1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PII X3 710 back on the Egg

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice to see it back, but it's $10 more than it was before, and with the new 620 out at a lower cost it's a really questionable price now more than every.
     
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I think they're getting rid of the inven and making room for the X3 740, moving the prices down a notch accordingly.
     
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Well it does have the 6MB L3 cache. While the new 620 does have an extra core, the L3 cache will help in games and other apps. that pre-cache commands (if I understand that correctly).

    At average screen resolution, we are talking 6 to 10 frames per second, but 10 FPS can push a game out of a playable frame rate at higher settings at the same screen res.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That's a VERY hard choice VS the 620. I would grab the 620 for a multimedia/internet rig and the 710 for a gaming rig.
     
  6. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    I belive i read that you can unlock the L3 cache on the 620 through ACC

    not 100% sure so ill go try to find link
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    It depends on whether it's a Deneb or not. Some batches are Denebs with locked L3, some are true Athlon IIs.
     
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I wouldn't risk it on a maybe. I would just buy what you want, but I would also just dish the extra 10 spot and get the 720BE to OC it with each. You can OC the 710, but the 720 takes less work.
     
  9. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I just built another machine for someone and used the X2 550 to base it around...I really wished the 710 was there last Sunday when I ordered everything. :)

    Oh well I've not done any work in finding out whether or not the processor is able to use any of the deactivated cores so maybe that would work out either way. He's already got FAR more speed than he'll need for many years so it's no rush, and if it doesn't have the extra cores it doesn't matter. :)

    That 710 looks awesome though and had I the choice to do over I'd have picked that over the X2 550 no contest.

    Kei
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page