1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Physx with a 5770...

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Cja123, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Do you guys think it would be worth going through the trouble of using my old 9600 gt as a dedicated physx card w/ my new 5770? Would I see a substantial performance increase? I don't know much about using physx with ATI so any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :toast:
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I suggest you give it ago, I could do with my GTX285 but I'm far too lazy to do so. Click 'ere for the 64bit files so that you can do this and then all you have to do is this (apparently)...

    1.) Download the latest Forceware drivers but don't reboot when asked to do so. Install that patch I've given you the link to and hit the 'Cake' button. Your machine will reboot once it's finished.

    2.) Once back into Windows, Right-click and choose 'Screen Resolution' and then 'Detect'. A grey box should pop up with 'Another display not connected' You need to select 'Try to connect anyway on VGA' from the Multiple-Displays' drop-down menu and click 'Apply'. After that select 'Extend these displays' & then 'Apply' again.

    3.)Right-click and load the nVIDIA control panel. Select 'Set PhysX config...' Choose a game that you're going to be playing and see what you get.

    Do a before and after test just to clarify any advantages.

    Good luck (if you do).
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  3. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    thanks for the info:toast: Do I need to have my other card plugged into my monitor? and should I install the latest forceware drivers with the 9600 gt plugged into the mobo or do I wait until after the driver install?
    EDIT- pretty positive the 9600 gt has to be connected to the monitor and in the computer when installing the drivers right?
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  4. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well it isn't working. I connected the VGA and made a fake monitor connection. Downloaded and installed latest Nvidia drivers but it didn't ask me to restart, I opened the patch tool anyways and there is no bake a cake option that I can tell. What am I doing wrong?
  5. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Solved the problem by downloading a newer version of the patch. Thanks. Oh and is there any way to make the display a tad bit narrower? Cause my mouse seems to go off my monitor and take awhile to come back.
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Unfortunately I've never been bothered to do it, as for the cursor coming off the screen - Windows thinks you've got another display now so unfortunately not much you can do about it (that I know of) - trial & error I guess.

    Noticed any improvements?
  7. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well I ran the only benchmark I have on my system currently (resident evil 5) and saw no improvement there (still 74.1 fps average). Perhaps resident evil 5 doesn't utilize physx?
  8. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Wow, let me know how things go. Might be ordering a physx card depending on how this does.
  9. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Alright man, will do. I need to find a physx game lol. I don't think I have any.
  10. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Cja123 says thanks.
  11. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
  12. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    I have a copy of Sacred 2 I can sell you. Pm me if you want it.
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    After that comment, not worth it! Your spending more money by keeping your 9600GT in there just for the sake of using it. You would be better off with a 2nd 5770. :)
    Cja123 says thanks.
  14. GhoXen

    GhoXen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I managed to add my 8800 for PhysX onto my 5870. It works, and after a few weeks I realized that it isn't really worth it. After all this time the only game which showed me significant visual improvement, relatively, was Batman Arkham Asylum.

    The improvements came in the form of some wavering flags or some fog. All in all those were not nearly impressive enough for the trouble, cost and glitches required in order to become PhysX-capable.

    AMD wasn't lying when they deemed PhysX not worth their time.
  15. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I'm kinda leaning toward agreeing with you on this one buddy. How's about should I undo the process in which I have done? wipe drivers, remove card, undo changes in the display settings and wallah?
  16. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Thanks guys. I guess I wont be buying a card after all :ohwell:.
  17. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    You think it would be worth it crossfiring on a p5q pro? I believe electrically it's X16 X8
  18. GhoXen

    GhoXen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yep, that's about it.

    The whole operation could have been more worthy if we could get 3D vision out of the nvidia card at least.

    ADD: x16 x8 should be fine.

    Just so you know with the new 5 series cards, x8 and x16 has about 2% difference in performance.
    Cja123 says thanks.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    Even if it's x16 + x4 it's worth it.

    [​IMG]
    Cja123 and Charper2013 say thanks.
  20. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
  21. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Damn, thanks Erocker.
    Thanks for the info Gho. I'll probably pick up a second 5770 when the prices drop.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page