1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom X2 Churns out Roughly 15% Increments with Super Pi

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Phenom X2 is intended to be the latest dual-core processor from AMD. It is based on the newer K10 architecture. The 65nm Kuma core is what sits inside the first to release models of the Phenom X2. Although based on K10 architecture and Kuma core, the initial batch being 65nm, AMD for some reason chooses to call it Athlon X2 saving the Phenom brand name perhaps for the 45nm batches? At least the sample Expreview got had the Athlon X2 etching on it. The chip carried the "AD6500" label and came with a 2.30 GHz clock speed.

    Here's something to ponder: 6500 isn't a performance rating, it is just a model number. The Athlon 64 X2 6400+ had a 3.20 GHz clock speed. As performance evaluations will soon show, the Phenom/Athlon 6500 isn't anywhere close to the performance of the X2 6400+. However, architectural improvements meant that Kuma outperforms Brisbane (K8, 65nm) on a clock to clock basis. To ascertain this, Expreview used a Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition (Brisbane) that was underclocked to 2.30 GHz, the clock speed which AD6500 comes with. Super Pi 1M benchmark was run. While the Brisbane chip crunched it in 39.374 s, Kuma did it in 33.43 s indicating a performance increment of roughly 15%. The test-bed consisted of a NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI motherboard and GEIL 1GB DDR2-800 memory. Kuma AD6500 comes with a shared L3 cache of 2 MB apart from dedicated L2 caches of 512 KB per core. It uses a broader HyperTransport 3.0 system interface at 3600 MT/s. It supports DDR2-1066.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
  2. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ohh my friend , im can't find you on msn to tell about this news sorry im post it before 5 minutes, so no problem close my thread , and we change the conversation right here
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2008
  3. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Good god. The Athlon X2 name dies with this. What a day.

    How long till the entire line is all Phenoms?
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    By Xmas, you should have three of these around.
     
  5. Baam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Trucker..so all over
    I want to see how well these things overclock to put in my GX motherboard.
     
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,310 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Oh my goodness! Super PI really shows off AMD in a bad light. I never realised that the X2 (at EUR 120) sucked so badly against the Q6600 (at EUR 140). Does ANYBODY still buy AMD CPUs?
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Sadly only devoted fans I think
     
  8. Viscarious New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    951 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Yea, Im a sad AMD fan. After I saw their 2009 'roadmap', Ive given up hope. After that, I also bought a laptop with a core 2 duo in it rather then a mobile athlon. Quite happy with it as well.
     
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Hey -- Crysis sucks on ATI cards (because of problems in Crysis' code), but that doesn't stop people from buying ATI. :D

    One benchmark doesn't tell it all -- Intel chips have always been better at SuperPI than AMD chips, so no big surprise here. ;)

    If this card has some good overclocking headroom with new AM2 motherboards (featuring that AAC technology stuff), then this chip isn't bad at all. With that lower power draw it'd be quite nice.
     
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,566 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    my FX clocked to 3GHZ does better than that, and thats how old tech?
     
  11. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    938 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    lemonadesoda, the test was done with an underclocked CPU at 2.3GHz to compare clock by clock performance to the Phenom X2, secondly, for €120 you get a Phenom X4 9600 and add €10 and you get an X4 9750.
    Now, I'm not saying that the Phenom X4's are any better than the Q6600,
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2008
  12. wolf2009 Guest

    Is that a typo ?

    Shouldn't it be 45nm ?
     
  13. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,516 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia

    read the next sentence.

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,118 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    the only users still buing amd is ones who have an amd board, simple an upgrade to a phenom is cheaper than a new mobo cpu

    so do these phenom x2s clock well because clock for clock they are better so assuming they get better with overclocking

    either way with x4s only a little more seems pointless to release these cpu
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did you look closely at the CPU-Z shot?

    Please don't discuss things in a confrontational tone.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2008
  16. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    3600MT/s on a dual core AMD, what a mind blower. Im wondering though if HT 3.1 will show anytime soon as well as a slightly faster FSB. I still don't know why magazines are still promoting dual-cores cause dualies seem to perform far better at single-core apps like Half-life 2. As for true CPU power when it comes to gaming, people keep bickering over CPUs when they are neck-to-neck at most high resolutions like 1600x1200.
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    IMO it's not a 'mind blower', it's a 'no brainer'. A K10 dual core would never need that much system bandwidth, but it's more of a compulsion since they're carving dual-cores out of a common K10 design.
     
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,293 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA

    Hey CPU-Z shows the 6500 is a Black Edition. Is that true? We get a DC blacky on K10? May be it can reach 3+ easily.
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, so was the 5000+ used in the comparison. The objective was to compare the two at the stock speeds of 6500 BE for a clock-to-clock performance comparison.
     
  20. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    my old E6600 churns out 15s on Super Pi 1M. how is this acceptable for them to even be manufacturing CPU's.

    i think they should close shop. maybe focus on some other market. like plastic action figures.

    especially is nVidia releases an x86 GPU, they're screwed for good.
     
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Yeah -- AMD closes shop, and then the average entry level chip from Intel goes up to about $500 (and research grinds to a halt), due to loss of competition. :rolleyes:

    Is that what you want?

    (And people have been talking about Nvidia making an x86 chip for many years -- even if they somehow do get a license, I'll believe it when I see it.)
     
  22. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I'm not saying they should, just that financially they're in for a rough ride unless they focus more on graphics in the future or come out with some seriously powerful CPU's.
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Tell that to the P4 and PD owners.
     
  24. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    did I miss something new from, or do any of amd's recent (powerful) graphics offerings not count in your book?

    anyways, although the new x2's should be nice budget cpu's, unfortunately, intel also has expanded their lineup to include cheaper cpu's like the e7*** series, and unless the x2 can directly compete, prices would have to be very "budget" to compete
     
  25. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    To someone who has seen the scores they're probably good enough to convert an nVidia fanboy to and ATi, however if they really want to pull in some money from the gaming graphics market they need to advertise, and get some partnership with game publishers such as the "works best on nVidia" slogan, or even throw their logo on those world of warcraft commercials. I realize that it would probably be pretty expensive but would definitely prove to be a lucrative investment.

    as of right now to the general market they're appealing to they are nothing but a sour taste in the mouth of the gaming graphics market from the past and need to prove themselves otherwise on a large scale.

    I'm convinced they're a great company and I always stick with the best product at time of purchase regardless of brand.

    4870 1GB FTW
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page