1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom multi./memory speed question.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GLD, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    I know some here at TPU have Phenoms, so maybe you can help. They spec. to run with DDR2 1066 ram. Does the ram speed/divider change with the odd number multis? Like with the AM2 cpu's running with DDR2 800, only the even number multi cpu's (8,10,12,14,16) run at 800MHz. Do the Phenom's allow 1066MHz ram to run at 1066MHZ regardless of their multi, like the 939's. I would be bummed to buy some nice DDR2 1066 and a Phenom (and of course a AM2+ mobo.) and find out the ram runs slower then spec. because of an odd numbered multi.
     
  2. Vincent11

    Vincent11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYD
    watsup, are you thinking of getting an Phenom processor!
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes the new BIOS at MSI has the 1066 divider. So you don't have to OC to get that speed.
     
    GLD says thanks.
  4. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    But of course! AMD/ATi FTW! :respect:
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AM2+ boards take in a 1066 module on the fly, no fiddling with the BIOS. Afterall, it's the processor that's controlling the memory sub-system here, not a discrete controller on the northbridge.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page