1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 Series Details Surface, Slated for May 2010

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    aye, but do i really need AM3/DDR3 performance? :D
    i just play games :)
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Very nice and hopefully prices will be within reason. I could go for one of these BE edtion procs with an unlocked FSB mutli, hopefull it clocks well.
  3. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    200 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    czech republic
    for "just playing games" u need not Thuban ;). I want 1-2 Thubans for overcloking. 955 is for LN2 and my 965 is "HTPC" :D
  4. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    exactly my point!
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  5. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Lol and when are AMD really gonna start coming up to the plate then? AMD has been battling Intel since Conroe which was how many years ago now? 3? 4? I went i5 because of pittle paddling like this. I think AMD Marketing is a bit backwards if you ask me.
  6. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    Now I will start saving money to buy one of these..heh
  7. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    No X5 ? :D
  8. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    haha ikr
    can't they release even a cut down version with only 6mb L3 and 2.4ghz clock speed or something? ;(
  9. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    well i know that, but think of games of the future! i could decide to be a cheap bastard and upgrade to a X6 if it supported AM2+ 3-4 years down the line and rock some games pretty well :D
  10. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    AMD has been battling Intel since waaaay before Conroe. And its fine that you moved to i5 technologies from AMD, although I don't expect you'll get any options for hex-cores or more on that platform. I don't see any significant roadmap showing similar expansion for socket 1156 as for socket 1366. Now you could say AMD is doing a similar thing by not allowing AM2+ compatiblity for Thuban. Yet AM2+ has been around considerably longer than AM3, wheras s1156 came out well after s1366.

    And it's not like AMD isn't trying to compete with Intel (who has vastly more resources than it does). The 45nm s775 lineup from Intel is well matched by the 45nm AM3 lineup from AMD. In games, a stock 965 will perform neck and neck with a more expensive stock i7 920 (not including platform cost). True, the triple channel controller on i7 (s1366) and hyperthreading will allow it to massacre anything else in memory intensive and highly parallel programs (including stuff from its own 1156 lineup), but for someone like me, that matters little. I personally love the $99, highly overclockable, quad core idea that only AMD offers.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  11. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    well said, i think the quote from pantherx12 in my sig says it best xD
    why don't intel offer X3 processors exactly?
  12. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    this is great news,, i c it being more affordable then intel's 6core
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Well said devguy. :toast:

    @ El_Mayo

    I've wondered that for a while now too, but I imagine it stems from the sandwiching of cores they used to (still do?) with their multicore processors. If they made true multicore units I think they would also make tri-cre processors....unless I'm totally wrong and they do actually make true units (I think the i7's are, but I don't really know)...in which I must say I have NO IDEA why they don't.

    I personally think the X3 idea is one of the best ideas in a looong time for computing. It makes just so much sense with dual cores still being what's widely developed for (though quad is making ground), so adding another core just makes a dual core processor that much better since 1 core can handle the more mundane/routine tasks while the other two fire away.

    Kei
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  14. SirMango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Awesome. I'll hold off from upgrading my S939 system until then :toast:
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    AMD isn`t wasting anything I bet there would be sempron single core derived from PII x6 :D.
  16. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    AMD were the first companey to make a Tru dual core processor and likewise with the quad core they also were the first companey to make the first tru quad core processor,

    from what i've read the 6x core from amd is really 6cores and the 12core is 2x6cores sandwedged.
  17. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    what an upgrade that would be:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    wouldn't be feasible, Also someone got a Sempron 140 and expected to unlock the other core on it, well it resulted in Blue Screens left and right, so that proves that not all Locked Processors have Good cores if they are based on multicore parts.

    SNAP that was a BURN! Also I think AMD removed the DDR2 Controller out of Thuban since DDR2 is on its way out.

    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  19. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No 8mb of cash? :shadedshu
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    what does it matter to you?
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Intel was meh before Conroe because AXP and 939 was kinckin butt :rockout:

    Core 2 changed the scene. I went to i5 because nothing can really shake a stick at it, and its more than plenty for games. When you overclock an i5 to 4ghz (easily reachable on any decent air cooler) it takes down almost anything besides its bigger brother. I ventured away from AMD because i dont see anything feasible in the near future for them. This hexa is just that proof.
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sounds like i'll be buying a whole new rig this summer :roll: but only if the x6 will be under 500$
  23. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    No reason for it to be over 500 honestly. Sounds like a 920 with 6 cores.
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    What the hell is this supposed to mean?:wtf:

    Just with cheaper motherboards, I wish I could buy a decent x58 mobo for $130'ish dollars.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    buy a used UD3R or a P6T? they should be around 150$ used maximum

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page