1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Point of View GeForce GTX460 problem

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Vic, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Basically.. "overheating", or simply my PC being dumb, and then PSU automatically shutting down ( aka PC restarts ).

    Here's the deal - I play League of Legends often, all settings on max obviously, and the game runs steadily on 60 FPS with no problems. Same goes for few other games I play ( Bloodline Champions, Half Life 2, Team Fortress 2, etc etc ), so I haven't noticed this problem at all in these games, as they obviously aren't stressing my GFX card to it's fullest.

    However, when I bought my computer this summer ( i5, GTX460, 600W Silenzio PSU, 4GB DDR3 RAM ), the first thing I've done is installed and played some GFX intensive games I couldn't of played before ( Star Wars The Force Unleashed 2, Crysis 2, etc ). I've had few automatic poweroffs ( to be precise, about 3 in TFU2, 5 in Crysis 2 ), and this was all in a relatively long period of me toying around with those games, so I shrugged it off, even though it worried me at the time. Anyway, seeing I've dropped those GFX intensive games in favor of multiplayer games I usually play with my friends, I haven't noticed the problem since last night.


    I've installed Star Wars The Old Republic beta and even though the game runs extremely smooth on 60 fps with all settings on maximum, I was getting PC shutdowns EVERY 10 minutes or so. Naturally, I've first checked if it was PSU, RAM ( ran MemTest the whole night, turned out fine ), so it all came down to GFX card.



    Turns out my GTX460 gets to point of 72-76 celsius and then the PC automatically shuts down. NOTE that the ENTIRE time of me playing the game, I have STABLE 60 FPS on MAXIMUM settings, meaning that I don't get any anomalies whatsoever.

    I've downloaded latest FurMark, same story - at around 73 celsius the PC shuts down.

    Anyway, I've went to the PC store and bought&installed a fan on the side of my casing, to propel cold air into my casing directly @GFX card. It lowered the temperature a bit, but the problem still persists, even though it happens a bit later now ( instead of 8-10 mins, 12-14 mins now ).


    My last resort is dissasembling the heat sink off my GFX card and applying Arctic MX2, would that help at all ? Note that me returning my card is not an option, as I've voided the warranty I've recieved with my PC when I removed the side of casing to install AIO memory card reader.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  2. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    What CPU do you have and what are the temps on that? Silenzio PSU also sounds suspect.
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    PSU iv had and seen this problem on multiple PCs the only thing a diffirent card will get you is maybe lower power draw at which point it will look like its going away. Just test my theory and test a diffirent PSU on it and load the system.
     
  4. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Core i5 2400k, under full load, its temps BARELY get to 60 celsius, if that.
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    what clock is it at? it may not do much because they have low power draw but try to clock it see if you can get past 4Ghz and run this.

    http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/

    you can also try a program I made. its smaller loads the cores and doesnt need to be installed

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=155671

    like i said it may not work because the processor may draw less then the card. but try these out and see if your PC shuts off.
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Oregon
    Fill out your system specs when you can
     
  7. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    61 celsius temp, stuck at that, won't go above it, PC doesn't shut down.



    I don't know where to fill that in ( I suppose the forum has some advanced function ), so I'll post it here.

    PSU : Silenzio 600W
    CPU : Intel core i5 2400k
    GFX card : Point of View GeForce GTX 460 1GB
    Motherboard : MSI H61M-p21
    HDD : Samsung HD103SI 1TB
    RAM : 4GB DDR3 TakeMS

    Devices connected:
    USB Razer Lycosa
    USB Razer DeathAdder
    USB Logitech Headset
    Front AIO card reader ( connected to standard motherboard connector for such style of devices )
    Rear casing fan ( blowing air out ), side casing fan ( blowing air in )


    Also, the game in question which led to me discovering this problem.. When playing at minimum settings, I recieve 60 FPS, around ~55 celsius temp ( goes max to 61 ), and the PC absolutely NEVER restarts. When playing at maximum settings, same FPS ( 60 ), but the temperature gradually increases from 40 'till 70, where the PC automatically shuts down ( which is weird, cause according to specs, cards such as mine should go up to 80 without a problem whatsoever, even though I know that every GFX card isn't the same ).
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    what clock and voltage is the CPU at? temp isnt a problem I can tell you that right now (i own a 460) and isnt what im looking at im looking at power draw. Im trying to see if their is another way we can load the PSU without using the card. The CPU is the next best candidate assuming it can pull = if not more wattage then the card. Even that is a shot in the dark because if the PSU splits rails then it might only be the part that feeds the PCI-E thats bad.
     
  9. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    CPU is at 3.1 GHZ ( 100.00 x 31 MHZ )
    vCore : +1.168V
    io voltage : +1.048V
    GPU voltage: +0.24
    3.3V : +3.344V
    5V : +5.213V
    12V : +11.440V

    taken from BIOS
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    not enough to load it. either way i think its a PSU man see if you can swap it out with a friends or somthing
     
    Vic says thanks.
  11. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    11.44v on the 12v rail is the key here.....it's the PSU.
     
    Solaris17 and Vic say thanks.
  13. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  14. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I think the specification is +/- 5% or someone may correct me. Either way when your CPU and GPU are pulling from it I bet that goes lower. When that happens you have your problems.

    I can't read that language in the link you posted, ideally you want a well branded PSU. Corsair for example are notoriously good.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    11.44 is right on the edge of what the specifications allows(minimum 11.40v).

    I'd like to see the number under load, and really I'd like a Multi-Meter reading and not a software reading, I've seen rock solid units give less than 12v, which is fine as long as the number doesn't drop.

    However, being an off brand PSU, I would bet on it being the problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Will this one cut it :

    CORSAIR CX Series V2

    Corsair CX Series, 500 Watt, ATX, ATX12V v2.3, 80 PLUS certified, ultra-quiet 120mm fan delivers excellent airflow at an exceptionally low noise level by varying fan speed in response to temperature, 80% energy efficiency, 1x ATX 24 pin & 20 pin, 1x EPS/ATX12V 8-4 pin, 2x PCI-E 6+2 pin, 5x SATA, 4x 4 pin peripheral, 1x floppy
     
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    If I could run a GTX465 on a CX430, I would think you could run a GTX460 with a CX500. Though I see a CX600 on the list, that would be a better option.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    CX430 doesn't have 2x PCI-E 6pins as far as I saw, or am I missing something ? If it had I'd go for that and wouldn't of even looked at CX500, as my CPU and rest of my PC aren't using up that much power imo.
     
  19. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Doublepost, pardon me, the edit button doesn't work - I assume your GTX465 requires double PCI-E power pins ( as I've been googling the specs of the card ), that's where my question comes from.

    Anyway I'm pretty much buying the CX500 ( unless CX430 would work with only one pin ), and I want to ask this one last time before I buy a new PSU.

    I assumed the restarting came from my GFX card overheating, but in reality, is this what happens :
    the GFX card has too much to process, while at same time the CPU is also drawing a lot of power, and at some moment the PSU can't deliver enough power needed and either the cooling system on GFX card shuts the GFX card down, or what exactly does happen - PC determines that there's not enough power for continuing those operations so it shuts down ? ( we learn while we live, so I'd love to know how this works for future reference :) )
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    no it has nothing to do with heat. The cooling system doesnt change at all. Most current PSUs (excluding pre-builts) come with OCP a.k.a over current protection. Basically when the PSU start pushing too much more power then it is able. It simply shuts off. Thats one theory however looking at how much your rails are dipping. software or not (software is less accurate) its dipping alot in bios. Assuming its kinda accurate their is almost 0 load in the bios. That said when the PC is actually working its dipping alot more. Which makes me believe what is happening to you is that the PSU is poorly built. the parts inside are simply too cheap or too degraded (psus degrade over time which means they cant push as much power as they could when new) Either way me and a few others have seen this many times. And while id hate for you to blow your money on a PSU their is always the chance that im wrong. It may not be the psu. but at the end of the day, I personally think its most likely the problem. and Even if it isnt, it means we can start looking at something else. The psu is no name brand and if anything a new PSU is protecting your investment. Just remember if you replace the PSU and it works let us know. we like follow ups more then helping most of the time.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    You're correct, about the CX430. I used an adapter to convert the single 8-pin on the CX430 to two 6-pins. The power delivery is actually the same 150w either way, since an 8-pin is capable of 150w, and each 6-pin is capable of 75w each or 150w total.

    Though I'd just go with the CX500 just to be safe in case of future upgrade.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Alright, thank you for the answers :)

    I'm picking up a CX500 tomorrow morning, will let you know if that fixes the problem.
     
  23. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Oh, just btw - ran latest Furmark 2 secs ago, CPUID Hardware monitor reported that 12V rail had maximum 8.27V output, just 2 secs before PC shut itself down, so I guess it's really the PSU.

    Anyway, off to shop.
     
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    jesus man.
     
  25. Vic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Derpa derp, installed CX500, BIOS reports 11.88V on the 12V rail, CPUID HW Monitor reports 8.18V, however, ran Furmark for 10 straight minutes without a shutdown, whereas on my old PSU, it'd shutdown around 1 minute mark :)

    Guess my problem is solved, thanks guys !
     
    LifeOnMars and Solaris17 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page