1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please give me some feedback on my first build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by manchesterutd81, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I've been ready to buy a computer for some time... but i just can't find what I want, so ive decided to build my own.. :respect:Please give me some feed back and tell me if this is a good build


    Seagate 1tb 7200rpm 64mb cache

    WIN 7 64bit

    LG DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model GH24NS50

    GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5 AM3 AMD 790FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

    SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100282-2GVXSR Radeon HD 5850 (Cypress Pro) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity

    CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-950TX 950W ATX12V v2.3/EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

    G.SKILL PI 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL6Q-8GBPI

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 140W Quad-Core Processor Model HDZ965FBGIBOX

    G.SKILL FTB-3500C6-S Fans

    CORSAIR Cooling Hydro Series CWCH50-1 120mm High Performance CPU Cooler

    thanks guys,
    other than surfing the net and checking my email, it may see duty as i will want to play the new starcraft and Diablo 3 when it comes out... also i have 2 LG hd 23inch monitors

    Ive always wanted something cool and will also explore Overclocking as i will put the amd at :rockout:4.0:rockout: hopefully.

    Also will the gskill ram I have chosen work with my Mob?

    thanks again:toast:
    josh
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2010
  2. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    why a 950w psu???

    EDIT: High end air cooling beats low end water cooling. what casing are you using???
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,284 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,075
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    ^^This, I'd say get a quality 650/750w (Antec True Power New 650/750w, Corsair HX650/HX750w, or an XFX 750w Black Edition)

    Also, get the AMD Phenom II X4 965 125w, it's the newer C3 stepping (vs the C2 stepping of the 140w) so it'll overclock better (most C2s don't like going past 3.9ghz, but C3s don't have an issue with that)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Why not.... lol, No I just thought it might be good to have one larger than I need in-case I add more fans or a different cooling system one day... i really want this comp to last me 5 years..

    I've never had a comp better than the 300 buck deal from dell, which im using right now, and I want something to tinker with and like I said there are a few games coming out that I want to play and in my older age I want it to be awesome when I fire it up with no latency issues or hitches like my mom and dads use to do back in 1999 lol, im so old lol
     
  5. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So your saying that the use the 965 at 125w not the 140w due to it allows more OC... sweet ill check into it,

    I also need a full tower case that will grow with me and has plenty of room for cool fans and LED's lol

    thanks again
    josh
     
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,284 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,075
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    The Cooler Master HAF932 is very popular because it's large, has good airflow and cable management, and many people like the looks. I'm not a fan of the military theme, but you may like it. If not, check out the Antec 1200, it's one of my favorite cases.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    HAF 932 maybe?? or CM 690 II???
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    There is nothing wrong with the H50 and I would hold out for the 1090T and a 890FX mobo.
     
  9. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    hey Ion, if I dont do over clocking will the CPU I picked be better than the 120w you said to try?
     
  10. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    how long until that becomes avalible?
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    About a week ;)
     
  12. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
  14. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    OH MY!!! sweet im glad I posted before pushing the button on newegg.com.. i have it all brought up right now and im dying to press the buy!!!!:nutkick:
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Just wait about a week. You'll be glad you did. Also Seagate is crap for hard drives IMO. I would look for a WD or Hitachi.
     
  16. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    SO wait!!!!!!!

    Now ive got to start all over... if i get the 6-core... what MOB am i going to get, cause i know its not going to fit in the one ive picked... will it?:confused:
     
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    It might. For instance mine supports it and its an "old" 790GX. Now if you get a 8xx series mobo it will fit without a doubt.
     
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It certainly will with a bios update, which is very easy to do with Gigabyte boards.
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Personally if I were you I would look at a 890FX or even dare I say an i7 setup?
     
  20. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I really want to stay with the AMD, this six core cpu is right up with what i want, the best of the best... plus im sure it will eat anything i throw at it with the graphics card i picked! right?
     
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,284 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,075
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yep, it'll fit, you picked an AM3 motherboard, and all of AMD's current CPUs are AM3 ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    The GPU is fine. I run a 5850 and with a GX or FX board you can always go crossfire.
     
  23. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    you getting the collector's Ed of starcraft? If so you've probably got a beta key like i did XD

    that'll def give you lag free starcraft 2
     
    More than 25k PPD
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    You send me the parts and Ill build your rig. The wires will be hidden and pristine.......I know you wont but I like to build things :D
     
  25. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok let me ask, the graphics card i picked, would 2, 1gb graphics cards in crossfire help or be stupid, also what if they were 128bit.. its cheaper
    but what if i used the 256bit but bought 2 and used in cross fire would that do anything... cause i kinda wanted to have more than 3 monitors but im not going to buy 2 of the graphics cards at 400bucks thats looney right?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page