1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please Insert Disc (But I already did!)

Discussion in 'Storage' started by beyond_amusia, May 18, 2009.

  1. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    My old motherboard died and I am using an ASUS PQ5 SE Plus as a stand in until my new Phemon gets here with Vista x64 SP2. Since I've made the switch though, I've run into several DVD/CD read errors and slow transfer rates. I've experianced these issues with the drives connected to the onboard IDE, and also while they've been hooked up to a PCI IDE add in card. I thought at first it might be my drives, so I got an LG SATA DVD-RW drive thinking all would be well and pullerd out the other drives and I NEARLY threw them away, but I had second thoughtys and just set them on the floor so I could test them in another rig. Well, I popped in a DVD-R a day after installing the new drive and Vista once again insisted that I insert a disc when I double clicked it in Computer.

    With all drives, Vista has displayed the DVD-RW/ROM and CD-R/RW/ROM icons while the disc it refused to read was in the drive rather than the default drive icon used when the drive is empty.

    I've exausted my resources on hand to resolve this issue - I've tried 3 IDE DVD drives and a SATA DVD drive as well (2 ASUS and 2 LG) - If it's not the drives, is it Vista or the motherboard?
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  2. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    *bump*
     
  3. thraxed Guest

    try updating your motherboard bios, adjust some settings
     
  4. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    BIOS is latest and the drives' firmwares were upto date as well. Also, there are no settings in the BIOS related to CD drives besides boot order and then stuff regarding DMA ect - all that is on auto though.
     
  5. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    965 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    go into device manager and remove all cd dvd drives and reboot your computer, make sure when you put a disk in you let vista see the disk for a few seconds before you try to open it. ALLEN
     
  6. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I let the disc sit in there for over 5 minutes once - then while trying to install Spore on the IDE drive the setup looped and kept installing the same set of files over and over again for 10 minuter with no increase in the progress bar before I gave up in disgust. It also pulled a stunt with FEAR - the AUTORUN splash screen would pop up but then when I click install or Read Me Windows tells me to format the disc or that it cannot find the file. I also tried uninstalling the drives via DM and letting Windows reinstall them upon reboot.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page