1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please review my Sandy build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by niemion, May 31, 2011.

  1. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    • MSI Z68A-GD80
    • i7-2600K
    • 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz CL8
    • ASUS GeForce GTX 570 1280MB "DirectCU II"
    • Corsair SSD Force Series 3, 120GB

    I already have PSU, case and cooler.

    Would you change anything?
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,853 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,929
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Why 16GB? Doing some rendering work, or movie editing, or running a bunch of virtual machines?

    I would add a 2TB SATA 6 Gb/s drive for storage...
  3. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I encode video files and do a lot of Photoshop editing.

    What do you think of my RAM choice? Does 16GB on SB limit OC'ing? Would I benefit from faster RAM?

    I already have my storage needs covered by a Synology 710+ NAS. I prefer no hard drives installed to minimize noise :p
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,853 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,929
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ah, good reasons. ;)

    As to the ram choice, I think it's fine. Yes, having all slots populated will limit clocking a bit, but on that note:

    Don't buy ram to overclock it. Buy the ram with the speed and timings you want. Ram makers are pretty aggressive on thier binning, so to me, OC'ing ram just isn't much of an option.

    Also, but sure that if you are going to run 4 sticks, that you buy a set of 4 sticks, and not two seperate pairs...while chances are good that two seperate pairs purchased at the same time will work just fine together, I have personally run into many instances where two pairs I bought(I almost always buy two sets), just didn't like running with each other, for whatever reason.

    Ram makers have 4-stick kits for just this reason. They HAVE to test the 4 sticks together.

    In regards to it affecting CPU clocks...no, not directly, however, as you increase CPU speed, load on the memory and memory controller will increase, which may cause the ram to be unstable.
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  5. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That's a very valid point, I'll make sure to buy a kit then.

    How is the chipset by the way supposed to support 32GB? Can you populate the slots with 8GB modules?
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,853 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,929
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, exactly. Of course, SB only really supports 1333 MHz ram, 1600 Mhz is an overclock, and there might be issues with 32 GB @ 1333...I do not have 8GB sticks to test with, unfortunately.


    Heck, I only have 1GB and 2GB per stick kits...I needs me some 4GB kits too!
  7. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    one problem with MSI board is that you cannot use the power saving features when the CPU is overclocked, which means idle power draw is pretty hefty when you overclock the CPU. I would consider getting a Gigabyte (they should also have a Dynamic VID option where you can have stock VID when idle and set the volts that need to be increased when under load) or Asus (not sure if they have the same issue as with MSI) board if possible.

    you don't really need fast RAM for sandybridge, because RAM speed doesn't need to be increased when overclocking. also look at this article and decide how much money you are going to spend on RAM.

    Others look OK.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  8. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Expert advice has led me to these changes:

    Before

    • MSI Z68A-GD80
    • i7-2600K
    • 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz CL8
    • ASUS GeForce GTX 570 1280MB "DirectCU II"
    • Corsair SSD Force Series 3, 120GB

    After

    • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5
    • i7-2600K
    • 16GB-Kit Corsair Vengeance blue DDR3 1600 MHz CL9 (couldn't get CL8 as a kit)
    • ASUS GeForce GTX 570 1280MB "DirectCU II"
    • OCZ Vertex 3 Max-IOPS

    Looks good?
  9. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I'd go back to the Corsair, I've only heard bad things about the OCZ's.
    I'd also add a TB hdd for storage unless you already have one.
  10. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    just built a sb system check my specs, im at 5.2. I'm only using 2x4 vengance and its fast enough.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page