1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PLAYSTATION3 (PS3) Firmware v2.35 Available

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 15, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    PLAYSTATION3 (PS3) firmware update 2.35 is now available. According to the PlayStation Blog, v2.35 is "a relatively minor update" that should "improve stability of some PS3 titles." Unfortunately Rockstar's GTA IV is not among these PS3 games. Al De Leon, SCEA's PR Manager said: "I just want to clarify that this upcoming firmware update isn't related to GTA IV. For those of you who may still have an issue playing the game on your PS3, we have identified a solution that should resolve the issue. You can contact SCEA Consumer Services for support."

    Source: PlayStatoin.Blog, Joystiq
     
  2. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Any update is good news to me, pity they didn't provide more detailed information about it, sorry to hear people are still having problems with GTA IV, i just got a PS3 from a friend of mine, it was a launch console, i've had none of the problems other people have been suffering from, i must be lucky with the PS3, which is good as my 360 decided to start eating my games by feasting on GTA IV :(
     
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,690 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    This update has nothing at all to do with GTA IV preformance (goto the offical Playstation blog). Furthermore, the fix for PS3 GTA IV is already out, now wheres the Xbox fix?
     
  4. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    They always fix the better console first ya know :p
     
  5. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    I know this, i was just saying it's sad that the problem hasn't been fixed, also the 1.01 patch didn't seem to fix the problems for alot of people
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
  6. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,690 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Source? Because according to the people over at psu.com, the "problems" (which I think you are trying to say freezing) have been fixed with the patch (for the majority), or if you did what Sony said to do on their official blog (they offered a pre-patch fix/replacement PS3 even though it's actually software based).
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
  7. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    950 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    ...well what is it?
     
  8. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    I'm sorry, i should of sourced that, sadly it just comes from various forums i visit, and two friends of mine, one lives just down the street, he still can't even get passed the first cutscene, freezes as soon as roman opens the boot, my other friend has problems going to pay and sprays because it might freeze :(

    Anyway, this is getting a little off-topic, good to see they brought out a new firmware update :)
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    The only thing fixed with the GTA patch was the network issue. A lot of people (including me) game locked up during loading, and it was the result of a network issue. Also the multiplayer had bad stability issues and trouble connecting, which was also fixed in the patch. The initial freezing issue (the one that happens in the first cut scene) still occurs.
     
  10. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I thought the better console doesn't have to be fixed?
     
  11. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    I only had freezes during the game loading and if I had the network cable unplugged, then after I plugged it back in. It seemed too only be at popular times in a U.S. timezone as well (morning here). The 1.01 patch seemed to fix it fine.
     
  12. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    Compared to other consoles you dont see the ps3 giving flash red rings :p
     
  13. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Exactly why I sold my 360 and got a PS3. I was scared, lol.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page