1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

phenom stock coolers

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Gilletter, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Are the phenom stock coolers sufficient? Or should I put my arctic freezer alpine 64 on it when it comes in? :confused:
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The 9950 is a black edition. I am pretty sure it doesn't come with a cooler.
  3. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    9850be and it says heatsink and fan
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    OK I think the Phenom BE's do but the Athlon's didn't. They do come with a great cooler, tho. Its got heatpipes and everything. But make sure tho.. I know the 9600BE did but I don't think the 9X50's did.
  5. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Cooling Device Heatsink and Fan included from newegg... just wondered if it was any good. I have my current one, that I will either sell or use on it... unless the stock cooler is sufficient.
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Like I said, its got heatpipes. Its actually pretty good.
    Gilletter says thanks.
  7. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    It does what its designed to do. Keeps cpu nice and cool.
    Gilletter says thanks.
  8. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Even while overclocking?
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah it isnt bad and Im sure it will rival your Alpine Extreme. If you got the cash grab you a Xigmatek S1283 or RS1283 or even the Dark Knight version. Or the OCZ Vendetta 2.
    Gilletter says thanks.
  10. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Oc'ing I would look at an aftermarket. Out of the box it will do the job.
    Gilletter says thanks.
  11. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    no I spent all I had.

    guess I'll have to see how it does... and maybe trade or sell my current system off and get an aftermarket cooler
  12. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    Here's my two cents considering my latest build which uses a 9950BE:

    1. I haven't used the stock cooler, but it looks beefy enough to do it's job. I would recommend changing it if you plan of OCing (for the noise factor at least :) )
    2. If you plan to get an aftermarket cooler, be VERY careful at the orientation of cooler. Here are some examples:
    a. Most Scythes can be rotated 90deg as the are symmetrical and the fan can be mounted on whichever side of the heatsink you want.
    b. The Xigmateks have a fixed position, make sure to check the socket orientation on your motherboard. Most of the times the cooler would be mounted to draw air from the bottom and exhaust it to the top. This can be a pain if your primary PCI-E slot is too close to the CPU socket, because the cooler will have little room to draw air from. I contacted their customer support and they told me they are working on a solution to rotate their coolers on the AM2 socket. Too bad, I loved my S1283 on the old 939 Opteron system.
    c. The cooler I chose was the Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer. It draws air from the front of the case and exhausts it towards the standard 120 exhaust fan at the back of the case. It proved to be the best choice in my situation.

    PS: Are you planning to keep the Biostar mobo for the Phenom?
    Gilletter says thanks.
  13. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I had a 9850BE and I had no issues OC'ing with the stock cooler. I had it running at 3.22ghz on a SB600 mobo which is better results than most had achieved on those mobo's.
    Gilletter says thanks.
  14. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    thanks for the info! and my current biostar wont support it, but I've got a new one coming in the order with the phenom.

    thanks that's what I was looking for! Someone that didn't have heat problems when OC'ing on a stock cooler!!! :toast:
  15. Mandown

    Mandown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    303 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    REALLY!? @ 3.2ghz when mine did load windows would be hitting 60C with my Nirvana cooler!:eek: all i can say is wow.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page