for a decent Overclocking board will need to look here at this list to see which board is the best one for you

    http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-motherboards-vrm-info-database

    NOPE

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I've got 2x 1055T's crunching 24/7 100% @ 4.0Ghz. :toast: This chip is a steal for $89.99! :eek:
     
    [Ion] and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL I picked up some Athlon II's at Microcenter for $29.99
     
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,158 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,629
    Stop saying that! :banghead: :laugh:..... I'm already tempted and I have a brandy new board sitting here empty that wants to be crunching with all of its other friends :rolleyes:

    If it was the 95w version I would have already bought it a few hours ago.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
  19. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    That would fit like a glove in my computer.
     
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You won't regret it! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I would just leave your setup as is, if you are doing video encoding/editing probably might help.

    I went from B55 unlocked to X4 @ 3.8 to 1045T @ 3.2, not much of difference in BF3 and other games. Encoding bit faster to finish.

    good to see 6 cores in windows task manager tho. Mine is a 95w chip and uses less energy than the unlocked one and runs much cooler tho. I saved about 60w total power consumption when under load.
     
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,656 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,041
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Really tempted, but I'll stick with my $39 MicroCenter CPU that is serving me well. Still a "hell of a deal".

    :toast:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    What sort of PPD do you get running a PhII X6 @ 4GHz 24/7? And what are the other parts of those setups?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    One of them I have the HD7770 in and the other one I'm using a 240GT. I believe both are using a 890GX ASUS board.. The one with the HD7770 board is crapping out on me.. So, I just picked up a MSI 970A-G46 AM3+ AMD 970 to replace it. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,128 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,791
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I also have 2 1055t's crunching. One at 3.2 and the other at 3.5. That is a great price for the cpu.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page