1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Planning on installing Linux (Ubuntu?) for the first time

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by El_Mayo, Oct 8, 2011.

1. El_Mayo

El_Mayo

Thanks Received:
    I have a very old laptop which slow as hell, so I want to install Linux on it and give it to my mum (she literally just browses the internet)

I've never used Linux before, but I've read you can boot linux and run it from a USB stick; I want to do this first before installing it to the hard drive to see what it's like

I've tried this , but it says "an error occured while executing syslinux. Your USB drive won't be bootable" :(

Also on the drop down list provided in the install app, which version of Ubuntu should I install? 'cos there's loadsss

2. KieranD

KieranD

Thanks Received:
    Assuming the laptop has a dvd/cd drive you can download a live distro that will allow you to test it without installing.

Dont get ubunut for an old computer get xubuntu or Lubuntu, Puppy Linux and DSL (damn small linux) are also lightweight although not based on ubuntu.

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
    That program will install a linux distro from the drop down menu to a USB stick, you need the iso file for a distro first.

Universal USB installer is a similar program but ive never used it before. The advantages of installing it to a flash drive is it will act like a properly installed operating system rather than a live distro which gets wiped from the ram when you shut it down.

El_Mayo says thanks.
  3. El_Mayo

El_Mayo

Thanks Received:
    Well it's a laptop from 2004, but the more lightweight the better

I'll try Xubuntu first :)

4. eightclicknine New Member

Thanks Received:
    unetbootin is another easy program to use to install bootloaders and images to flash drives, btw. Try linux mint if you dont have your heart too set on ubuntu, its also pretty good for beginners.