1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 Series Details Surface, Slated for May 2010

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Here are all the top scores with HD4870X2.

    These are world records, and yup all the top cpu OC are like 5-6GHz.

    A 3.8GHz Phenom can barely feed a single HD4870X2
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    no phrase that correctly a 3.8ghz can barely push a 4870X2 for benchmarks it games at 1600x1200 just fine
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I can't not agree anymore than that, it does gaming just fine at that. :laugh:
  4. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Thats also AMD and AMD. I could get 18 or 19k single GTX280 with a 4ghz 955 and only about 21k with dual 280s. With an i5 i can get 23k single 280 and 27k dual 280s running 8x slots.

    In gaming, i have an avg of 10-20% increase in FPS between the 2 cpus.

    benching or gaming aside it dosent matter. This isnt p4 vs AthlonXP. The core arch is better than Phenom hands down so an i5 will be better than a 955/965 at 4ghz a piece.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,902 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    20% over an 955 in gaming? Im not buying it man. Sorry.
  6. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Own an i5/i7 then judge and we can talk. Until then...
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    ask freaksavior mines smoother better bus=better gameplay
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Theres no doubt that bloomfields make synthetic benchmarks its bitch. With my 920 @ 4.3GHz with a 4870x2 I was well over 26k, 300pts shy of 27k. Throw that same card on a PII X4 at 4.0+GHz it would be lucky to get over 22k. Now, change the benchmark to a game and the difference is about 5fps in the majority of games. Some will have a gap of about 10fps.

    Now, back to the topic, I want a hex-core Phenom! :D
  9. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    They aren't made to compete and all this fanboy garbage for the last 4 pages has nothing to do with the subject. there is a place inside forums for this.

    and we can talk because there is nothing wrong with our chips. if your "secure" with your purchase you wouldn't put so much effort into telling us there was.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,473 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,012
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ok with my AMD 965 @ 2.9ghz i was getting low 18K in 3dmark06 and now with my I7@ 4.1ghz i get 21K thats alittle bit of an increase
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    no thats a little off you can get 22K on a phenom@3.8 and stock 4870X2 so its not hard to get that at all 22K-25K is possible on a 965@4.x and a clock on the card

    that was fanboyish in itself just like fyi and i have all AMD rigs in my house
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I don't think it was hardware. Sounds more of an software issue to be honest...bad chipset drivers, etc.
  13. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    I also think it may be that our friend talk
  14. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    There was no purchase of either rig so your point is moot. I stand by the facts.

    Im talking straight 4ghz vs 4ghz. I can push my i5 to 4.6ghz under phase and make any un-LN2 Phenom my i5s bitch :laugh: And ive already mentioned that ive had nothing but AMD prior to this i5. I went this route for a reason. So the fanboy word can be laid to rest.

    No chipset drivers involved for either. 790fx and p55 in Windows 7 dosent exactly require drivers in a non raid setup.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    So what, and for what means? I don't see why this conversation has anything to do with i5. Yeah i5/i7's are great. Hot, a bit on the pricey side and don't have an unlocked CPU multi, so overclocking isn't nearly as easy. Yeah I've used both, and PII's are just easier to use and less of a headache with less restrictions (other than clock frequency lawl). Anyways, I don't see why this thread needs to be any sort of a competition to qualify ones purchase. Use what you have and be happy about it dammit! Though if gloating your synthetic benchmarks makes you happy, all the power to you. In the real world it makes very, very little difference.

    The 790fx does require a North Bridge filter driver, an ATK driver and possibly more depending on the manufacturer.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    i can get 4.8-4.9ghz stable on an unlocked 550BE under DICE so no your i5 does not kill everything short of LN2. i have swapped amd to intel and went back to amd cause intel parts piss me off. how can you give me something that does better in every benchmark yet when i game on it the slower amd keeps dead even? this 10-20% in games is garbage and you know it 4ghz e7200ES vs a 3.3ghz AX2 didn't give that much of a difference and both companies core architecture really hasn't changed much
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  17. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I think about now is a great time to call it a truce, and end this discussion of old gen benchmarks and who scores better. :)
    =======================================

    So....how bout those X6's!?! I was playing around last night and testing wPrime and the Street Fighter IV benchmark. It's almost laughable that setting my system up at 2.2Ghz all four cores 2.2Ghz northbridge is faster in wPrime by a nice margin than setting the system up as a dual core 4.0Ghz! In the street fighter benchmark I swear I can't even find a setting that does less than 85fps average lol!

    I'll test 1.8Ghz quad core later to see if that changes haha.

    Kei
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  18. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Read previously in the thread why it came up and youll have your answer. Im not gloating synthetics they just came into play. And ive never in the past few years that ive been on these forums see you with an Intel rig let alone an i5 or i7 setup for a prolonged period of time. You and mailman are pretty much the only ones ever to argue FOR the Phenom.

    At 4.6 id still stomp your 4.9 dualcore on anything bud.

    And at dead even no they do not go toe to toe. If that was the case then i5/i7 wouldnt be the currently best cpu around :rolleyes:

    A 4ghz e7200 would deff give you a bigger difference vs a 3.3ghz Ax2 so where are your numbers coming from? I had a 5600+ and an e8400 and screenies and benches to prove everything ive ever had. In SLI the e8400 with high res wasnt much better than the 5600 because most everything was GPU based. That was with 2 9800GTX+s. Single card though was a different story. I had that e8400 for a very short period of time because it didnt give me what i want. In this case my comparisons where 2 280s on a 4ghz lvl with 955 vs i5. Im sorry but the i7 is a complete AMD stomper. Whats the difference between i5 and i7? HT and triple channel ram. Thats it. And given the circumstances of the results the 790FX sli hacked was even dual 16x with SLI bridge. SLI was in fact working without a doubt because there was a noticeable difference between single and dual card.

    Oh and bus bandwidth? HAHAH please. 1600mhz DDR3 vs 2000, 2200, and 2400mhz ddr3. It DOES make a difference AMD peeps.

    We can sit here and throw edicks around but the bottom line is. AMD needs to step up their game before Bulldozer because they cant keep sliding by on the bottom of the ocean forever with a promise for a badass chip a few years away. Intel obviously dosent see them as much of a competition anymore and thats obvious because their only desktop variant of a 6 core will be a 980x which will be a huge wallet breaker. That was what the discussion/argument derived from anyways. Just because my name is Fits everybody and their mother decides they wanna argue with me over some petty BS. Intel is king right now, get over it. :banghead:
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,902 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    No one is arguing the "i" series is faster. What we are arguing is what they are faster in. Basically anything that takes advantage of more than four threads. Anything else they are evenly matched. That includes the i7. Look at the gaming benchmarks for proof. That is why people are calling BS on your 20% faster in games.

    Now if your talking encoding or synthetic thats a different story ;)
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    So you turn this discussion into a hypothetical and untrue claim unto why I responded to you. I won't even bother. Good day sir.
  21. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    PP_mguire with AMD banners = lame troll. At-least troll with some dignity. You don't stand by anything but trolling. Why are you here. No ones buying what your selling mainly because none of it is true. You want so bad for AMD chips to be "slow" they aren't. Past a numbers pissing contest there is in fact no substance in your (OFF TOPIC) argument with If the chip is so good why are you here in AMD X6 news reASSuring yourself it is???? Reading you comments on DDR its clear you have so much learning to do. Why not go off and learn about it b4 u talk about it. And when u learn about it don't post it here. Go to the intel TROLLING section of the forums and do it.

    This person clearly has little to no knolege on how AMD OC or DDR relation even works...

    CDawall actually does test... his credibility is insane... why challege jesus? you have NO credibility and even less now.
    erocker and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    he is going to push the right button soon and wont even exist on this forum anymore. He thinks he is all high and mighty because of his supposed origin, sorry I have Irish, Scottish, German, Russian, Native American Decent (What they Call a Heinz 57) I am an American Not an Irish-man etc.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    1st off why is my 550BE a dual core? who the hell said that oh wait i forgot intel's don't unlock. also i take you ram at 2000mhz cas8 and want you to run one benchmark against mine 1800 cas6 find me one that says its slower.

    also numbers were my Athlon X2 7750@3.3ghz ram@1260 on an asus crosshair II with a single 8800GTS 512mb vs a e7200ES@4ghz ram@1200 on an asus P45 with a single 8800GTS 512mb. both ran a 320GB seagate on XP and in gaming the both pulled within 5FPS of each in games with high pixel counts (crysis and such) AMD pulled ahead and what was even weirder in 3dmarks the AMD often posted higher framerates in gpu tests but the cpu tests were so favored on the intel side it was embarrassing.


    Honestly AMD doesn't need to do much to stay competitive the 955/965 chips are quite popular with modders as they are inexpensive and clock well on the cheapest of boards. look at the AMD 785 series boards $50-75 and you can have a quad chugging along happily on the stock cooler@3.6-3.8ghz. hell still got DDR2? thats not an issue just get a 790GX board with DDR2 on it those are on clearance for all of $50 now.

    sure i5 might be faster but it still has some major drawbacks
    1. coldbug still exists on them even after you do the CB mod they still have one.
    2. phenom II still out clocks it.
    3. AMD beats it on total system price.
    4. have to have DDR3

    oh and here is that DDR3
    http://img.techpowerup.org/090525/Capture015.jpg
    http://img.techpowerup.org/090525/Capture016.jpg
    http://img.techpowerup.org/090525/Capture018.jpg
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Ive noticed Several AMD machines at work actually, why because they affordable and do what we need, so when being bought in mass quantities like that we are getting best bang for buck which in turn bumps profits up for AMD, intels price tags are way too out of wack for anything.
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    every single PC i have used since i joined the military was an AMD based HP with anywhere from a phenom tricore in it to a athlon II dual core. someone is buying amd and they aren't buying just one or two.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page