1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 Series Details Surface, Slated for May 2010

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I wouldn't judge results of AMD's SLI performance for dual 9800gtx or GTX280s using a 790FX chipset. I am familiar with the hack you are referring to, but if memory serves me correctly, the hack was not that great. Yes, there was an SLI speedup, as you pointed out, but I do not believe it was mature enough to give similar results as say an SLI speed up on a 780a or 980a (or even p55) chipsets. That is likely why you noticed a much bigger gain by adding your second nVidia card to the Intel platform, than to your AMD. Had you been using an Nvidia Phenom chipset, you likely would've had a different experience.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    1911's are also my favorite hand gun.

    Owning a Les Baer has been my dream for years. I'll likely settle for a Kimber tho, and do some upgrades myself. Like a Barsto barrel and such.
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,881 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Singapore
    WTF are you guys doing? You're acting like the frigging Spanish inquisition! The guy stated a personal opinion, based on his own experience, which he is completely entitled to. This is not China...

    1) The Phenom 2/Athlon 2 are a great series of CPUs. They are in no way slow but they are just not as fast as Intel's current offerings. Still they completely redeemed AMD of the flop that Phenom 1 was.

    2) Intel is faster. End of argument.[​IMG]. I took the FC2 test specifically because it is the worst case scenario and it proves that under extreme circumstances Intel can be up to ~40% faster. It doesn't matter if it is due to optimizations, bribes or the magical touch of Jesus, it just is.

    Problem is, you can't bloody tell the difference between 50, 60 or 70 fps (unless you're the secret cloned ninja offspring of Chuck Norris and Mr. T). On top of that the Intel platform is more expensive and provides less features at the same price point.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
    trt740, PP Mguire and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If you notice in recent months, Phenom II no longer keeps up in the extreme 3D benches anymore. Leads me to believe the early advantage was bios or software related. Issues are apparantly fixed on the Intel side. The cold bug doesn't matter because Intel still way out performs Phenom II, even at the lower clocks.

    Besides, why are we arguing gaming performance in a thread about a 6 core cpu? Games obviously aren't optimized to even use 6 cores yet, so the point is moot.

    If current trends are any indication, what is likely going to be true, however, is that the Intel 6 cores are still going to be a fair bit faster than these clock for clock, and likely OC better for 24/7 usage in everything that isn't gaming. I crunch and encode a lot. Phenom II does not benefit someone like me.
    erocker says thanks.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382
    And I can show you benches where the Phenom beats the i7 in gaming. Its not a black and white argument as you would think it to be.

    And boom goes the dynamite. Thats the point Ive been trying to make.

    Kimber is shit man. Get a SIG GSR if you go production gun.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i have no idea why its being argued but it was before i got here so i figured hell might as well toss my opinion in the mix. honestly i don't think it was the BIOS of the i7 boards that held them back more the boards themselves most of the records are on new boards not new bios's
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Last I recalled this is about AMD 6core, who gives a fuck what intel is doing right now as this topic is about AMD.
    crazyeyesreaper, DrPepper and Kei say thanks.
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I disagree, as in the first 6 months or so, there were no clear cut winner as to the fastest or "best" i7 motherboard, yet I have a rampage 2, and a DFI LANPARTY DK X58-T3eH6 (bought them before the calssified was out yet), and they were dead even in terms of preformance when I got them, now the rampage 2 gives me as much as 8-10 extra FPS in benches than the DFI board. While you can't dispute the fact most current records are held by new boards, or boards not yet on the market (rampage 3), I think it's a mistake to discount the effect that bios updates have had on maturing the preformance of the x58 platform.




    Because AMD = FAIL and Intel = WIN DUH:nutkick:








    YHBTKTHXBAI
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  9. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    lol....I had to search google a few times to figure out what the heck that meant. At first I thought it was something from the big bear country but I didn't recognize it.

    le ha (French: direct translation for 'that was pretty hilarious man, at first I wanted to cut you') :D

    Kei
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Sounds awesome.

    But as a pure gamer and web junkie, my i7 build should keep me moving.:)
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :D

    But that said, I don't see the six core being a game changer, in any way. This seems like little more than a copy and past of their Opteron 24xx series, same cache same everything, but not the same speeds I hope, as the Opteron 24xx's top out at a blazing 2.6 Ghz, and the top model here seems to be 2.8 Ghz, and seeing as the opteron architecture isn't exactly aimed at OC'ing I'm pretty skeptical to say the least.

    Now that said I'm sure a fan boi, will come and point out some "critical" error in my opinion.
  12. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    If your going to join the pissing contest then at least have something more than a dildo to piss with. In other words if your going to claim you have used what were arguing about (both sides of the stick, i5/i7 and AMD) then at least be able to prove you have. I cought you saying ive never seen you post about or say anything in the regards of owning an i5 or i7. Youve always been right there with Mailman saying Phenom 2 is this or that.

    Whos trolling? Aparently you. Im not trying to sell anything here so your point is completely moot. As for DDR. Ive been playing with speed and timings since DDR first came out. Dont tell me i dont know shit about DDR.

    My origin has nothing to do with anything. If i was gonna be banned it woulda been a long time ago for having more than just an argument on these forums over whos clearly the better chip.

    Intels dont need to unlock because they arent using laserd chips to cover their low and midrange asses.

    Cold bug? Had Intels on LN2 before. Dosent need helium to try and compete in the major overclocking aspect of things.

    Total system price? Um 750 is 10 bucks more than 965. Takes new mobo, ram, and cpu to get competetive system prices. Sorry.

    Exactly, have to have ddr3 on both systems to get comparable system performance. Which it seems you already have DDR3. Now do 8s with 2400mhz and see if your 1800 can still go toe to toe. Oh wait, your Phenom cant.

    The 790FX chipset has always been better and cooler than the Nvidia counterparts. Sorry but hacking the software to run in SLI is essentially doing the same thing as Nvidia was doing except Nvidia had official support. I put a 955 in a 750a and got worse results than with the 790FX.

    I have no idea why AMD fanboys want to argue who exactly has the better chip when the internet will tell them that i5/i7 IS better period. There is no argument for that.

    Like i said, just because my name isnt Fits, BTA, or Wiz they want to throw a dick contest my way and people get pissed because ive had all these chips and speak with experience.

    Hell Google.com will tell you that Intel has the ultimate chip right now end of story. I dont see what the argument is here hence im done.

    As for the how it got derailed. I was started by simply saying there is no point for 6 slow cores when you can have 4 much faster cores doing the job for you. And so it began.

    Good day....to this thread anyways.
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Past few pages where filled with a bunch of AMD fangirls. christ.:shadedshu

    Yes, i7/i5 does have more power then what AMD has put out, that is something no one should even be talking about, its an obvious and true statement with so many credentials and backing up by varies sites. Now if you're trying to zero in on gaming, well it depends, a lot of it depends on the game itself. Now from what i have seen from various sites, its that the i7/i5's that are generally taking the crown with AMD trailing behind not to far off. the i7 and i5 have a great architecture and things like HT in the i7's offers a bit of a boost depending on the game. The Phenom II's are great CPU's but i really do believe that it's this generation of Intel CPU's that are taking the crown, even if it's not by a whole lot.

    But as i said before. the AMD Phenom II x6 CPUs are gonna be awesome.:rockout:
  14. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Where is your proof of this? Not saying you're wrong, I'm just curious. Diagrams I've seen seem to state that nVidia really did make their own chipset for AM2+. The 780a was kinda like the 680a, but with HyperTransport 3.0 support, and an nForce 200 chipset to enable dual pcie 2.0 x16 slots (or 1 @ 16x, and 2 @ 8x). TweakTown has a simliar argument.

    And for your 750a issue, bear in mind very few boards with that chipset had dual x16 slot support. That may not make a big difference with 9800GTX cards, but could mean something with GTX280s. And also, you didn't state if you got the same overclock on the Deneb with the 750a board as you did with your 790FX board.
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No kidding it's like AMD has announced they have designed and installed baby Jesus into a CPU.

    I don't know, I kinda think PP Mguire may be right, as I stated before this looks like little more than a Opteron 24xx, with slightly higher clocks (ZOMFG 200 Mhz). We have a couple of these at work, and they aren't horrible, in fact I kind of like them, they feel snappier under high load IMO, but they are like the red headed step child of the server farm when compared to the Xeon's. But as I also said before, as they appear to be copy and pasted Opteron 24xx's and Opterons are not designed to overclock, they may preform well, but I suspect many a fan boi will be sorely disappointed, when his baby Jesus chip turns out to be a ford pinto when it comes to over clocking, also this will not be a game changer.

    Just a hunch but I doubt you will be getting a response from him.
  16. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    LOL, this thread has really turned to shit!!,

    Im looking forward to the new 6core and personally think it will be premo especially for rendering etc
    eidairaman1 and Kei say thanks.
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ok so to start this off a conroe L is a conroe thats been cut down thats what a celeron is. same goes all the way up the intel line wanna know what separates a i7 920 for an i7 965? its called binning everyone does it including your beloved intel.

    and the latest AMD max oc's are all on LN2 (did i spell all correctly?)

    now on ram yes my ram can hit 2400 CL8 however my platform cannot so to compensate i run tighter timings hence 1800 CL6 which still tosses close to an intel rig@2400CL8 also i don't see dozen's of intels hitting that speed i believe like one did.

    an AMD can be built for well under $500 785G board, cpu, DDR3 done.


    now hook a 955 to 780A or 980A and go look on XS i have multiple threads on it 780A clocks better than 790FX from the same time period. i hit a 435HT on my athlon II and 790FX hit 360HT :confused: but the AMD chipset is way better. also the word hacked brings something to mind like not the same as official.

    no one is arguing Phenom is better that i7 i argued it competitive with i5 and beats it at the same price point hence why major OEM's are starting to move to AMD's (HP, Gateway, Acer, hell even some dell's)

    i'm not making a pissing war you quite honestly are i pointed out that AMD can keep up with i5 and you blew a gasket.


    oh and if these AMD's keep the same clocks as the current a 4ghz 6 core chip should out bench an i5 easily and maybe throw a bone at i7. there is supposed improved clocking on these chips so hopefully we will see around 4.5ghz on air but thats just me wandering off
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Keep up, but not beat.


    I don't think it's fair to compare a quad core budget chip with a six core chip that may have a price tag of 500 dollars ( I also feel the same about comparing a i7 975, with a Phenom 2 965) for all we know ( that would be like comparing the up coming i7 985, with a Phenom 2 965).
    Also could you please cite your source for "improved clocking" for these chips, I have not heard any such thing, and as they share almost stat for stat (except a 200 mhz speed increase in the top model) the same specs as the Opteron 24xx's (same cache sizes as well) it's my speculation this is just a repackaged Opteron, and given that overclocking is not something an Opteron is designed with as it's primary function, I think 4.5 Ghz on air is a lofty and unrealistic goal.

    Well see, but I think this is getting way too much hype for little more than a 700 word or so press announcement. I think it's best we get some better information, before people go proclaiming the birth of AMD's baby Jesus.
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    C3 revisions clock better.
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    nobody has listed a price yet on these chips and when was the last time AMD had a desktop chip over $300 on release? the FX series was the last i remember.

    opterons have out clocked athlons for many many years even the phenom 1 based ones outclocked there phenom counterparts (opty 1354 for example)

    and its hard to site the source that i got my info from....lets just say a little birdie whispered in my ear.


    oh and for whomever said these have no DDR2 mem controller they are wrong no current AMD chip does not have a DDR2 and DDR3 mem controller on them even the 940's had a disabled DDR3 controller on them

    and when did a $200 cpu become a budget chip? a $60 athlon II is a budget chip an i3 is even a budget chip an i5 is not
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wish AMD would hurry up and instill thier version of HTT... after seeing the boost the i7 gets with HTT, it seems like a waste not to have it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Perhaps it's already on certain high end chips, and just not enabled yet. As AMD seems to enjoying a new chip set every 3 months, maybe it's comign down the pipe.

    :roll::roll::roll::roll::roll: Why not just say "because I said so".:shadedshu


    Even if they do have a DDR2 controller on them (I'm sure it does, as if it is a Opteron copy it will more than likely), it's not for sure that motherboard vendors will enable support for this CPU on DDR2 boards through the bios, they will probably attempt to sell you an 890 mobo with "enhanced support" or something like that, in stay of enabling mobos with DDR2 to use this chip.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    go google my name and come back in 10 minutes after you see the multitude of engineering sample AMD and intel chips i have you may come back and post on the forums.

    motherboard manuf. have already put thuban support on higher end board BIOS's check the cpu support list on AM3 DFI, ASUS and MSI boards so no they are not forcing you to buy 890FX this isn't intel if the old shit works they keep using it don't force an upgrade thats unnecessary.
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Having access to engineering samples is nothing special I have 2 i7's that are engineering samples that I got from work.

    That said, we will see, we won't know for sure until the actual thing is in our hands. I will be ordering one to replace my 550BE for my download box:D.

    You get butt hurt pretty easy.
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    my AMD's came from AMD in austin from the R&D dept. ask freaksavior he met my buddy from AMD he is pretty damn cool.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page