1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please help me fix my hard drive problem?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by cheesy999, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Please help me fix my Case, PSU and motherboard problem?

    My Maxtor one touch 4 is having some minor problems, after prolonged use (more then 20 mins of data access), the speed and access rate will start to slow down, and after a while, the drive will stop responding

    it does have warranty on it, so f necessarily i can RMA it, however i'd like to know if this is just normal for USB drives (having no other to compare it with at the moment) or whether this is old age or something

    The disk -> [​IMG]

    the hardware ECC recovered value keeps changing so i think there may be some sort of drive error

    -- S.M.A.R.T. --------------------------------------------------------------
    ID Cur Wor Thr RawValues(6) Attribute Name
    01 100 253 __6 000000000000 Read Error Rate
    03 _91 _88 __0 000000000000 Spin-Up Time
    04 _96 _96 _20 0000000013FA Start/Stop Count
    05 100 100 _36 000000000000 Reallocated Sectors Count
    07 _85 _60 _30 000017D21703 Seek Error Rate
    09 _84 _84 __0 0000000038CA Power-On Hours
    0A 100 100 _97 000000000000 Spin Retry Count
    0C 100 100 _20 00000000031B Power Cycle Count
    BB 100 100 __0 000000000000 Reported Uncorrectable Errors
    BD 100 100 __0 000000000000 High Fly Writes
    BE _32 _25 _45 033B45430044 Airflow Temperature
    C2 _68 _75 __0 001000000044 Temperature
    C3 _59 _52 __0 0000038D75BD Hardware ECC recovered
    C5 100 100 __0 000000000000 Current Pending Sector Count
    C6 100 100 __0 000000000000 Uncorrectable Sector Count
    C7 200 200 __0 000000000000 UltraDMA CRC Error Count
    C8 100 253 __0 000000000000 Write Error Rate
    CA 100 253 __0 000000000000 Data Address Mark Error


    EDIT:Changed the thread title
    EDIT^Again
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  2. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have you tried it with another pc / a laptop? You were saying in the other thread you were having USB problems...
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    yep, i had to run chkdsk on a laptop after my PC removed all the partitions and decided the drive was 5.6GB big (a reoccurring problem with this drive seems to be it randomly messes up the security settings so you can't access it from the OS you were running at the time)
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Looks as the temps are sky high! keep it in the 40deg range!
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Maybe the external hard drive killed the usb slots, sounds like its dying Cheesy. Try defrag and recover the disk.
    Sounds like a problem with the disk spinning maybe a power surge destroyed the USB and the hard drive?
    Afraid im sure people will say to RMA it, depends if its still in warranty.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    Indeed! 69 ~ 75c seems way too hot for a HDD. Has it always run that hot? If the temperature readings are correct, I would RMA that thing.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    can't do that, opening the case would void the warranty...

    no, my USB problems happened when i let someone use my PC and they bent the pins in a USB port causing it to short circuit, this was attached to a rear USB port and they still work anyway (only took out the USB headers it would seem)

    the problem is that seatools doesn't find a problem and i don't think any of these codes http://www.seagate.com/staticfiles/support/seatools/seatools-test-codes.html describe my problem, so they might send it back claming its working.

    anyone know a way to let seagate know my drive slows down after prolonged use and randomly deletes my partitions and file tables?

    EDIT: It's also really loud (seriously i can hear it over my music, and it vibrates a lot), do you think i could send it back as 'noisy'
     
  8. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    If it's loud all the time I would RMA it with the retailer describing the symptoms, assuming it is within a year.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    Mechanical failure imminent. Bearing is going out, thus making noise and getting hot. Backup your data to something else ASAP and RMA.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    cheesy, I know there's a whole load of things going wrong with your rig at the mo. When there's a load of random problems that seem to affect different bits of hardware at different times then I'd start looking at PSU.

    PSU could be slowly killing components. Me and FreedomEclipse among others can tell you that this is entirely feasible.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    no, there is a problem with the PSU but it's not that, the drive did it's first 'remove all my partitions phase' before i was using this PSU, the Case is broken but it's what caused the Mobo to break, and the case was broke by this very hard drive (well the hard drive was what caused the damage that allowed someone to break my case braking my mobo at the same time)


    Hard drive is from 2009 meaning i have to send it to seagate (and pay the postage on this brick of a hard drive)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  12. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    So there is a problem with your PSU? What are you doing man! Get it out of there! You'll have nothing but problems with a dodgy PSU! A gammy PSU will cause all sorts of random things to break at random times so until you replace it, how you can start any process of elimination? It's impossible for you and for us to pinpoint the problem with a shagged PSU.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i don't have enough money!, and besides the problem only occurs when the PC is unplugged, so i fixed it by just leaving the PC on

    if anyone can find me a decent PSU for ~£30 i may consider replacing it, but until then it's lasted 1-2 months like this so it can stay like this
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    So you turn your PC off but leave it on at the plug (standby) and it's alright when you turn it back on?
    But when you turn it off by the plug then turn it on it goes gammy?
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    yes, 100%, if you can help me fix my current PSU then i will do whatever you say
     
  16. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    On that, I'd go back to my old tip, replace BIOS battery. It sounds like it's losing settings when you turn off at the plug, so the battery is probably dead. Doesn't matter how old your mobo is, the battery can always die.

    But still, you need to sort your PSU out. You can replace it yourself or you can do what I did with Antec - RMA it saying it kills hardware after a few weeks/months. This makes it hard for them to replicate the problem, as they won't want to keep it running on a bench for weeks to find a fault.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    It's not the battery i fixed it by changing PSU's, but i won't run that PSU 24/7 as i feel running off an unbranded 400w carries a higher risk then runnning it off my current one

    it's got no warranty cause i bought it off TPU
     
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If it's still in warranty period, I can help you with that as long as the person who sold it to you is willing to help too. There's usually a way round the "non-transferrable warranty" ;) Just to clarify, I think it's your OCZ PSU that's dead/dying so I think your OCZ PSU murdered something and now you're still experiencing problems even after changing PSU.

    In case you haven't noticed, I'm blaming PSU :p :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  19. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Quick question: are the USB ports still bent? Are the pins touching?
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    I'm going to tell you some very important details regarding my rig

    yesterday i took it apart and tested every single part of my PC, here are my results

    USB
    the USB port on the front of my PC had some bent pins causing a short circuit, after being bent back into positions, the USB ports now work when attached to another motherboard, but no ports will work attached to this motherboard

    Problem = MOBO

    Power problem
    The power problem is caused by the PSU, i temporarily swapped out the PSU for another and it worked, overall i know where the problem lies there

    Problem = PSU

    Hard drive problem
    this has happened 3 times, once last year on a completely different rig, the only common part between that rig and the one i have now it the GFX card., second was earlier on on this rig, before i got the OCZ, third was now, and the hard drive now has some new symptoms to go with it

    Problem = ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Bad luck :laugh:

    My older brother's rig was working fine until he upgraded to a 2nd hand 7950GT. His PSU died two weeks later and he didn't want to chance using the 7950 so he upgraded again. Just saying, GPU can kill PSU IMO. Might not be relevant, but still worth noting.

    The way I see it, you've answered your own questions.
    Mobo - f*cked
    OCZ PSU - dying so should be RMA'd
    HDD - stop using Seagate. You've got a HD103SJ (I guess?) so go with Samsungs IMO.
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    1:i was going to ring ebuyer today but totally forgot :(
    2:Can't do that :(
    3:It's a Maxtor they were just taken over by seagate :mad:, Samsung have now been taken over by WD

    EDIT: I see you've been reading my specs...
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    there are still a lot of samsung hard drives ont he market that are MADE by samsung and not WD.

    the WD transition will come later. for now only samsung make samsung drives
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  24. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    1:tomorrow
    2:who sold it to you?
    3:HD103SJ's are still the same and are available eeeeverywhere. I did a search before I posted to make sure they were still about.


    yup :p
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  25. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    1:Yes
    2:http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/member.php?u=67227
    3:i know, problem is i don't trust myself to have 2 identical hard drives and not raid them, secondly it'll cost a lot more money to buy a new HDD then it will to send this one off

    EDIT:Look at this 750W for £20, and it has 'comes in a box' as one of it's special features http://www.scan.co.uk/products/750w...t-fan-24plus4-pin-intel-v203-enhanced-plus12v :rolleyes:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page