1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Poll: ALL 6950 and 6970 Owners, What's the current status of your card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by wmblalock, Jan 15, 2011.

?

What is the current status of your 6950 or 6970 card?

  1. My stock 6950 was defective

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  2. My stock 6950 has no problems

    17 vote(s)
    12.4%
  3. My stock 6970 was defective

    2 vote(s)
    1.5%
  4. My stock 6970 has no problems

    14 vote(s)
    10.2%
  5. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios became defective

    5 vote(s)
    3.6%
  6. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios became defective

    2 vote(s)
    1.5%
  7. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 1 week

    11 vote(s)
    8.0%
  8. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 2 weeks

    17 vote(s)
    12.4%
  9. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 3 weeks

    11 vote(s)
    8.0%
  10. My 6950 flashed with a 6970 bios has no problems after 4+ weeks

    9 vote(s)
    6.6%
  11. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 1 week

    9 vote(s)
    6.6%
  12. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 2 weeks

    8 vote(s)
    5.8%
  13. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 3 weeks

    12 vote(s)
    8.8%
  14. My 6950 flashed with a shader modded only 6950 bios has no problems after 4+ weeks

    19 vote(s)
    13.9%
  1. SvB4EvA

    SvB4EvA New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    110 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    NYC
    Same with my ASUS 6950 w/6970 BIOS. I was at 925/1400, had to back down to 920/1400. World of Tanks was the only game that didnt like the 925Mhz.

    Also, 2 months now with 6970 BIOS.
     
  2. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Looks like my instincts were right and I hit the 'volt-tweak free' ceiling.
    Tried Heaven 2.1 @ 890MHz, only for it to be spat out with a BSOD. Will try 885, but doubt it'll be different. I think I'll try starting to add some extra volts now, using 1175mV as the ceiling, and see how it goes. Will probably go back to the best stock volt speed though.

    Maybe I'll turn my attention to the memory next... that's a big maybe though, but I am getting quite confident about it, looking at SvB4EvA's comments.
    Don't see myself touching voltage there though.
     
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    My 6950 locked/unlocked hits a max core of 825.....at 830 regardless of locked/unlocked status it crashes in games...So far Ive run the memory up to 1325....I simply haven't tried it any higher yet...So I'm assuming mine is a 6950 because it can't run at 880mhz and not because of bad shaders...

    However I can run it with the 6970 BIOS stable....But I'm afraid it'll burn out the memory and I don't wanna risk it
     
  4. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    What are you using to OC?
    When you say you've OC'd the memory, how far did you go without touching it's voltage?
    Running 6970 BIOS is too big a risk IMO too.
     
  5. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    risk of what? you know, just last year gtx 465s could unlock to gtx 470s getting more shaders and more memory in the process. why shouldn't the 6950 be able to unlock to a 6970? because some guys want to scare you into thinking it's going to blow up on you? did they ever present any evidence to back up their statements? I have only seen a couple of guys claiming it's bad but so far none have produced any piece of evidence that will lead me to believe them. stop living in fear people
     
  6. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    EDIT: also, when was the last time W1zzard gave you a tip that ended up killing/damaging your pc?
    EDIT2: Sorry, meant to edit not quote myself hehe :D
     
  7. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Well Andrei23, that's all well and good that it'll probably be fine, but I can't afford to replace the card should it fail and it's what I'm sitting on until AMD's HD7000s, so if there is a risk, I would rather not take it.
    That's why for example I don't like to volt-tweak my stuff, because if it dies on me (and that's just an if, not even a when) that's all I'm left with, dead hardware and no cash to replace it with.
    BTW, I don't live in a place where I can think about stuff like RMAs either, unfortunately.
    All that being considered, lies or not, if there's a potential risk, I'll be very, very cautious approaching such a move.

    EDIT: not only is that the case for me, but I've been upgrading to every single card I've had, by selling my previous one, so if there's no card left to sell, the new one is not an option to buy.
    Do you get some perspective on how others, other than yourself, may view the situation now?
     
  8. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    You are not forced to unlock anything if you don't want to, and I never claim you must. I just can't stand claims that are backed by no evidence and I never allow them to get in my way. Don't get me wrong, I am not a rich person either, and that is mainly the reason why I bought a 6950 and decided to unlock it rather than just go out and buy a 6970. ;)
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,843 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,626
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    So Andrei, I assume you are suggesting then that the 5 members in this poll are have said that their cards became faulty after a "full" 6970 flash are not telling the truth? I do tend to agree with you however that many many more dont seem to have problems, however if there is just a known 3 or 4% fail rate then members here deserve to know about it and therfore the risk.... hence I would guess the purpose of the thread starters vote.

    I would also mention that W1z also recommends the "shader only" unlock as opposed to the full 6970 flash, that said I have taken the latter route and have troub le free gaming with all shaders :D
     
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm running the full 6970 BIOS as the shader unlock BIOS was unstable. I'm keeping my card cool and not stressing it too hard. I have yet to see how high I can go with it mind without increasing the volts.
     
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    So far nothing more than CCC...but let me explain why I don't use TRIxx or AB...
    Between the the original 6950 bios and the HIS BIOS and the 6970 bios I'm not getting much of a FPS difference....After a lot of benching Ive concluded my CPU is bottle necking my system....Since the only time I really see much of any improvement is when I OC the CPU...seems that about every 100mhz I OC the CPU I add roughly 1/2 fps...

    and Ive taken the memory to 1325....I simply haven't gone any farther as of yet.


    MY 6950 is not one of the First Batch cards it's a second run with the Black PCB and I'm fairly certain that it has different mem chips than the 6970 has

    I'll run 3dmark 11 with each of the BIOS's with my CPU @3.117ghz and my mem at 1433 at 8-8-8-25-1t (most efficient OC with low volts) and post the results
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  12. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    My Sapphire 6950 with the 6970 bios at stock speeds(880/1375) is alive and never had problems(moded dec 2010).I use Sapphire Trixx for custom fan control because i got temps of 87-90º with standard fan speed at full load.
     
  13. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,471 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    2 6950's in xfire, stock only had them 2 days. No problems
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I just had something that maybe odd happen....I'm not sure though...last time I unlocked to the 6970 BIOS I had couldn't lower the memory when I just flashed to the 6970 bios I forgot to set CCC to defaults and it kept my clock speeds but gave me a much larger variance on all clock speeds..but then again the last time I flashed I had 11.1 and I'm not sure if this isn't just a feature of 11.2
    [​IMG]

    3Dmarkk 11 unlocked @825/1300
    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/752176

    3Dmark 11 unlocked @880/1375
    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/752335

    A whopping 51 point Difference:wtf:

    Now 3Dmark 11 unlocked @880/1375 with CPU@ 3.5ghz mem @1333 7-7-7-22-29-1t
    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/752801
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  15. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I wouldn't discount user-end error among possible reasons. Also unlocked shaders was unstable for me. Flashed to 6970 my card works flawlessly. I even managed to get it stable at 925/1375 with 1175mV. 5 hours of OCCT, countless runs of heaven benchmark and 3dMark 11 plus I can't even tell you how many hours of gaming (BO, FFXIV, Dirt 2) all prove that I have a stable card. So I would say the risk is no greater than if you took a reference gtx 465 and unlocked it to a gtx 470, like people did last year. :)
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,843 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,626
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    But the point is...... for a few it's not, you are happy, I am happy but that does not change the fact that users have different experiences...... you could argue that there is a failure rate amongst cards in any case, unlocked or not, personally I have not tried the "full" 6970 flash, simply because I am happy where I am.
     
  17. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    As am I Tatty.

    Anyway here's what I got with stock voltage, unlocked shaders, @ 880/1250, MLAA off:
    I'd Say it's quite a marginal increase over the the stock 6950, but hey... it could be the difference between getting 60fps (I always Vsync) or getting less.:)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: After weekend testing and endless Heaven runs, I find myself having reached 880/1350 problem free and I'm still rising on the memory, without even touching voltage! So excellent to see the card reaching 6970 speeds, with unlocked shaders, at 6950 voltage. So at this point it's a 6970 once I put another extra 25MHz on the memory and all at 6950 volts! Awesome!

    So that now brings me to 2 weeks problem free with unlocked shaders only and a OC now of 880/1350 at stock volts.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011
  18. rneogi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I modded my 6950 bios to unlock shaders but had to flash to a saphire 6970 bios as my afterburner was showing a max of 840 core.
    My rig-Intel i5 750 cpu @3.36ghz, P55A UD-3R gigabyte mobo, Gskill DDR3-1600 ram 4x2gb , MSI-6950 to 6970 graphic card running 900/1400 24x7, thermalright ultima90 cpu cooler with 120mm scythe fan, seasonic SS620watts bronze psu, coolermaster Haf-X cabinet, seagate 7200.12 1TB, WD green 2TB.
     
  19. zefalin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is safe to run my HD 6950 at 880/1375 on stock voltage 1.1v ???
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,843 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,626
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes.
     
  21. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Wow, if your card can run at that then it's really from an A+ bin!

    I've been unable to get complete stability above 910 core and stock 1250 mem @ 1.175 (6970's voltage, my chosen limit).
    When the mem was OC'd it'd be fine for a while then there's be a random crash, so I got tired of trying and just set it to stock.

    Commenting on the main topic:
    Still never had any glitches that suggest the card is failing.;)
     
  22. scooper22

    scooper22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Central Europe
    Actually my last tests allowed 960 MHz core, 1300 MHz mem with 1.200 V on Crysis 2 and unlocked shaders.
    Seems not to be too uncommon as this guy here shows.
    Also I usually run at 800/1250 at 1.015 V without problems or 880/1250 on 1.050 V for more demanding games, haven't tried further as I'm not fond of increasing voltage (sssh.. sileeent!) and the CPU is by far the limiting factor.

    I'm not believing we accidentally got A+++ charges, or did we?

    He achieved:
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  23. zefalin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don`t understand english very well.What`s means "+A bin" and is stock voltage 1.100 is safe for 880/1375?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page