• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please help... Can't get on internet...

fmonte

I just bought a used Acer Desktop(Model Aspire T180). It did not come with an OS installed so I freshly installed XP Pro. I can't get on the internet and although I'm a noob, I know it must be a driver. I went out to their website but could not find it(see list below). I called Acer support but they would not help me because when I installed XP it voided out any warranty or support for this machine(originally manufactured with Vista). Their website for support is www.acerpanam.com I was hoping someone could walk me through step by step how to get this working so I could get on the internet.

FYI, I went to the device manager and here is where the yellow question marks are:

?Ethernet controller
?PCI Device
?PCI Modem
?SM Bus Controller
?Video Comtroller(vga compatible)

Of the 5 items listed I figured the Ethernet controller is the driver I need but I don't see it anywhere listed in the list below. By the way, I can't do a fax or get any sound either and if it is not to much trouble I need some help for that also but right now I am concentrating on getting the internet working. Thank you in advance. Frank PS. If I download a driver and execute it and it is the wrong one, will it cause any harm to the machine?

Aspire T180
Acer eDataSecurity Management
Windows Vista
Acer eDataSecurity Management.zip
Acer eMode Management
Windows Vista
Acer eMode Management.zip
Acer Empowering Technology for Windows Vista
Windows Vista
Acer Empowering Technology.zip
Acer ePerformance Management for Windows Vista
Windows Vista
Acer ePerformance Management.zip
Aspire E380/T180 ATI Video Driver
Windows XP
Aspire_E380_T180_UD_ATI.zip
Aspire E380/T180 Audio Driver
Windows XP
Aspire_E380_T180_AUDIO.zip
Aspire E380/T180 Chipset Driver
Windows XP
Aspire_E380_T180_CHIPSET.zip
Aspire E380/T180 CPU Driver
Windows XP