1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please report TPU site issues

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by W1zzard, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    Made some changes, let me know if that improved things
     
  2. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,838 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,502
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    LOL, That happened to me too!! Wiz is up to something!! :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,394 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Ok, I'll let you know when I get a reply to a sub on there
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,394 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Much better:
    mail.google.com_2014-08-14_22-24-30.png
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    What did it say in the alert?
     
  6. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Santos
    Sorry W1zz I'm wrong!! I did post there! My bad.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,510 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    One thing I have noticed is that some of the refreshes seem to take quite a while, for example if I post in a thread, it can take me several refreshes and upto a couple of minutes before that thread moves to the top on the forum front page showing last posting time.
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    Does this only affect the Recent Discussions box on forumhome? or also the recent posts display (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/find-new/posts?recent=1) ?

    edit: updated instantly for me for this reply, press submit here, then reload in the other window

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,510 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,274
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It's sporadic for me, often it's fine, probably only 1 in 20 times and yes just in the "recent Discussions", will try it again with this one.

    Edit; That one was better but took 2 refreshes and about 15 seconds, might be my browser, will have a play.
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,282 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have had both the forum and the front page load up looking like it's 1982 several times, but it's only ever once, and a refresh fixes it. It's usually the images and such missing, and the page layout is screwed up. I don't know how to describe it any other way. Happened four times yesterday.

    I have blacklisted certain google ad servers, but sometimes my bowser is screwy at other sites too, so for me, could be my browser too, and it never seems repeatable.
     
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,479 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,832
    Will test the performance on the laptop in sig. When typing posts or anything there's a terrible lag. I can pretty much type entire sentences before the first word is done. At least that is how it has been no matter the browser.
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    I broke the site at least once for a few minutes yesterday. What you see also happens when an instance is migrating to another server, there is about 15 seconds of downtime (ie, fixed with F5)
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Is it just me or is GN also much faster, so that Gif's load fast and the Crazy picture thread does as well......

    The whole site is fast, search is good, and reviews load blazingly fast. Good jorb.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    new Haswell Xeonz = fast :), 32 GB instead of 8 GB RAM, new database engine (MyISAM -> InnoDB), new web server software (Apache -> nginx), web files on faster storage (NFS -> GlusterFS), all software updated, etc etc

    Moving some instances around at the moment, so some short outages on any of our sites can happen.
     
  15. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,464 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,301
    No pictures in tpu android app reviews, clicking on broken image causes app to force close.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    works for me now
     
  17. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Santos
    I just tested it a minute ago and I have the same problem.
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    confirmed. forgot to reload in my app :)
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    fixed
     
  20. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Santos
    I just tried it again, seeing the images now, I'm not sure if the images are made to be clicked on in the app, but when I click on an image the app still crashes.
    As long as I don't click on the images it works fine for me.
     
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,473 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,821
    fixed now i hope
     
  22. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Los Santos
    Yes it works fine now. Thanks W1zz :)
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,627 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,769
    Site seems to be suffering a few hiccups. Couldnt access the site at all for a few mins.
     
  24. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,598 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,768
    Location:
    Louisiana
    ^^ I second this. I just spent 15 minutes trying to get in. Site was also down for me for about 5 minutes 3 hours ago.
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    You gonna buy me a drink now sailor? We were getting buy on 8GB of RAM before, is this why there was so much variance in the loading times?

    Any of us ever going to be able to trade our stars or what not for a animated avvy?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page