1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pirating FTL?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Solaris17, May 11, 2012.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    I really hate pirates. I really hate people that pirate windows more. So Last night i was reading a pdf I had to work the next morning so i called it quiets and went to bed. I use my laptop everyday as my desktop is down. it came with win 7 HP and i reformat it once in awhile. its been about 6 months though since i even touched it. today i get out of work and open it up (i never shut it off) hoping to get back to some reading. i was instead greeted by an activation screen telling me my version of windows was not genuine and I would need to buy a new key. I of course suddenly got pissed. The phone activation went smooth the automated system verified and read me back a new installation Id and it activated. It didnt defer me to a person. I guess in the end it all worked out pretty well for now anyway. But I didnt do any updates i didnt modify anything and i honestly just use it to browse etc. my latop isnt as strong as my desktop so I dont install alot of programs or games or diag soft etc their really isnt any point. The only thing I can honestly think of is that someone someware managed to gen my key or something and install it. I suppose I could be wrong but their really isnt any way I did anything software wise or someone came by and wrote it down off the bottom of my PC. Has this ever happened to anyone else.
     
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,252 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Never happened to me, no. I don't know what you with the laptop application-wise, but if it keeps on happening I suggest considering Linux if the way you use the machine allows it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    thats what i thought. i did an AV scan and nothing came up (im wicked into security) i could use linux but id rather not. its my machine and my key. i use VS2010 anyway so id rather not make the switch on my laptop.
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I'd call MS back and ask them if they know why this might have happened. Could just be some odd occurrence from it sitting for so long with out being shut down, or as you may believe someone hijacked your key. If it is the second option, I'd ask what can be done to prevent this from happening again, and see if they will provide you with a new key that can be kept somewhere safe so that if you do have to re-activate, you can do it with a key you know can't be hijacked/stolen.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,171 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Wasn't there a patch or something before that caused this to happen to a ton of people- all in error? I remember a thread where people who legitimately purchased Windows were greeted by the same message. Given that its been 6 months since you used it, this could very well be related.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    no this was on my laptop its been fully updated i updated it not to long ago. my desktop is still dead.
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I doubt it had anything to do with someone pirating your key.
    As you stated, you corrected it without problem through MS, so all is well.
    Why it happened is difficult to determine. Do a BIOS update on the laptop lately?
     
  8. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,231 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Sucks but it happens all the time really. The service pretty much exists because of it.
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    ya 3 months ago i did one the only real thing it added was support for SSDs
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    While it is possible that someone else used your key, that wouldn't cause the behavior you saw. Microsoft just can't send a signal out to your laptop and de-activate it, that isn't how the system works. Something on your laptop had to trigger the OS to do an activation check and require a re-activation.

    It could be a lot of things that cause this, usually after so many hardware changes Windows will require a re-activation, however I've also seen it happen after updating drivers for numerous pieces of hardware(even though automatic Windows update), and I've even seen installing Windows update trigger it.

    Since it activated without a problem via the phone system it isn't likely that someone else is using your key, since Microsoft would have flagged it and not let you use the key to activate.
     
    hellrazor and Soylent Joe say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    looks like outlook isnt happy either. this one hilights hardware changes. but everything in device manager is the same?


    [​IMG]

    this activation failed though. and now outlook doesnt work
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    i have to reactivate my laptop every month with this BS.

    pirated copies never have to reactivate (and get working win updates). legit users get shafted again.
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    and before some smart ass says something about utorrent


    [​IMG]
     
    hellrazor says thanks.
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, had the same thing happen, on a laptop too, but a Dell. It happened when the warranty ran out. :p


    Re-activated fine, had issues with Office as well, but a phonecall fixed it all.:wtf:
     
  15. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    This happened to me this week. On my desktop. The one time I left it running, it self updated. I just bumped the mouse, not realizing it was in standby....it restarted its self. After desktop came up, said...you have been a victim of counterfeit software....so I looked at the updates, but didn't see anything out of place. Wasn't worried about it. After a forced shutdown (read: power switch), I put in safe mode. Everything was peachy. After regular reboot, activation notice went away.
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida

    the thing that gets me is that if something happened to force a call home from windows and office why didnt VS do it?
     
  17. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Vs = visual studio?
     
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    ya i have VS 2010 ultimate (got it via school for cheap) so its not express edition it needs to be activated and bought like everything else. i booted it up after i got pissed at outlook and its fine.
     
  19. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I still haven't had to use my legit key that i got from college or any key for my system because there anti piracy methods only screw ppl that actually use legitimate activation and like to upgrade there hardware.

    The same OEM bios activation loophole that's been around since Vista beta still hasn't been fixed hence the reason oem machines have problems.
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    well i just got off the phone with some Scandinavian or something. she made me go get my outlook disk and read her the numbers and shit around the hole. im kinda irritated but she then read me a number cluster that worked and it activated. i asked her how this could happen and she said she didnt know. i tried to explain to her what happened and she just kept interrupting and asking if the activation worked i said it did and tried explaining the situation again she cut me off and wished me a good day and hung up.

    EDIT:: I suppose with both outlook and windows freaking out it does seem more like a glitch then a pirating incident. but they should really fix it considering the amount of activations is probably going to now require me to call them every 4 months. when i format. which is what it did on my desktop but I could understand that i formatted when ever i changed hardware which was frequently.
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,353
    Not really as I've never had this problem on any of my computers.

    If you want them to look into it they have to make a case of it, and depending on where you live they might charge you for it. But activation stuff usually is free. But then this stuff usually is kinda hard to pinpoint.
     
  22. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,294 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    the thing is that my laptop is a toshiba and my key is not the toshiba master key. i dont restore from an image or anything. i actually use a windows 7 AIO image. that way i can format my laptop my desktop (pro) and other peoples PCs. and i use the key on the laptop when prompted. iv never had the problem before.
     
  24. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Don't blame pirates. It's MS fault. I've had to fix this once or twice on every machine I own. I know MS rolled out an update recently that checks your CD key again. (They did this a year ago as well.) Don't remember which one thou.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,353
    How come I don't have these problems despite constant hardware changes? And a lot A LOT of other people don't have these issues.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page