1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Photoshop CS4 to Have 64-Bit Version... But Only on Windows

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    In the past, Macs were sometimes argued to be better for image editing than Windows-based PCs. To be perfectly honest, I’m not sure if this was true or a complete myth, but it looks like things may not be like that anymore with the introduction of Adobe’s Windows-only 64-bit version of Photoshop Creative Suite 4. Until now, Adobe has strived to ensure that both the Windows and Mac versions of Photoshop come with similar features. However, due to a choice by Apple not to make the Carbon technology that is used to develop Photoshop available as 64-bit, Adobe has decided it will not be providing a 64-bit version of CS4. Adobe’s product manager for Photoshop, John Nack, said:
    Adobe’s preliminary testing suggests that the 64-bit version of Photoshop CS4 will offer a performance boost of 8-12%, with the benefits being much greater for memory-intensive tasks due to its ability to take advantage of more than 4GB of memory.

    Source: CNET
     
    CrackerJack says thanks.
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
  3. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    sweet!
    anyone know when its release date is?
     
  4. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    its nice to see a 64bit version, serves apple right if they are unwilling to advance its technology. I am aware that carbon is getting on a bit now compared to its newer brother cocoa but carbon is still commonly used by cross platform developers, imo bad move that will come back to bite apple on the arse.
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  5. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I don't know of a release date, but I know that there is a CS4 Beta. I don't know if it' open or closed, but I downloaded the beta the other day (haven't gotten around to installing it). I won't post the link where I got though as I don't know if it would be allowed.
     
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Cool.

    Though I hope they mean the entire CS4 collection will be 64bit, not just Photoshop. Premiere and After Effects could use it more than PS.
     
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    very true!

    we use cs3 at school on macs and i use it at home on my computer... it works allot better on mine :) dont know why people think photoshop works so much better on macs
     
    Dangle says thanks.
  8. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    :) wow that was quick...cs3 is not that old yet....
     
  9. Millenia

    Millenia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Turenki, Finland
    Cool stuff, I'm on a 64-bit Vista with 4 gigs of RAM so this will be a welcome feature :cool:
     
  10. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Sure, some aspects of speed come from software and the OS, but the main boost comes from hardware. Since you can get some beefier hardware on a pc these days for less money, it's no wonder why people say that Photoshop runs faster than on a mac. They probably have a high-end system compared to the macs they've used before.
     
  11. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    Release date is between Dec.08 and April 09. This is the newest date that i can find. If i found more info, i'll let ya'll know.


    As far as I know the Entire CS4 Suite will be 64-Bit. They have been working on this since last summer. So surely it will be, but no promise. But the Photoshop CS4 Beta is is ONLY 32-Bit for right now. When I get the chance I'll upload the CS4 Beta on my site. If you already have CS3, I wouldn't worry about it. Not in less you want too.
     
  12. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    oh ok so we got some time!
    thnks jack
     
  13. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    I've been waiting for adobe to release something like this!, my machine was made mainly for their software and other editing software.

    :D
     
  14. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    yeah same here, now cs4 will allow all us to use it farther.

    Here's a screenshot!!!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    OMG!!! It's a freaking miracle that adobe actually went 64 bit... sucks about not getting it on the mac side though... really gay of apple to do it.. i use cs3e on my home computer and cs2 mac/cs windows at school. cs3e is mainly uber cool gui + plus some extra features. ps for windows is something i'd never wanna touch after using the newer ones and cs2 mac is really awesome to work with.. its easier and faster to use gui-wise. of course we have the cheap imacs at are school with nice c2d's but not much ram so they lag with big images and thats where my machine and cs3e really pwn... but i'd really want os x leopard + cs3e on my machine...

    what instruction sets does cs3 use up to? sse2?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  16. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    WOOHOO! finally! now i can enjoy photoshop without having to dual boot and stuff like that haha
     
  17. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yay i only just get cs3 now there updating with a new one dang oh well 64 bit will be good
     
  18. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    A Mac Pro still beats my rig hands down. I just can't compete with 8 cores.
     
  19. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    It was 3 years between CS2 and CS3, so I assume we will seen CS4 in 2010 or shortly after Windows 7 is launched so they are sure it'll run. I use Photoshop CS3e and the rest is CS2 still... Not ready to upgrade the whole lot until I learn it better.
     
  20. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    The CS3 macromedia line sux balls. They didn't upgrade anything. Which is why I'm not upgrading Studio 8 until CS4 comes around. I hope it's all 64 bit. WOOT! Poo ON U apple! Here's what I get from macFanboys all the time: "Photoshop is made for apple hardware so it wurkz bettur!!!1!"
     
  21. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    When I decide to spend $4000 on a tower that only outspecs my two year old $1800 tower in the processor category, Ill shoot myself publicly.

    Im using these Pro's at university and they arnt that crash hot as every design teacher and mac fanboy student praises it to be. I was actually looking forward to using one... What a let down lol. I can see from the upgrade options on it that it could be quite a formidible platform though...but stock....the stock package sucks.

    As for the 64 bit edition, its good to see them rolling it out in CS4.
    Running a 32 bit edition of photoshop on a 64 bit OS doesnt yield the greatest results and I look forward to how much performance/stability improves with this.

    Another blow to the Apple team?
     
  22. graphicsHorse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    64 bit for Photoshop, After Effects and Premier would be cool indeed.

    64 bit wouldn't be much of a use for Dreamweaver, Flash etc though
    (but is still welcomed nonetheless)
     
  23. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    64 bit anything would be welcomed.
    We should be using 64 bit everything, but we arnt because developers cant get their act together. Hardware manufacturers and the lack of 64 bit drivers for various products also holds us back from 64 bit becoming the rule rather than the exception.
     
    Millenia and Dangle say thanks.
  24. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,900 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    Florida, US
    sweet can't wait for it to come out!
     
  25. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    For the same price you can easily build a Windows Vista x64 based system using a pair of quad core Xeon processors. Never heard of Skulltrail?

    Using 64-bit VirtualBox myself. :D
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page