1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Poll: ALL 6950 and 6970 Owners, What's the current status of your card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by wmblalock, Jan 15, 2011.

?

What is the current status of your 6950 or 6970 card?

  1. My stock 6950 was defective

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  2. My stock 6950 has no problems

    17 vote(s)
    12.4%
  3. My stock 6970 was defective

    2 vote(s)
    1.5%
  4. My stock 6970 has no problems

    14 vote(s)
    10.2%
  5. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios became defective

    5 vote(s)
    3.6%
  6. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios became defective

    2 vote(s)
    1.5%
  7. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 1 week

    11 vote(s)
    8.0%
  8. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 2 weeks

    17 vote(s)
    12.4%
  9. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 3 weeks

    11 vote(s)
    8.0%
  10. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 4+ weeks

    9 vote(s)
    6.6%
  11. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 1 week

    9 vote(s)
    6.6%
  12. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 2 weeks

    8 vote(s)
    5.8%
  13. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 3 weeks

    12 vote(s)
    8.8%
  14. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 4+ weeks

    19 vote(s)
    13.9%
  1. badb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Zoo York, New York
    I have my BIOS modded with 6970, I will wait to see results before I change my bios to just unlocked shaders.
     
  2. dom99

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    234 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Hmm the stats look like there is only 1/14 cards with 6970 bios problems. I am going to wait and see what happens then I might change from the 6950 unlocked bios to the 6970.
     
  3. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    That's true, but if you look over at my original poll here, you will see 12 6950 cards that WERE killed by the 6970 bios. Why they haven't voted here, I'm not sure, maybe they just didn't feel like voting again since they already did there.

    techPowerUp! Forums - View Poll Results

    So between the polls thats 26 cards and 13 have died, that's 50% failure.. I wouldn't risk it when you can do the same exact thing with the 6950 modded bios and then use Afterburner to up the voltage and clock speeds while leaving the correct memory voltage and timings.
     
  4. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,554 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    This needs significantly more votes before we go throwing around failure rate figures.
     
  5. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    That is true, I was just throwing out there the results we have so far and by no means say that they are official or indicative of all 6900 owners. So far this poll makes it looks like only one card has had problems when in fact there are 12 more at least reported on the previous poll.
     
  6. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,986 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,463
    So for those who had permanent damage or a fried card, how long did it take from the time of flashing to when the problems arose?

    And I wonder if any brands were worse than others or more likely to have a problem. That would make for a good poll.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    mine was one of those "killed card" votes from the other poll and i changed it this time to "My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 1 week" because what i thought was a busted card was nothing else but driver/game engine bugs
    there was a few other people that had the same problem of thinking their card was dead but it was just driver/game engine bugs
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  8. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I think "killed card" means a card that shows no signal at all.
     
  9. badb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Zoo York, New York
    CHeck my post below.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  10. Gijs007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970 system was running 2 weeks just fine, had a lan party the first week.
    did see small ammount of artifacts but this was prob cause I was overclocking my card above its limits.
    however im now using a stock 6950 bios with unlocked shaders, just to be sure.
    im going to edit it in RBE and see if I can get 6970 stock speeds, except for the voltage and timings.
     
  11. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    "killed card", "defective card", "artifacting card", "card with errors", "damaged card", whatever you want to call it, its all the same really, just a card that isn't working properly.
     
  12. f0d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yep its all the same imo
    my 6969 (is that what we should call the 6950 with a 6970 bios?!?) is still going without a problem if i ignore all the driver bugs
     
  13. Wijkert

    Wijkert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I think a lot of people including myself voted for the 'permanent damage' option, because they thought there card was damaged. They were just seeing the effects of rather crapy drivers/software(game and benchmarks). This time around they changed their votes to a more fitting option.
     
    BababooeyHTJ says thanks.
  14. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    That is possible.
     
  15. Holyfire New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Checked - My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 3 weeks
    But after reading thread about Damaged cards reflashed my card with shader unlock only.
    I have HIS card - before it was flashed with 6970 ASUS bios (no problems at 890/1375).
     
  16. ale86cuba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    45 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can you direct me to where I can do option 2? Because Ive already done 1 but I rather go the safer way now that I see some ppl are having problems. I did it about two to three weeks ago and played for a bit(maybe 10hrs total) no problems. However the pc has been running everyday for regular pc use. Thanks.
     
  17. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Check out my post here: How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 695...
     
  18. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I have tried both 6970 and 6950 unlocked bios on my HD 6950 and not had any problems.

    I bought mine the night they came out because I had been waiting a long time for the right deal, and determined the 6950 was it. More powerful than a 5850 and 2GB of ram were the main selling points.

    Another intriguing feature was the backup bios, but it was not until the 6970 flashing was discovered that I thought about using it. Can't say for sure I would have tried it if not for that.

    Still realized I was taking a risk, though. And fortunately it worked fine. To tell the truth though, I prefer it as a 6950. It runs cooler and quieter that way, and is powerful enough for my current needs. Nice to have for benchmarking though.

    Anyway, I paid for a 6950 and I am very happy with my purchase. :D
     
  19. smakked

    smakked New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    NO issue at all , i have flashed 12 cards so far for mates all powercolors and all working fine no issues at all
     
  20. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    AZ
    poll shows 3 failures out of 50 that's 6% shoot even if the cards would have become defective on their own without flashing that's awesome for amd.

    this also to me seems like there is no widespread issue.
     
  21. tecnoworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    bios modded to 6950 with unlocked shaders, no problems after about 15 days. I'd like to know who had problems with this kind of mod (1 in this poll).
     
  22. badb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Zoo York, New York
    I retract my prior statement about my card dying. A word of advice check your 6-pin connectors before you start pulling your hair ;) . All is good reverted to 6950 with 1536 shaders at 900/1300 stable tested with MSI Komuster and OCCT.
     
  23. wmblalock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    113 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Like I said, there were 12 dead cards on my previous poll and a guy who runs a computer shop just had to RMA 17 6950s that customers had flashed with 6970 bioses... add that to your percentage and it seems like an issue to me.
     
  24. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,986 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,463
    Has anyone experienced any lock ups or shut downs? I was trying to OC earlier, and the power just she off alltogether.

    Then later on i tried 930/1400 and ran 3DMark11. It got an error so I went back to 920/1400 which was working fine before. It downclocked but then I got a total lock up, had to do a hard restart.

    Anyone else get something like that?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. ctn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I still haven't seen any screenshots of the failures yet. The ones I've seen were due to driver issues.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page